$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Hotel Metro

3 stars
45 West 35 Street, New York, NY 10001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
284 reviews
Great value & location

Weighing all the options for a room in NYC the weekend before Christmas, this one jumped out &... See full review

  • kbuchanan
  • Dec 23, 2014
Great value

This hotel is located walking distance from Penn Station which is very convenient. It's in a busy... See full review

  • Zeev the Warrior
  • Dec 8, 2014
Affordable elegance in midtown Manhattan, with free breakfast

One of only 75 New York City hotels recommended in the "2010 Michelin Guide New York City," the boutique Hotel Metro delivers affordability, style, service and location. Only a block from the Empire State Building, Fifth Avenue and the subway station, Hotel Metro offers a host of great extras, including free continental breakfast and free Wi-Fi, plus a business center, a fitness center, a library, an executive lounge, a restaurant and a bar with a rooftop terrace. Guest rooms feature elegant touches such as a marble bathroom.

Highlights

                                                                                                     

  • A location only a block from the Empire State Building and Fifth Avenue
  • Rooftop terrace bar, with a view of the Empire State Building
  • A library room with a fireplace

Location

The Midtown Manhattan Hotel Metro is a block from the Empire State Building, Fifth Avenue and the subway, and less than a 10-minute walk to Times Square.

Rooms

With traditionally sumptuous decor in an earthy palette, the contemporary-class guest rooms at Hotel Metro deliver comfort and cozy style. Each room includes free Wi-Fi, an iHome clock radio with an IPod docking station, Gilchrist and Soames bath amenities, a marble bathroom, a cordless phone with voice mail and premium cable. Renovated premier-class rooms add fresh and bold tailoring in addition to a pillow-top Serta mattress, a wall-mounted LCD TV, a Keurig coffee-maker, a granite work desk and a mini refrigerator. Both categories offer a two-bedroom family-room plan. One-bedroom suites and executive Jacuzzi rooms are also available.

Features


Start the day right with free continental breakfast and copy of The New York Times, or a workout at the fitness center. Then browse the serene library or relax in the Executive Guest Lounge. Metro Grill is open for lunch (except Saturday/Sunday) and dinner, and the rooftop terrace bar (open when weather permits) at Hotel Metro features a view of the Empire State Building.


Transportation

  • Penn Station (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Grand Central Terminal (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Statue Cruises, Battery Park (Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island ferry) (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • LaGuardia Airport (11.2 mi/18 km)
  • Newark Liberty International Airport (14.9 mi/24 km)
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport (16.9 mi/27.2 km)

Attractions

  • Empire State Building (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Madison Square Garden (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Times Square (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Rockefeller Central (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Central Park (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Museum of Modern Art (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts (2 mi/3.3 km)

Business

  • Free use of business center
  • Executive Guest Lounge for all guests
  • Free hotel-wide Wi-Fi access

Policies and fees

The hotel is now a nonsmoking property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Metro also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Metro Rooms

Contemporary Rooms
The Contemporary Queen has one queen bed. All Contemporary Rooms are located on floors 2 through 7 and feature: In-room laptop size safes, Iron and full size ironing board, Hairdryer, Cordless telephone with Voicemail, iHome clock radio with iPod docking station, Gilchrist & Soames amenities, Mini refrigerator, Marble bathrooms, Premium Cable, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, LCD Flat Screen TV
Premier King
A large room with one king bed. Premier Rooms are located on floors 8 through 12 and the Penthouse, and offer all the same amenities as the Contemporary Rooms, with these additional features: Located on higher floors, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, Wall-mounted LCD screen TV, In-room Keurig Coffee Maker, Ergonomic Work Chair with Granite working desk, well designed for functionality and comfort, Completely updated bathrooms featuring large marble and glass showers with rain shower heads, Mini-Refrigerator stocked with welcome beverages (non-alcoholic)
Contemporary Family Room
A large room with two bedrooms and one bath. The first bedroom has one double bed with a door that closes it off from the second bedroom which contains two double beds.
Premier Double
A large room with two double beds. Premier Rooms are located on floors 8 through 12 and the Penthouse, and offer all the same amenities as the Contemporary Rooms, with these additional features: Located on higher floors, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, Wall-mounted LCD screen TV, In-room Keurig Coffee Maker, Ergonomic Work Chair with Granite working desk, well designed for functionality and comfort, Completely updated bathrooms featuring large marble and glass showers with rain shower heads, Mini-Refrigerator stocked with welcome beverages (non-alcoholic)
Premier Queen
Premier Rooms are located on floors 8 through 12 and the Penthouse, and offer all the same amenities as the Contemporary Rooms, with these additional features: Located on higher floors, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, Wall-mounted LCD screen TV, In-room Keurig Coffee Maker, Ergonomic Work Chair with Granite working desk, well designed for functionality and comfort, Completely updated bathrooms featuring large marble and glass showers with rain shower heads, Mini-Refrigerator stocked with welcome beverages (non-alcoholic)
Mini-Double
A small room (approximately 125 square feet) for one or two people sharing one double bed.
Contemporary King
A large room with one king bed. Contemporary Rooms are located on floors 2 through 7 and feature: In-room laptop size safes, Iron and full size ironing board, Hairdryer, Cordless telephone with Voicemail, iHome clock radio with iPod docking station, Gilchrist & Soames amenities, Mini refrigerator, Marble bathrooms, Premium Cable, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, LCD Flat Screen TV.
Contemporary Twin
A lovely room with two single beds. Contemporary Rooms are located on floors 2 through 7 and feature: In-room laptop size safes, Iron and full size ironing board, Hairdryer, Cordless telephone with Voicemail, iHome clock radio with iPod docking station, Gilchrist & Soames amenities, Mini refrigerator, Marble bathrooms, Premium Cable, Prestige Suite Premium Pillow-top Mattresses by Serta, LCD Flat Screen TV.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Barber/Beauty shop
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Herald Square: 0.1 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.1 mi
  • The King's College: 0.1 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Macys: 0.2 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.2 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.2 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.3 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.3 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.3 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.3 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.5 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Belasco Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.5 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Central Station: 0.5 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.5 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.5 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.6 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.6 mi

Dining

Metro Grill
The Metro Grill serves lunch and dinner M-F, dinner only S-S. Our bar and cocktail lounge are open until 11:00pm Sun-Thur, and 12:am F-Sat.
Rooftop Bar
The roof terrace is open seasonally for our guests during most daytime hours. During the evenings, weather permitting, a bar that is also open to the public operates and while guests are certainly welcome, they need to make reservations with the restaurant for a table. On rare occasions the roof is booked as a party space and access can be limited or restricted during those periods (usually just a few hours per event).

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
A conference room is available for small meetings or use as a showroom.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (284)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Metro

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
284 out of 284
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JOJOE
Business
Woodbridge, VA, USA
Dec 26, 2011

NOT AGAIN

STAFF WAS TERRIBLE/RUDE. FOUND MOLD IN THE SHOWER, DIRTY TOWEL BESIDE THE DRESSER. CONSTRUCTION STARTED @6AM (WAS NOT ADVISED OF THIS). HEAT WAS NOT ADJUSTABLE, HAD TO OPEN THE WINDOW.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Jun 12, 2011

Awful

I go to New York often and i like to try hotels, this was one of the worst ever! The room was for handicapped, just like in the hospital. A huge sign on the door,small, dark, with a huge old bathroom equipped for disabled.Second floor, 1 small window so filthy from the constructions 15 feet away, ear plugs on an antic table. I will stop here, you probably got the picture. i want to clarify something about disability: i have two friends on wheelchair that i see and help as much as i can, but i was in vacation. I had a date but the girl i was with didnt want to stay told me the place was creepy, and i dont blame her. I forgot to tell you that i asked to change the room but they said that for the rate i paid with [...]i couldnt get anything else..I paid $524 for 2 nights, i dont think was so cheap. It was awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 24, 2007

Disappointed

The entire reason I chose this hotel was the rooftop patio that had a view of the Empire State Building. When I got there, I found out it was closed for renovations. There was no mention of this on the hotel website. There was another couple from England who also chose this hotel for the same reason. The staff was not very friendly. The ice machine was broken so you were forced to go downstairs with your ice bucket and wait while one of the rude staff went and got you ice. I just think for the money, things would have went a little smoother...the location was awesome though!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

They don't have any parking for guest but you can park and one of two lots close by and they give you a discount, but they charged me an extra $10 becuase my friend had a truck.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AnotherSally
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 4, 2011

They Couldn't Care Less

Staff unconcerned with visitor experience. Free in-room wi-fi never worked, during my entire stay at hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LDNtoNYC
Business
London
Nov 29, 2012

Great location, shame about the hotel

I booked this hotel for myself and a friend for a 6 night stay in a twin room. It was an OK price for a last minute trip. We booked on a Sunday and flew out on a Tuesday. I was tempted to spend a little more for a better hotel but was convinced by the location, free wifi and inclusive breakfast - I thought how bad could it possibly be! When we arrived the hotel was the Art Deco style as described on the website. We were told at check in that we'd been 'updgraded' to a Queen room, however we wanted a Twin room. We were told there was no availability and that we'd have to ask the next day to change rooms. We got to our 'Queen sized' room which was far from regal! It was a tiny room with apparently a queen sized bed. The room was very dated and the bathroom was in serious need of updating. I was not impressed. The next day we spoke to reception who informed us that there was no availability once again. I asked to speak to management who then informed me there was a 'family room' available. At this point we thought they would switch us to this room as it was the only one available. We were then told we'd have to pay $155 extra a night for this and that we got a good deal for the upgraded queen room. At this point I was interested to see what the original room would be like if our tiny room for a week was an 'upgrade'! After making it clear they weren't going to switch the room, all of a sudden they had another room available at $55 more a night. Not impressed with this as any other hotel would make some provisions for their guests requirements. Basically they will give you the cheapest room available and then when you turn up charge you more for the room you wanted. If we'd paid the extra for the family room we could have stayed 5star in the same location!! Other points - the inclusive breakfast is limited, and served up on paper plates with plastic cutlery, they really know how to cut back. They also make a point of their 24 hour tea and coffee in the foyer - possibly because the rooms are too small for an area to keep the kettle etc. The mini bar was empty, we weren't expecting much! Didn't bother trying the restaurant. On a positive note the location is great. Literally a minute from Macy's and the Empire State Building! They have a roof top terrace which is a plus point. Most staff were friendly and helpful. The housekeeping staff had a habit of knocking and letting themselves into our room at 9am on most days! Overall, not a positive experience as we ended up in the small room for a week. In hindsight would have spent a little more for a 4 or 5 star hotel and paid extra for breakfast and wifi if needed. If you're going to book, go for it if you get a good deal but just note they may try and spring you with extra charges if you try and change rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LeslieLexy
Business
Atlanta
Jan 4, 2013

It's ok.

the location is great. but the room is kind of too small. and the Wifi doesn't work in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 10, 2007

Not worth the money

The hotel was rather expensive, but did not feel very friendly, and the amenities were lacking. It was the only hotel I have stayed in in a long time (other than bed-and-breakfasts) that did not have complementary coffee in the room, for example. (Coffee was available down in the lounge, but that is not the same.) There were hardly any electrical outlets in the room - and most of those were full of extension cords supporting hotel devices - I had a hard time charging my phone, Palm, and mp3 player. The elevators were being repaired, and only one was running, which made getting up and down very slow. Staff had obviously been directed by management not to speak to guests. If you tried to make casual conversation with one, they would smile nervously and avoid your eyes. Worst of all, the clock in my room was set an hour fast - which I didn't notice when I set the alarm, so it woke me up an hour early! If there was a way to reset that clock correctly, I couldn't find it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Korean restaurant next door to the hotel is excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tahoe Tess
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 27, 2010

small and depressing

The hotel room was the size of a closet. Very dark and unattractive. Beds were hard and the worst was that there was construction under my window and i was not warned about it before checking in. It was quite noisy and began early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

to Penn Station or LLRR

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 30, 2007

Elevator repair!

I have been to the Metro many times..Each time it seems to gets worse..The roof top deck has been closed for over two years..The elevator is still being renovated, which left it with just one working elevator and a service elevator. VERY BAD...If you are in a hurry and on a high floor you might as well forget it.. not sure I will go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's very close!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 1, 2011

ok but expected nicer

From the pictures advertised the hotel seemed ideal. The customer service was good but the room was extremely small and very compact. It was clean and in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It was a short walk to many thing and it was easy to get a cab to other parts of the city at a very reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top