$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Hotel Belleclaire

3 stars
250 West 77th St., New York City, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
244 reviews
This hotel was amazing

I read other reviews and they were very accurate. The hotel is clean, amenities are great except I... See full review

  • Craig y.
  • Dec 19, 2014
Great location and nicely renovated!

Loved the location, cleanliness and staff. Rooms were good sized by NYC standards. See full review

  • Bored2Bones
  • Nov 19, 2014
Comfort and style go the extra mile in New York hotel

The lobby of Hotel Belleclaire is inviting and tastefully decorated along with the rest of this hotel. Guests have the use of a state of the art fitness center that has up to date equipment. A complimentary secure luggage service ensures that guests' belongings are kept organized and safe. This stylish hotel has a welcoming feel that is comfortable and accommodating with its public restrooms, guest rooms and conference facilities.

Reasons to stay
  • Located near some of the best restaurants in New York
  • Plush and comfortable interior
  • Exceptional amenities
Hotel Belleclaire Rooms

The rooms at the Hotel Belleclaire are smartly decorated with a warm and encompassing air of comfort inherent in the overall feel. Royal reds and rich wooden accents combine with spacious arrangements to create an alluring, contemporary feel. The beds in the rooms are large and comfortable with hypo-allergenic bedspreads and add to the comforting aura of the hotel. Complimentary amenities in the rooms include free high speed wireless, a clock radio with an iPod docking station, flat screen television and a compact refrigerator.

Guests will enjoy some of the more unique advertised features of the Hotel Belleclaire include the option of an overnight shoe shining service and a complimentary umbrella for the length of the stay. Children's needs are also considered and the hotel also offers the choice of a crib in the room of the guests (fee applies). Another service that the hotel offers that will appeal to families as well as other guests is the same day valet laundry; this is superb for unexpected changes that may leave someone without their desired outfit. The private bathrooms that come with the rooms are decorated to a very high standard with particular attention to cleanliness and have both a bathtub and a shower, and also come with a range of complimentary bathroom lotions and potions.

Things to do nearby
  • Central Park (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Broadway theaters (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (2.0 mi/3.2 km)
  • Times square (2.6 mi/ 4.1 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Belleclaire also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Belleclaire Rooms

Family Suite
Each Family Suite with a Private Bath features two connecting bedrooms with two to three beds, One queen bed with hypo-allergenic comforter (bedspread) and Frette Italian duvet. Desk. Dual-line phone with voice mail. Clock radio with iPod dock. Flat-screen TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Compact refrigerator. Private bathroom with shower/tub combination and Custom Hotel Belleclaire toiletries. MAXIMUM 6 PEOPLE.
Queen room with Private Bath
Each Queen Room with a Private Bath One queen bed with hypo-allergenic comforter (bedspread) and Frette Italian duvet. Desk. Dual-line phone with voice mail. Clock radio with iPod dock. Flat-screen TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Compact refrigerator. Private bathroom with shower/tub combination and Custom Hotel Belleclaire toiletries.
Standard Room
Relax in our full beds adorned with frette linens, I-pod docking station (am/fm, clock radio), dual-line telephones with external voicemail-access, 32 inch flat-screen LG-HDTV with premium Direct-TV channels and pay-per-movie options, compact refrigerator, shower (no tub), custom toiletries, and best of all: COMPLIMENTARY WI-FI from your room!
Parlor Suite
The Suite Life Refresh: Stylish and well-appointed one-bedroom Parlor Suites feature a separate living area that includes a convertible full-sized sleeper sofa, Hudson River/ city views, sleek laminate-wood floors, marble-top desks, and custom dcor fused with rich earth tones. Upon arrival, receive Le Belge Chocolates, bottled water, slippers, and USA Today. Retreat: When rest and relaxation are desired, take comfort in plush king-size bedding adorned with luxurious Frette linens, down comforters*, and enchanting Hudson River/ city views. Rejuvenate: Complimentary gourmet Gillie's Coffee and Bromley Teas served fresh daily in our lobby (7a.m.-12p.m.). Suites are equipped with I-pod docking stations (clock radio), laptop safes, cordless dual-line phones with external voicemail-access, two 32 inch flat-screen LG-HDTV's with premium Direct-TV channels, pay-per-movie options, compact refrigerator, custom toiletries, and COMPLIMENTARY wireless internet! *hypoallergenic
Double/Double with Private Bath
Each Double/ Double Room features two full size beds with hypo-allergenic comforter (bedspread) and Frette Italian duvet. Desk. Dual-line phone with voice mail. Clock radio with iPod dock. Flat-screen TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Compact refrigerator. Private bathroom with shower/tub combination and Custom Hotel Belleclaire toiletries.
Broadway King
Our Broadway King room is 20 feet in diameter, boasting spectacular 180 degree Broadway views. Sophisticated Style Decorated in a palette of rich espresso and subtle earth tones, our unique round room exudes a modern and contemporary feel. Exquisitely Furnished Upscale furnishings compliment the Broadway King; featuring a leather headboard set amid leather platform panels, custom granite top desk, plush lounge chair, and sleek laminate-wood floors. Rejuvenate Complimentary gourmet Gillie's Coffee and Bromley Teas served fresh daily in our lobby (7 a.m. - 12 p.m.).

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Verdi Square: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.4 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Beresford: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.6 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.6 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.4 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Beresford: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.6 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.6 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.7 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.7 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.7 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.9 mi
  • Central Park: 0.9 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.9 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.9 mi
  • Broadway: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 1 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 1.1 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Frick Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 1.1 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Academy: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 1.2 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 1.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (244)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Belleclaire

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
244 out of 244
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
njddd
Business
ny, ny
Apr 11, 2014

overpriced old and smelled

rooms are sparce to say the least, mini bar had no booze in it!! hardwood floors no carpet, no area rugs, could hear everything and noisy ac unit! place smelled old ratty carpet in halls not a good value at $300/night for nyc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KandK MOM
Business
Downey, California
Jan 9, 2011

Family Christmas vacation

We planned Christmas & New Years in New York City as a family, my husband, my 2 sons (ages 21 & 24), and myself. I booked the double room with a private bath because we did not want to share restrooms with other people. The double beds were to small for 4 average size people. The room was large enough to have 2 queen beds (even king beds) with plenty of room left over. There was a lot of wasted space. The room was also unbelievable hot. We would turn the heaters off and when we returned we would find the room hot again. We kept the window open the whole time, even during the blizzard. Also, we were on the 9th floor & a good portion of the trip only 1 elevator was working and VERY, VERY slowly!!! Very aggrevating! We were in Room #927 and the ceiling was all torn open with exposed pipes and electrical wires. Which we think was causing all the noise all night long. It is a real shame that this hotel is not better maintained because it is in the perfect location. We could get to everything we wanted to see very easily. The subway was close, the neighborhood felt safe, and during the blizzard food was available right down stairs. Overall we enjoyed our stay but would not recommend this hotel to families with grown children. Also, when we planned to leave, the front desk offered to help us get a car for our 6:30 flight, which meant a car at 4:00, they said it may be hard to get a cab at that hour so they charged us $65. As we waited in the lobby at 3:45 a car showed up with the number we were told it would have and loaded the car and then the driver said he had a different name. So we were told to get out and wait for the next car. There was no next car, we grabbed a cab and got to JFK just in time. We were refunded the $65, as well we should have been, but at that hour it was very frustrating, and there were plenty of cabs at that hour and the charges to the airport was only $50. Obviously the hotel uses that misinformation to make money off tourists :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
medtech mike
Business
eugene oregon
Feb 10, 2011

do not try to sleep

Business trip, The hotel is very old and being renovated. The staff was second to none. The problem is the building is really in need of lots of new. The heater made a really load noise all night long making sleep not possible. The windows leak air (ice cold ) the whole time so not like you can turn off the heater.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The staff knew a number of excellent place to eat and shop and very helpful in directions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Jul 7, 2007

Shared bathroom-- yikes!

Hotel Belleclaire is excellently located in the Upper Westside (but not too upper.) Great neighborhood, easy access to the subway, good shops and small restaurants. However, I had no idea that we had to share a bathroom which is unaceptable to me. We asked for an upgrade and got it but I had to pay extra for which I had not budgeted --meant one less night at the theater and eating at a good restaurant. Besides the shared bathroom the room was very drab and depressing. The upgraded room had been renovated so, despite it's smallness, was very pleasant, nicely decorated with a flat screen TV - nice. I liked it well enough but most European-style hotels follow-through with a continental breakfast. Not so at the Hotel Belleclaire. I'd stay there again for the neighborhood but I don't think I could drag my partner back there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
intlarrivals
Business
Oceanside CA
May 21, 2009

for leisure travellers

I love the UWS and went out on a limb and stayed here. Not advised for business travellers. Rooms are quite small, loud and light! The curtains are not adequate and sunlight shines in starting with sunrise. If your room faced Broadway, the noise is hard to handle... And the rooms facing Broadway also do not get wireless access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Missy Liu
Business
fairfield county. ct
Sep 4, 2014

2 mishaps

Very fine for the price point -- with two exceptions. 1) The A/C unit was much too noisy.We didn't notify the front desk. 2) Around 8:00 am, we lost all power in the room. We had to go down to the lobby to notify the front desk. To the hotel's credit, power was restored within 5 minutes. We might try the hotel again but would not recommend it to a friend based on the problems encountered on this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pavel K
Business
Russia
Dec 8, 2014

Upper West Side

Location far from tourist places. Tiny room. Noisy and cold in room. No tea-maker in room. Will pick something else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JoJo 14
Business
Surrey UK
Dec 8, 2014

Don't go in winter!!!

Well, I read both positive and negative reviews before booking this hotel, should have listened to the negatives on this one! There's no double glazing in this hotel, windows just have tape around them to keep the cold out in winter. Is this a normal thing in NY? I really doubt it. In the first room we had, there was a constant, very cold draft from the window, even with the radiator turned up to maximum it just wasn't getting warm. Told reception about it and they sent an "engineer" to look at it, basically it was a guy who turned up with no tools, just a band of scotch tape (no joking!!!). As the window was already taped up, he said there was nothing he could do and suggested I put some towels around the window to keep the cold out!!! When I said I didn't think that was a solution, he called reception to tell them to move us as the window was broken. A bit later I got a call from a receptionist saying "I understand you want to change rooms". I want to change rooms?! My husband was lying in bed feeling really sick (virus caught on plane, not hotel's fault), the last thing I wanted was to move him, he could hardly stand up. But I didn't want him sleeping in that draft either, so we had to move. Someone came to give me a key to the new room, told me it was OK to take my time as my husband was so ill but didn't offer any help with the move. In the second room the heat was turned up to maximum, got way too hot by the morning, tried to open the window but couldn't as this window was also taped up. The radiators in both rooms were making a lot of noise when turned up and also had a valve that spat water all over the floor. Rooms were big enough for us, just what we expected, and fairly clean, but when I tried to put something on the radiator to dry, there was a thick layer of dust on it. Location is good, 10 min to Central park, 2 min to a tube station. Maybe it's OK to stay here in summer, there were big air con units underneath the windows ( also covered with tape), just wander if they are noisy. I would NOT recommend it in winter, we went in November. Jo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston ma
Sep 4, 2009

great for the buget vistor.

The location was a couple blocks away from central park and museum of history, which was perfect. If you wanted to stay near times square i suggest a hotel little closer. Other than no tooth paste and no soft towels the hotel was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

rockfella center at night... unbelievable views

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
njajb
Business
new york
Feb 22, 2011

Hetel Bellclaire

The hotel floor we were on was being remodeled. When we arrived the tv, phone and in room safe didn't work. They fixed the tv promptly but the phone and safe couldn't be fixed because of the other units under construction. The concierge said we cold use a safe at the front desk. The staff was great and the location was very good. I would have stayed there even if I knew construction was going on but would have preferred a floor that was not being worked on. Overall the stay was fine, we weren't in the room that much anyway. Would recommend based on location, but wait until the renovations are through.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Most of the bars/restaurants you would think would be on broadway, the main strip, however; one block east on amsterdam is where everything was at. The concierge was very helpful in finding these places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top