$149 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Hotel Belleclaire

3 stars
250 West 77th St., New York City, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
297 reviews
the staff was outstanding. great for friends and family

Our friend and family had a super experience. Every time we needed help we got it right a way. We... See full review

  • chilena
  • Jul 19, 2014
Home Away From Home

Our stay at the Hotel Belleclaire was quite a comfortable and rewarding experience! All staff were... See full review

  • WYOMOMSUB
  • Jun 15, 2014
Comfort and style go the extra mile in New York hotel

The lobby of Hotel Belleclaire is inviting and tastefully decorated along with the rest of this hotel. Guests have the use of a state of the art fitness center that has up to date equipment. A complimentary secure luggage service ensures that guests' belongings are kept organized and safe. This stylish hotel has a welcoming feel that is comfortable and accommodating with its public restrooms, guest rooms and conference facilities.

Reasons to stay
  • Located near some of the best restaurants in New York
  • Plush and comfortable interior
  • Exceptional amenities
Hotel Belleclaire Rooms

The rooms at the Hotel Belleclaire are smartly decorated with a warm and encompassing air of comfort inherent in the overall feel. Royal reds and rich wooden accents combine with spacious arrangements to create an alluring, contemporary feel. The beds in the rooms are large and comfortable with hypo-allergenic bedspreads and add to the comforting aura of the hotel. Complimentary amenities in the rooms include free high speed wireless, a clock radio with an iPod docking station, flat screen television and a compact refrigerator.

Guests will enjoy some of the more unique advertised features of the Hotel Belleclaire include the option of an overnight shoe shining service and a complimentary umbrella for the length of the stay. Children's needs are also considered and the hotel also offers the choice of a crib in the room of the guests (fee applies). Another service that the hotel offers that will appeal to families as well as other guests is the same day valet laundry; this is superb for unexpected changes that may leave someone without their desired outfit. The private bathrooms that come with the rooms are decorated to a very high standard with particular attention to cleanliness and have both a bathtub and a shower, and also come with a range of complimentary bathroom lotions and potions.

Things to do nearby
  • Central Park (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Broadway theaters (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (2.0 mi/3.2 km)
  • Times square (2.6 mi/ 4.1 km)

Hotel Map

40.7827 -73.9813
Area served
New York City
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy , La Guardia Airports
Area description
Located in the heart of the Upper West Side of Manhattan just off Broadway on 77th street, the recently renovated (2001) Belleclaire Hotel is near the best restaurants and stores in New York City.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Belleclaire also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Belleclaire Rooms

Family Suite
Each Family Suite with a Private Bath features two connecting bedrooms with two to three beds, One queen bed with hypo-allergenic comforter (bedspread) and Frette Italian duvet. Desk. Dual-line phone with voice mail. Clock radio with iPod dock. Flat-screen TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Compact refrigerator. Private bathroom with shower/tub combination and Custom Hotel Belleclaire toiletries. MAXIMUM 6 PEOPLE.
Queen room with Private Bath
Each Queen Room with a Private Bath One queen bed with hypo-allergenic comforter (bedspread) and Frette Italian duvet. Desk. Dual-line phone with voice mail. Clock radio with iPod dock. Flat-screen TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Compact refrigerator. Private bathroom with shower/tub combination and Custom Hotel Belleclaire toiletries.
Standard Room
Relax in our full beds adorned with frette linens, I-pod docking station (am/fm, clock radio), dual-line telephones with external voicemail-access, 32 inch flat-screen LG-HDTV with premium Direct-TV channels and pay-per-movie options, compact refrigerator, shower (no tub), custom toiletries, and best of all: COMPLIMENTARY WI-FI from your room!
Parlor Suite
The Suite Life Refresh: Stylish and well-appointed one-bedroom Parlor Suites feature a separate living area that includes a convertible full-sized sleeper sofa, Hudson River/ city views, sleek laminate-wood floors, marble-top desks, and custom dcor fused with rich earth tones. Upon arrival, receive Le Belge Chocolates, bottled water, slippers, and USA Today. Retreat: When rest and relaxation are desired, take comfort in plush king-size bedding adorned with luxurious Frette linens, down comforters*, and enchanting Hudson River/ city views. Rejuvenate: Complimentary gourmet Gillie's Coffee and Bromley Teas served fresh daily in our lobby (7a.m.-12p.m.). Suites are equipped with I-pod docking stations (clock radio), laptop safes, cordless dual-line phones with external voicemail-access, two 32 inch flat-screen LG-HDTV's with premium Direct-TV channels, pay-per-movie options, compact refrigerator, custom toiletries, and COMPLIMENTARY wireless internet! *hypoallergenic
Double/Double with Private Bath
Each Double/ Double Room features two full size beds with hypo-allergenic comforter (bedspread) and Frette Italian duvet. Desk. Dual-line phone with voice mail. Clock radio with iPod dock. Flat-screen TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Compact refrigerator. Private bathroom with shower/tub combination and Custom Hotel Belleclaire toiletries.
Broadway King
Our Broadway King room is 20 feet in diameter, boasting spectacular 180 degree Broadway views. Sophisticated Style Decorated in a palette of rich espresso and subtle earth tones, our unique round room exudes a modern and contemporary feel. Exquisitely Furnished Upscale furnishings compliment the Broadway King; featuring a leather headboard set amid leather platform panels, custom granite top desk, plush lounge chair, and sleek laminate-wood floors. Rejuvenate Complimentary gourmet Gillie's Coffee and Bromley Teas served fresh daily in our lobby (7 a.m. - 12 p.m.).

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Verdi Square: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.4 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Beresford: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.6 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.6 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.4 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Beresford: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.6 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.6 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.7 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.7 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.7 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.9 mi
  • Central Park: 0.9 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.9 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.9 mi
  • Broadway: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 1 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 1.1 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Frick Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 1.1 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Academy: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 1.2 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 1.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (297)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Belleclaire

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 297
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison, WI
Jul 7, 2007

Shared bathroom-- yikes!

Hotel Belleclaire is excellently located in the Upper Westside (but not too upper.) Great neighborhood, easy access to the subway, good shops and small restaurants. However, I had no idea that we had to share a bathroom which is unaceptable to me. We asked for an upgrade and got it but I had to pay extra for which I had not budgeted --meant one less night at the theater and eating at a good restaurant. Besides the shared bathroom the room was very drab and depressing. The upgraded room had been renovated so, despite it's smallness, was very pleasant, nicely decorated with a flat screen TV - nice. I liked it well enough but most European-style hotels follow-through with a continental breakfast. Not so at the Hotel Belleclaire. I'd stay there again for the neighborhood but I don't think I could drag my partner back there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gtwk
TORONTO
Dec 28, 2012

Loud banging noise at night

The room is fine and the location is great, but there is a banging noise at night that kept us from having a good sleep at night. I think it's related to the renovation that is going on in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Madison, WI
Jul 7, 2007

Shared bathroom-- yikes!

Hotel Belleclaire is excellently located in the Upper Westside (but not too upper.) Great neighborhood, easy access to the subway, good shops and small restaurants. However, I had no idea that we had to share a bathroom which is unaceptable to me. We asked for an upgrade and got it but I had to pay extra for which I had not budgeted --meant one less night at the theater and eating at a good restaurant. Besides the shared bathroom the room was very drab and depressing. The upgraded room had been renovated so, despite it's smallness, was very pleasant, nicely decorated with a flat screen TV - nice. I liked it well enough but most European-style hotels follow-through with a continental breakfast. Not so at the Hotel Belleclaire. I'd stay there again for the neighborhood but I don't think I could drag my partner back there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Suedemag
Irvine, CA
May 19, 2012

Under construction

We were not informed when we reserved this hotel. Lobby is completely under construction so they are using a temporary one. One night the water was shut off - apparently not the hotel's fault, - it was a NYC repair - but we were NOT informed... no phone message or note under the door. We were in the middle of brushing teeth and had to use bottled water to finish! Location was good for subway access to line 1, however, and just south of Columbia, our destination, on the upper west side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ColEsp Aniversary Couple
Bogotá, Colombia
Nov 22, 2012

Functional

The lobby is being refurbished. Rooms OK but cold air gets into the room through the AC unit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melsy, frequent NYC visitor
Central New York
Sep 3, 2009

Hotel Belleclaire

we will stay at HB again. perfect upper west side location. very accommodating staff. clean, spacious 2 bedroom suite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance to COMPASS and Quest, musts!

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mineola, NY
Apr 3, 2011

You get what you pay for

I booked this room as a surprise gift for my fiance's 25th birthday so we could have a night in the city and go to a brunch the next day without having to travel back out to Long Island in between. The hotel was perfect for this type of trip. We were in a prime location (close to the subways, in a well kept and busy area of the city). The room was a bit small- but it had just what we needed- a bed, a mini fridge and a bathroom. If you are looking to visit the city and spend most of your time out and about this is the perfect place. The only complaints I had were that our view- was of a brick wall and I couldn't even tell if it was sunny the next morning and there was a lot of renovation going on which took away from the overall appearance of the hotel. The hallways were lined with plastic and one elevator was out of service. Additionally even though the room was non-smoking I did smell smoke which I believe may have been from the workers as they were renovating the rooms right next to ours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Late night munchies? there is a pizza place and a diner open late all within a block of the hotel.

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Douly
London, ON
Jul 14, 2013

Nice place for the value

The room was smaller than expected, but it's a nice place for the value specially in New York

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Long walk from the Time Square

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JeffVG
Chesterfield, UK
Apr 21, 2014

Stay of 6 nights

Very disappointed with room allocated to us for the 1st night - very noisy, and the bathroom looked dated. Staff moved us with no problem for the remainder of the stay with a room higher up and on West 77th. Minor niggles with door lock and taps, but these were sorted straight away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Viand restaurant on Broadway was good for both breakfast and dinner. Good waiting staff and good quality (non-fancy) food.

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Port Arthur, Texas
May 31, 2009

Hotel Belleclaire

Great location in a reletively quiet residential area (corner of 77th and Broadway) that can give you a real sense of what living in Manhattan would be like. Great access to the park. If your looking for a Disney Land hotel, this isn't it. This is a genuine article old New York hotel; complete with the very small, slow elevators and narrow hallways. If your expecting a five star new hotel for this price, look elsewhere. But if you want to experience the real Manhattan, try it. Unfortunately the Hotel is still (late May 2009) undergoing major renovation and this was not mentioned before our arrival. Fortunately, I had not intended to spend my time in New York in a hotel room. The hotel provided a quiet refuge to recuperate at the end of each day, far different than the mid-town / Times Square hotels would have been and this is just what I was looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park is only three blocks away and Columbus Avenue (restaurants / shopping) is only two blocks away. The Broadway trains are at 79th street and 72nd street, very convenient.

Back to menu Return to top