$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Hotel Belleclaire

3 stars
View map of 250 West 77th St., New York City, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Belleclaire

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
277 out of 277
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent NYC visitor 16
Single
NJ
Aug 21, 2014

Pleasant Surprise Great Upper W Side Location

Older property, nicely updated. Exceptionally friendly staff. Good subway access. When I asked about local restaurants for late dinner was given discount coupon for good Italian nearby. Very pleasant meal, easy walk. Many don't realize that in this area you can walk west (left out of hotel) and soon be at Hudson River with park and boat basin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leigh DuBose
Couples
Austin, Texas
Sep 24, 2014

Enjoyed Our Stay

We just returned from a 5-night stay at the Hotel Belleclaire. We had room 614, which was small (as most NYC hotel rooms are) and had no real view, but was comfortable. We heard no street noise except for the occasional siren. The location is wonderful, and the staff is exceptionally nice. Other than the small size of the room, the only other issue was that we learned on night one that the water takes an extraordinarily long time to run hot in the shower. After a visit and explanation by maintenance, we were told the water must run for quite some time before it gets hot, so we adjusted and started turning it on about 15 minutes before showering. Waste of water, but it worked. We also had no tub, but I take responsibility for the for not asking about it in advance. The hotel is on 77th, and there are subway stations on Broadway at 72nd (has express trains) and 79th, so that was very convenient. $31 gets you an unltd. 7-day ticket. All-in-all, we had a wonderful stay and plan to come back to this hotel and the friendly people who work there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a brand new, 3-story Marshall's very close to the hotel. It was fabulous!

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NY Once a Month
Business
East Bay, California
Sep 20, 2014

Very good business base

First time at the hotel. Amazing location for business. Nothing fancy but the amenities (boarding pass printing, coffee shop) are there and the staff is very helpful. Good restaurants very close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pinka
Family
BC
Nov 4, 2014

Great value & location

Great value and location - old charm but clean and cozy :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places around to dine at or just grab a quick drink

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KtRH
Family
Houston, Texas
Nov 17, 2014

I'd stay again

It's definitely not a swanky hotel, but it's more than good enough. I gave a below average rating on room cleanliness because it didn't look like the room had been thoroughly vacuumed, but it didn't feel gross either. Location is great; it's only a couple blocks from the 1 and when the 1 wasn't running, we were able to take the B/C and still only had to walk a couple blocks. The neighborhood is great too. There's a good variety of things to eat (which I find most important). It's a good stay for the price and I'll definitely look to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice Matin for good French dining only a couple blocks away.

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenny Travel Queen
Couples
Somerville, MA
Nov 20, 2014

Mixed Bag

Staff was friendly, although not overly helpful w/info.. I knew from reading reviews that Coffee Bean sells beverages and food in the morning in the lobby, but no mention by staff or in room information. Good location near subway on quiet street. However, the wind blowing through the a/c unit although it was covered was enormous. We turned up the radiator, which did the trick. However, the radiators made more noise than any I have ever heard. (And I have lived in old houses with radiators for years.) We just turned the radiator down and used an extra blanket (already thoughtfully in provided by the hotel). With a few tweaks, this could be a GREAT budget hotel. Very clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bus on 81st Street to UES 79th Street makes it easy to get back and forth between the sides. (i.e. between Metropolitan Museum of Art and Natural History Museum)

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coach Chad
Couples
Baton Rouge, LA
Nov 25, 2014

Great hotel in the Big City

Really nice hotel Room was nice and updated Nice lobby area for relaxing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leigh DuBose
Couples
Austin
Dec 16, 2014

Birthday Long Weekend in NYC

This was our second stay at the Hotel Belleclaire. Both times were enjoyable. This stay, we opted for the Deluxe King with View. A bit larger than the deluxe queen room we had before. King room had a tub/shower combination, which I appreciated. (Queen had only a shower.) King room was a bit larger and had two windows. We were on the 6th floor (out of 10, I believe) both times and had no problem with noise (although I use a white noise app on my phone for extra insurance.) Staff is always friendly and helpful. I suppose my favorite thing about this hotel is the beautiful lobby and its location on the upper west side of Central Park. Lots of great restaurants to stumble upon. Subway stations just a flew blocks away either direction. The price is usually better than we can find anywhere else for a hotel of this quality. One other thing: our first room had a several-minute delay on hot water, so we had to turn on the shower 5 minutes or so before stepping in. Didn't have that problem at all with our king room. Must be closer to the water heaters!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yojik K
Single
New York
Dec 30, 2014

Nice Stay

Well located in the UWS close to bars, dining and subway. Free wifi and comfortable room. Good value and I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rick b
Family
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

clean, comfortable room

Great location. Priced a little high. Room ok, good pillows and beds. Great for a family traveling with kids. Bathroom very small. Tub needs updating. Traffic noise bothersome. Ok for what we needed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Ckose to central park and natural history museum.

Back to menu Return to top