$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Hotel Belleclaire

3 stars
View map of 250 West 77th St., New York City, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Belleclaire

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
277 out of 277
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gtwk
Couples
TORONTO
Dec 28, 2012

Loud banging noise at night

The room is fine and the location is great, but there is a banging noise at night that kept us from having a good sleep at night. I think it's related to the renovation that is going on in the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
intlarrivals
Business
Oceanside CA
May 21, 2009

for leisure travellers

I love the UWS and went out on a limb and stayed here. Not advised for business travellers. Rooms are quite small, loud and light! The curtains are not adequate and sunlight shines in starting with sunrise. If your room faced Broadway, the noise is hard to handle... And the rooms facing Broadway also do not get wireless access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KandK MOM
Family
Downey, California
Jan 9, 2011

Family Christmas vacation

We planned Christmas & New Years in New York City as a family, my husband, my 2 sons (ages 21 & 24), and myself. I booked the double room with a private bath because we did not want to share restrooms with other people. The double beds were to small for 4 average size people. The room was large enough to have 2 queen beds (even king beds) with plenty of room left over. There was a lot of wasted space. The room was also unbelievable hot. We would turn the heaters off and when we returned we would find the room hot again. We kept the window open the whole time, even during the blizzard. Also, we were on the 9th floor & a good portion of the trip only 1 elevator was working and VERY, VERY slowly!!! Very aggrevating! We were in Room #927 and the ceiling was all torn open with exposed pipes and electrical wires. Which we think was causing all the noise all night long. It is a real shame that this hotel is not better maintained because it is in the perfect location. We could get to everything we wanted to see very easily. The subway was close, the neighborhood felt safe, and during the blizzard food was available right down stairs. Overall we enjoyed our stay but would not recommend this hotel to families with grown children. Also, when we planned to leave, the front desk offered to help us get a car for our 6:30 flight, which meant a car at 4:00, they said it may be hard to get a cab at that hour so they charged us $65. As we waited in the lobby at 3:45 a car showed up with the number we were told it would have and loaded the car and then the driver said he had a different name. So we were told to get out and wait for the next car. There was no next car, we grabbed a cab and got to JFK just in time. We were refunded the $65, as well we should have been, but at that hour it was very frustrating, and there were plenty of cabs at that hour and the charges to the airport was only $50. Obviously the hotel uses that misinformation to make money off tourists :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
medtech mike
Business
eugene oregon
Feb 10, 2011

do not try to sleep

Business trip, The hotel is very old and being renovated. The staff was second to none. The problem is the building is really in need of lots of new. The heater made a really load noise all night long making sleep not possible. The windows leak air (ice cold ) the whole time so not like you can turn off the heater.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The staff knew a number of excellent place to eat and shop and very helpful in directions.

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Madison, WI
Jul 7, 2007

Shared bathroom-- yikes!

Hotel Belleclaire is excellently located in the Upper Westside (but not too upper.) Great neighborhood, easy access to the subway, good shops and small restaurants. However, I had no idea that we had to share a bathroom which is unaceptable to me. We asked for an upgrade and got it but I had to pay extra for which I had not budgeted --meant one less night at the theater and eating at a good restaurant. Besides the shared bathroom the room was very drab and depressing. The upgraded room had been renovated so, despite it's smallness, was very pleasant, nicely decorated with a flat screen TV - nice. I liked it well enough but most European-style hotels follow-through with a continental breakfast. Not so at the Hotel Belleclaire. I'd stay there again for the neighborhood but I don't think I could drag my partner back there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Missy Liu
Couples
fairfield county. ct
Sep 4, 2014

2 mishaps

Very fine for the price point -- with two exceptions. 1) The A/C unit was much too noisy.We didn't notify the front desk. 2) Around 8:00 am, we lost all power in the room. We had to go down to the lobby to notify the front desk. To the hotel's credit, power was restored within 5 minutes. We might try the hotel again but would not recommend it to a friend based on the problems encountered on this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JoJo 14
Couples
Surrey UK
Dec 8, 2014

Don't go in winter!!!

Well, I read both positive and negative reviews before booking this hotel, should have listened to the negatives on this one! There's no double glazing in this hotel, windows just have tape around them to keep the cold out in winter. Is this a normal thing in NY? I really doubt it. In the first room we had, there was a constant, very cold draft from the window, even with the radiator turned up to maximum it just wasn't getting warm. Told reception about it and they sent an "engineer" to look at it, basically it was a guy who turned up with no tools, just a band of scotch tape (no joking!!!). As the window was already taped up, he said there was nothing he could do and suggested I put some towels around the window to keep the cold out!!! When I said I didn't think that was a solution, he called reception to tell them to move us as the window was broken. A bit later I got a call from a receptionist saying "I understand you want to change rooms". I want to change rooms?! My husband was lying in bed feeling really sick (virus caught on plane, not hotel's fault), the last thing I wanted was to move him, he could hardly stand up. But I didn't want him sleeping in that draft either, so we had to move. Someone came to give me a key to the new room, told me it was OK to take my time as my husband was so ill but didn't offer any help with the move. In the second room the heat was turned up to maximum, got way too hot by the morning, tried to open the window but couldn't as this window was also taped up. The radiators in both rooms were making a lot of noise when turned up and also had a valve that spat water all over the floor. Rooms were big enough for us, just what we expected, and fairly clean, but when I tried to put something on the radiator to dry, there was a thick layer of dust on it. Location is good, 10 min to Central park, 2 min to a tube station. Maybe it's OK to stay here in summer, there were big air con units underneath the windows ( also covered with tape), just wander if they are noisy. I would NOT recommend it in winter, we went in November. Jo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pavel K
Business
Russia
Dec 8, 2014

Upper West Side

Location far from tourist places. Tiny room. Noisy and cold in room. No tea-maker in room. Will pick something else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ricky Kay
Family
Dallas, TX
Jan 7, 2014

holiday trip

At check-in, I was offered an upgrade (~25/night) and was disappointed that the room was smaller than previous rooms I've had at this hotel. Staff was pleasant and area is good, but just average value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JeffVG
Couples
Chesterfield, UK
Apr 21, 2014

Stay of 6 nights

Very disappointed with room allocated to us for the 1st night - very noisy, and the bathroom looked dated. Staff moved us with no problem for the remainder of the stay with a room higher up and on West 77th. Minor niggles with door lock and taps, but these were sorted straight away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Viand restaurant on Broadway was good for both breakfast and dinner. Good waiting staff and good quality (non-fancy) food.

Back to menu Return to top