$235 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Hotel Elysee

3 stars
60 East 54th Street, New York, NY 10022
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
27 reviews
Perfect stay

I love the Hotel Elysse in NY. The location is perfect on 54the St and Madison Ave. It is easily... See full review

  • Lady Irish ND
  • Mar 11, 2013
European Boutique

We found this hotel after an extensive internet search, and it did not disappoint. Fantastic... See full review

  • FrequentWeekendTravelers
  • Jun 30, 2014
A world-renowned hotel, prominent for its location in Midtown Manhattan

The Hotel Elysee is in the perfect midtown Manhattan location. It is situated on East 54th Street between Park and Madison Avenues, walking distance to Central Park, Central Park Zoo, Bryant Park, Rockefeller Center, NBC Studios, MOMA, and much more. Hotel Elysee, is also accessible from LaGuardia, JFK, and Newark airports. 

Perfect for both the first-time visitor and the travel expert, the Hotel Elysee offers superior personal service that many larger five-star hotels cannot match. Our lavish amenities include an evening cocktail reception including Prosecco, fine wines, imported and domestic cheeses, and hors d'oeuvres offered each evening; a deluxe continental breakfast including boiled eggs, pastries, bagels, muffins, fresh fruit, cold and hot cereals, yogurt, juices, freshly brewed coffee, tea, espresso, and cappuccino; wireless high-speed internet access throughout the hotel, with a computer for guest use and passes to New York Sports Club.

3 Reasons To Stay:

  • 1920's contemporary elegance and glamour in every room makes this one of the most beautiful hotels in the city
  • A rich history of catering to famous guests, including movie stars, intellectuals, writers and musicians
  • Ideal for visiting the sights of New York, with many high quality restaurants nearby

Hotel Elysee Rooms

The hotel takes pride on providing a unique experience, and all rooms contain period furniture and decorations. In addition to opulent light fixtures and rich curtains adorning the spacious windows, guests enjoy a number of amenities, including an in-room safe, a minibar and individually controlled air conditioning in all rooms, with some rooms also including a kitchenette. Rooms also include a flat-panel LCD television, a telephone with voice mail and an alarm clock with iPod dock, and the luxury marble bathroom includes a variety of Gilchrist & Soames toiletries. Upon arrival each guest will be welcomed to their room with 2 bottles of complimentary water and a complimentary chocolate bar.  Business guests at Hotel Elysee can take advantage of the full-length work desks available in each room, and there are a variety of services available on request, including laundry and dry cleaning services, an evening turndown, concierge services and full room service.

Things To Do:
  • Museum of Modern Art (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Central Park (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Chrysler Building (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • United Nations Headquarters (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • National September 11 Memorial & Museum (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
Policies and fees
  • Nightly rates from $229 USD.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Elysee Rooms

Premier Suite
LUX SUITE-KING BED-KITCH-DINING-LIVING ROOM FREE CONT BKFST WINE RECEPTION WIFI 1000 SQFT
Street Side Superior
LOW FLOOR ROOM KING OR QUEEN BED 350 SQFT FREE CONT BKFAST WIFI WKDAY WINE RECEPTION
Deluxe Room
DELUXE ROOM- KING OR QUEEN BED 350 SQFT- FREE CONT BKFAST- WIFI-WKDAY WINE RECEPTION
King Suite
SUITE KING BED-PARLOR SOFABED- 700 SQFT FREE CONT BKFAST- WIFI-WKDAY WINE RECEPTION
Deluxe Double Room
DELUXE RM WITH 2 DOUBLE BEDS 350 SQFT INCL CONT BKFAST WIFI WKDAY WINE RECEPTION
Junior Suite
JR SUITE--KING BED AND SOFABED 500 SQFT- FREE CONT BKFAST-WIFI-WKDAY WINE RECEPTION

Amenities

General
Air conditioned
Elevators
24 hour security
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Copy service
Conference suite
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Safe
Turndown service
Electronic door locks
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Elysee also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.76 -73.973
Nearby airports
Newark International Airport, (EWR), 16.00, MI, NE; La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 7.00, MI, W; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.00, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Lever House: 0 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.1 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.1 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.1 mi
  • University Club: 0.2 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.2 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.2 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.3 mi
  • Lever House: 0 mi
  • Sony Building: 0.1 mi
  • Paley Park: 0.1 mi
  • Sony Wonder Technology Lab: 0.1 mi
  • University Club: 0.2 mi
  • Citicorp Center: 0.2 mi
  • Trump Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Modern Art (MOMA): 0.2 mi
  • Henri Bendel: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of St. Patrick: 0.2 mi
  • Ford Foundation Building: 0.2 mi
  • Bergdorf Goodman: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Television and Radio: 0.3 mi
  • Saks Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • FAO Schwarz: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of American Folk Art: 0.3 mi
  • Bloomberg Tower: 0.3 mi
  • American Craft Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Rockefeller Center: 0.3 mi
  • CBS Building: 0.3 mi
  • International Building: 0.3 mi
  • Radio City Music Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Harmonie Club: 0.3 mi
  • NBC Studios: 0.3 mi
  • Fifth Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Barney's: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Club: 0.3 mi
  • GE Building: 0.3 mi
  • Park Avenue: 0.4 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Paine Webber Art Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Nintendo World Store New Yok: 0.4 mi
  • Bloomingdale's: 0.4 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.4 mi
  • Knickerbocker Club: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond District: 0.4 mi
  • Takashimaya: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Taipei Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • MetLife Building: 0.5 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi

Dining

Monkey Bar
Manhattans Hotel Elysee has been home to the Monkey Bar NYC since it opened in the depths of the Great Depression. In successive years other artists have added to the tableau keeping the Monkey Bar New York as polished as it always was in days gone by.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
01:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Elysee

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 27
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Elysee

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrequentWeekendTravelers
Atlanta, GA
Jun 30, 2014

European Boutique

We found this hotel after an extensive internet search, and it did not disappoint. Fantastic location, easy walk to Central Park, great shopping, Broadway shows, Radio City Music Hall, etc. The 2nd floor lounge/living room is a real bonus (and money saver)! Complimentary Continental breakfast, wine and cheese reception from 5-8pm and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit all day until midnight. It's kind of like a club level except its available to all guests...and everyone seems to enjoy it. It also offers free access to a computer and printer, in addition to free Wi-Fi in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Uniqlo, around the corner on 5th Ave. Very reasonable casual clothing...in every color.

Review of Hotel Elysee

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheryl A.
monte sereno ca
Jun 24, 2013

Nice but probably not a keeper

The staff is excellent and the second floor lounge is a highlight with breakfast, snacks and before dinner treats! The biggest negative is the room size and bathroom. There is no counter space and the shower is not great. We like the smaller hotels but I think this was not the best match for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Elysee

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dallas Alice too
Boynton Beach, Florida
Jun 17, 2013

Great staff, location and hotel

This was our first visit to NYC in forever. We loved this location and the hotel. The service was terrific, rooms very comfortable. It has one of the nicest "included" breakfast buffets and wine/cheese hours that I have experienced in a boutique hotel. I would stay there again..just wish it was not so pricey but hey that's NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Elysee

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paulov
São Paulo, Brasil
Nov 23, 2011

I sure wil be back !

It was my first time at this hotel and sure will return on my next visits to NYC. Location could not be better, Besides all other aspects the "continetal" breakfast is held in a very warming atmosphere as well as the "happy Hour" with wine, champagne and hors d'ouvre. Just perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Elysee

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larwall
Chicago, Il
Mar 27, 2011

Great Location, Perfect room

Three short blocks to MOMA. Great Room ,extremely comfortable King bed, very clean. The Monkey Bar(in the hotel) is right out of the 40's and 50's, great classic cocktails and cuisine. Breakfast is included as well as an evening wine and cheese service. Very nice,hot coffee and tea all day. Great Service but not intrusive or pretentious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a Metro Pass and take the bus and subway everywhere. A Great way to see New York City, cheap. Buy it at the MTA subway at Lexington and 53rd

Review of Hotel Elysee

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larwall
Chicago, Il
Mar 27, 2011

Great Location, Perfect room

Three short blocks to MOMA. Great Room ,extremely comfortable King bed, very clean. The Monkey Bar(in the hotel) is right out of the 40's and 50's, great classic cocktails and cuisine. Breakfast is included as well as an evening wine and cheese service. Very nice,hot coffee and tea all day. Great Service but not intrusive or pretentious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a Metro Pass and take the bus and subway everywhere. A Great way to see New York City, cheap. Buy it at the MTA subway at Lexington and 53rd

Review of Hotel Elysee

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlantic City, NJ
May 15, 2010

Excellent location, service, amenities.

Near everything pleasurable, Park Avenue, good restaurants, piano bar and Grand Central. Surprise cocktails and hors d'oeurves and delicious breakfast in amenity lounge and library. Great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bobby Van's and Billy's, across the street

Review of Hotel Elysee

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlantic City, NJ
May 15, 2010

Excellent location, service, amenities.

Near everything pleasurable, Park Avenue, good restaurants, piano bar and Grand Central. Surprise cocktails and hors d'oeurves and delicious breakfast in amenity lounge and library. Great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bobby Van's and Billy's, across the street

Review of Hotel Elysee

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Island
May 2, 2010

Midtown East Gem

Stayed overnight for my birthday weekend in NYC. Hotel staff was very nice and courteous. The room was a lot bigger than expected. It was very clean. 2nd floor had a layout of food and drinks, comfortable couches, chairs and tables. The only downside to my stay at Hotel Elysee was that i was double billed. Once by [...] and once by the hotel. Called the hotel and they looked into it. They had called me back twice to give me updates and to tell me that my account would be updated. Beyond that one hiccup, it was a wonderful hotel. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Elysee

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Island
May 2, 2010

Midtown East Gem

Stayed overnight for my birthday weekend in NYC. Hotel staff was very nice and courteous. The room was a lot bigger than expected. It was very clean. 2nd floor had a layout of food and drinks, comfortable couches, chairs and tables. The only downside to my stay at Hotel Elysee was that i was double billed. Once by [...] and once by the hotel. Called the hotel and they looked into it. They had called me back twice to give me updates and to tell me that my account would be updated. Beyond that one hiccup, it was a wonderful hotel. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top