$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Hotel Metro

3 stars
View map of 45 West 35 Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Metro

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
285 out of 285
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
StanM55
Couples
Washington, DC
Jan 20, 2014

EXCELLENT Location!

I really enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Metro. Not only is the hotel nice, the staff excellent, but the location is to die for! It is located on West 35 Street, which is easy walking distance to Madison Square Garden, Macy's, and all of Broadway. There is a 24 hour parking garage less than a block away (on West 35 Street) that gives you a discount for staying at the hotel. From now on, Hotel Metro is my preferred hotel whenever I visit the NYC to catch a play on Broadway. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Your night nurse 14
Couples
Long Island, ny
Feb 24, 2014

Great location

My bf and I went for a weekend. We had an awesome time. The location was perfect, lots to do during the nightlife. Nice view of the ESB. Room was clean staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bars located within a few blocks

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
csocks
Couples
Harrisburg PA
Feb 24, 2014

Hotel Metro

The continental breakfast was a great money saver! The concierge assisted us on several occasions w/ directions, suggestions to ease our stay. My only complaint was the agent who registered us. She indicated she had no access for upgrade--REALLY!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

continental breakfast

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Britt quick get away
Friends
Ct
Mar 3, 2014

Good place to stay!!!

The staff were great....room was a clean and comfortable no complaints I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dwight Case
Couples
New York, NY
Mar 23, 2014

metro

Nice location. Great staff more then willing to make stay enjoable. But room space is lacking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everything.

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
neya38
Couples
Toronto
Mar 25, 2014

Pros and cons

Wonderful 2-night stay at the Hotel Metro in the heart of Manhattan. While the pros largely outweigh the cons, here's the list: Pros: - Location: subway at the door, short walk to Times Square, Penn Station, Grand Central, etc. - Staff: very helpful and professional, quick check-in/out - Basic but good breakfast: bagels, toasts, muffins - Room: very clean, most comfortable bed in a long time! - Small boutique hotel offering personable service Cons: - View from room (7th floor): looking directly into another room, no light, small window - Small room - Slow wi-fi - Noise: while the room was super quiet 99% of the time (barely any sounds from the busy street outside), any sound from the hallway can be heard as if it was coming from inside the room. The sound of the doors of other rooms being shut woke us up many times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ari H Levy
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Mar 22, 2014

Great Boutique Hotel

The Hotel Metro is charming, well appointed, generous in terms of the size of my room, quality of the bedding and towels, three head shower, quality of bathroom amenities, and in room and cafe available coffee and tea. Also having a free breakfast in NYC is very convenient, and the quality of the breads was higher than in most chain hotels. My only negative was the free Internet service which was lacking in terms of reliability and speed. I was told that it was in the process of being upgraded. I wish I had known upon check-in, as I am a business traveler. However, I will try to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

5th Avenue Department stores, Rockefeller Center, Macy's Herald Square and Times Square are all a short walk or a subway ride (there is a subway station entrance just west of the hotel entrance about 1/2 a block.

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JanieB
Family
Glasgow
Apr 26, 2014

Good Location, Stylish, Reasonably priced & Breakfast

Hotel is in a great location right off 5th Avenue at one side, Macys on the other with the Empire State Building just one street down. The staff were pleasant enough and the Concierge helpful to assist with table reservations, trips or airport transfers. We were upgraded to a King size room at no extra charge. We had previously requested a high level room to minimise street noise and they accommodated us with a room on the 9th floor. The in-house continental Breakfast was terrific, plenty of choice but you have to be down early to get a seat! Hotel was spotless, seems to have been renovated recently so fixtures & fittings appear fresh and intact. Complimentary toiletries and hairdryer were an added bonus. Would definitely recommend and would stay there again if the price remains reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If taking the subway from near the Hotel to SouthFerry, where you would then take the Ferry to Liberty / Ellis Island, please ensure you get on one of the first 5 carriages as these are the only ones that will allow you to embark at SouthFerry. The Hotel Concierge didn't tell us that!!!

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Merc Man
Couples
Manchester
Oct 9, 2010

Great Location with views of ESB

First time in New York. Hotel is just off 5th Avenue, yards from Macy's and easy walking distance from Times Square. Choice of Subway stops for routes downtown to Statue of Liberty etc. Great Location with a delightful roof terrace with fantastic views of the ESB - looks great when lit up at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If visiting the Empire State Building pre book online and consider paying the upgrade to Express. They whisk you to the front of every one of the many queues incluidng those on te way down. Worth every cent if time is short.

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
21st present
Family
London
Feb 17, 2011

/Excellent value for money

Hotel position excellent for central mid town sights. Subway 1 minute away for further afield. Time Square 5 min walk, best visit to Esse Bagel and Katz's diner. Breakfast a boon to start off a long walking day. Concierge helpful but pessimistic outlook re availability and timings. Had great time, blackout blind fell off window on last morning!. But would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Theatres are much more expensive than London, and small so limited capacity, book from Uk if you want seats

Back to menu Return to top