$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Hotel Metro

3 stars
View map of 45 West 35 Street, New York, NY 10001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Metro

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
285 out of 285
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
anonemus
Business
Ohio
Oct 13, 2012

Great place to stay in NY

Fresh and clean. Small room but well appointed - everything you need within easy reach. Bathroom was large enough - everything clean and neat. Helpful and friendly staff. Good continental breakfast, internet and even a newspaper in the morning. Very central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChrisEL
Couples
Storrs, CT
Jan 21, 2013

Great hotel for theatergoers

My husband and I stay at the Hotel Metro frequently and I almost hate to write about how much I like it for fear that others will make it their favorite too! It's at a great location...near Herald Square, clean and nicely decorated in an art-deco kind of style, the staff is always very friendly and helpful and the rates are very reasonable. There's also a continental breakfast included. Great rooftop to explore, adjacent to the Empire State Building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LeslieLexy
Friends
Atlanta
Jan 4, 2013

It's ok.

the location is great. but the room is kind of too small. and the Wifi doesn't work in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charlie snowman
Couples
Brooklyn, New York
Dec 23, 2012

New Yorker on the town for the nite.

Hotel was greeat and in a great location. Being from the New York area I was nervous but made a difference.i now know what ppl mean by small rooms for the city.WOW. Small it was but honestly, it served its purpose.Went a first date and decided to just stay the nite.it made the moment.The location is very good and close to all.the view of the Empire State building made my date nite even better.At nite with the glow of the Christmas colors, AWESOME.go before 2am the lights go out by then. try this Hotel. I will again for sure.Service was nice and the room was very clean. I live in the outer boroughs and would stay here for the great reason of convenience. Stayed on the day the world was suppose to end 12-21-12. What better place to be....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Victors Cafe 52 on 52nd st. Great Cuban food and great atmosphere. Nice for a date. And try Flute on 54th for just a nice cozy drink and get to know each other place. Racheal was great and nice to help.

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leanne shopper
Friends
Romford Essex
Dec 17, 2012

Shop 'til you drop in comfort

Booked a standard double/twin room but they only had double rooms available, when i explained that i was staying with my mother-in-law they upgraded us so that we could have two double beds on the 11th floor. Beds very comfortable, great shower and bathroom, very clean, sheets were changed each day, not very economically friendly but shows a thorough clean was done each day. Free continental breakfast, unlimited tea, coffee throughout the day. Tuesday evenings they have cheese and wine in the lounge for free... we only came across this by accident and there is a sign on the door saying closed for a private function but it is closed to the public, hotel guests can go in. Great location, go up to the roof deck and you are underneath the Empire State Building. Gym looked good too (although didn't use it). Located right next to subway and Victoria's Secret opposite Macy's. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The subway is right next to the hotel, buy a metrocard and you can get to all the main spots really quickly on the subway. Although the taxis are good, you can sit in traffic for ages during rush hour.

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flambe
Couples
Scotland
Dec 14, 2012

Great short break

Great location, rooms clean and beds really comfy, hotel has great little atmosphere with a fab little bar and grill next door (part of hotel) good selection for breakfast, good staff and would stay again without doubt, best price by far all in all great for sightseeing, broadway and of course shopping!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Happy hours in selected bars and last minute broadway tickets.

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ReasonableGal
Family
Saratoga Springs, NY
Dec 10, 2012

Tough beginning.......

When I called in advance of arrival to ask for a room with two separate beds, the receptionist must have been having a bad day. She gave me a nasty reply about this being an reservation made through an online travel site so I'd have to take what I could get. Made me feel like a second class citizen and I hadn't even arrived yet! So upon arrival , I asked again for a room with two beds and was told that there weren't any. I went up to my assigned room which was the size of a postage stamp with a queen bed and the place reeked of bleach. Now I felt like a third class citizen. So I called down to the reception desk and asked for a room with a king bed and was told that for my online travel site reservation that this was not possible but one could be had for an additional upcharge. Which I paid to salvage the trip. The king room was very nice, a good size, quiet and with a nice bathroom. Similar experience with breakfast - the "included" breakfast was marginal but if you went to the attached bar through the lobby, you could get a decent breakfast which wasn't very expensive and made the start of the day much more pleasant. So all in all the hotel worked out for us, but I had to pay more to make comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LDNtoNYC
Friends
London
Nov 29, 2012

Great location, shame about the hotel

I booked this hotel for myself and a friend for a 6 night stay in a twin room. It was an OK price for a last minute trip. We booked on a Sunday and flew out on a Tuesday. I was tempted to spend a little more for a better hotel but was convinced by the location, free wifi and inclusive breakfast - I thought how bad could it possibly be! When we arrived the hotel was the Art Deco style as described on the website. We were told at check in that we'd been 'updgraded' to a Queen room, however we wanted a Twin room. We were told there was no availability and that we'd have to ask the next day to change rooms. We got to our 'Queen sized' room which was far from regal! It was a tiny room with apparently a queen sized bed. The room was very dated and the bathroom was in serious need of updating. I was not impressed. The next day we spoke to reception who informed us that there was no availability once again. I asked to speak to management who then informed me there was a 'family room' available. At this point we thought they would switch us to this room as it was the only one available. We were then told we'd have to pay $155 extra a night for this and that we got a good deal for the upgraded queen room. At this point I was interested to see what the original room would be like if our tiny room for a week was an 'upgrade'! After making it clear they weren't going to switch the room, all of a sudden they had another room available at $55 more a night. Not impressed with this as any other hotel would make some provisions for their guests requirements. Basically they will give you the cheapest room available and then when you turn up charge you more for the room you wanted. If we'd paid the extra for the family room we could have stayed 5star in the same location!! Other points - the inclusive breakfast is limited, and served up on paper plates with plastic cutlery, they really know how to cut back. They also make a point of their 24 hour tea and coffee in the foyer - possibly because the rooms are too small for an area to keep the kettle etc. The mini bar was empty, we weren't expecting much! Didn't bother trying the restaurant. On a positive note the location is great. Literally a minute from Macy's and the Empire State Building! They have a roof top terrace which is a plus point. Most staff were friendly and helpful. The housekeeping staff had a habit of knocking and letting themselves into our room at 9am on most days! Overall, not a positive experience as we ended up in the small room for a week. In hindsight would have spent a little more for a 4 or 5 star hotel and paid extra for breakfast and wifi if needed. If you're going to book, go for it if you get a good deal but just note they may try and spring you with extra charges if you try and change rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Macy's!

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nielson
Family
Salt Lake City
Nov 21, 2012

Hotel Metro

Just fine - good price, liked having a complimentary breakfast, and location was perfect for us. Heating didn't work too well, and a couch or another chair would have been nice. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Metro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChrisEL
Couples
Storrs, CT
Oct 27, 2012

Quick Trip into NYC

The Hotel Metro is in a great location, right near Herald Square and close proximity to Macy's and many smaller shops. We went to a Broadway play and love the fact that it was a very doable walk from the hotel. We were upgraded to a suite and found the rooms to be spacious, clean and nicely appointed in an art deco style. Another great feature...a continental breakfast is provided free of charge each day. I'd highly recommend this place. Very reasonable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walk from hotel to the theater district and many shopping opportunities.

Back to menu Return to top