Hotel Belleclaire ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$98
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 24, 2016 Check-out: Feb 25, 2016
3.9 /5
Overall score
90%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Deluxe Double Double with View
  • Size: 180 sqft
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Deluxe Queen
  • Size: 145 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Deluxe King with View
  • Size: 236 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices 2 BR Family Suite
  • Size: 270 sqft
  • Occupancy: 6
Show Prices Parlor Suite
  • Size: 320 sqft
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Deluxe Queen with View
  • Size: 145 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Deluxe Double Double
  • Size: 180 sqft
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Broadway King
  • Size: 325 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Deluxe King
  • Size: 236 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Standard Full
  • Size: 120 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2

Overview

The ornate facade of the Hotel Belleclaire in New York is the work of Emery Roth, a prominent architect who specialized in Beaux Arts and Art Deco designs. Since opening its doors in 1903, this historic landmark has accommodated scores of prominent guests including Babe Ruth and Mark Twain.

In harmony with the traditional exterior, the interior design includes vintage furniture such as sofas with button-tufted backrests. Black and white photos of NYC's attractions hang on the walls, to immerse guests in an authentic setting that revives the glory of the early 20th century.

Highlights

Key facts

Located between Riverside Park and Central Park in the Upper West Side, the Hotel Belleclaire in New York has a prime location in one of the most prestigious neighborhoods in Manhattan. The American Museum of Natural History, and New York Historical Society, are within walking distance from the Hotel Belleclaire. Subway service is available at the 79th Street station, which is several blocks away.

At the on-site fitness studio, you can exercise while watching your favorite shows on wall-mounted TVs. Although there isn't a spa in the hotel, you can still get a massage at Integrative Massage NYC or Gene's Day Spa. When you get hungry, you don't have to walk far to enjoy savory meals at Vian Cafe, La Caridad 78 or Amcook Fusion Cuisine.

Dining

Mille-feuille
Breakfast Bar located in lobby. Services the following: Expresso drinks, coffee from La Colombe or tea from Kusmi tea Orange juice freshly squeezed Organic flour and hormone-free butter viennoiserie croissant, chocolate croissants, almond crossants and pain aux raisins croissant from the Mille-feuille Bakery.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 4.1 / 5
$139
Guest score 4.3 / 5
$160
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$109

The Empire Hotel

★★★★
Guest score 3.7 / 5
$118
Guest score 2.9 / 5
$71

Hotel Newton

★★★
Guest score 3.8 / 5
$86

Amenities

Featured

  • Free internet

General

  • Concierge

Activities

  • Fitness Center

Dining

  • Room service

Services

  • Business center

Internet

  • Free internet

Accessibility

  • Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Reviews

3.9 /5 Overall score

90% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3.6/5
  • Cleanliness: 4.3/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.3/5
  • Comfort: 3.9/5
  • Location: 4.4/5
  • Value: 4/5

GREAT TRIP

Would recommend Sun, Jan 3, 2016
Located by kool markets & Central Park...Had a Wonderful Time

| Charleroi Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Our 40th wedding anniversary

Would recommend Thu, Dec 17, 2015
We had a wonderful stay in New York last week and the hotel was very comfortable and staff were always there to help and also carry suitcases etc. Tea etc were free in the hotel lobby which was good after a day of siteseeing. Fridge in bedroom was useful for putting in our drinks etc.

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Week Stay

Would recommend Mon, Dec 14, 2015
Booked the hotel because of its strong reviews rating it 4/5. All in all, it's okay value for money. The staff are very helpful, you're in a nice area, the rooms are very clean and it's a smart place to rest your head each night. Don't forget to claim your free hot drink after 2pm (I think) from the lobby as there is no tea or coffee making facilities in the room. The free WiFi was poor and kept cutting out. You had the option to upgrade but it was so slow - it struggled to load google maps and had to switch to lite mode (which I've never seen before). Would visit again but would not be top of the list and would choose another hotel over this one.

| Wragby Friends

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Fabulous New York break

Would recommend Tue, Dec 8, 2015
We were disappointed with the room booked. A standard double room was tiny, no wardrobe and one bedside table. We were at the front of the hotel which was so noisy we didn't sleep. There was a draught from the window none of which are double glazed. We upgraded to a Queen size room for an additional 15 dollars a night, but it was essential. Lack of tea/ coffee facilities in the room was another downer although tea and hot chocolate was complimentary in the lobby. The staff were great and very helpful. We would definitely stay at the Belle Claire again BUT only in at least a Queen size room. I do not recommend a standard double to anyone, not even a single traveller.

| Rochdale Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Couple getaway

Would recommend Tue, Dec 8, 2015
Since the moment we walked in until we checked out the staff and overall experience was fantastic. The only negative I would have for the hotel was the size of the room we stayed in and the lack of wifi access from our hotel room. Everything else was of high quality and standard.

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Family trip

Would recommend Sun, Dec 6, 2015
The rooms were small, there was mold on the tile in the shower. There was no place to put our clothes except the closet. Room was too hot most of the time unless we opened the bathroom window. The location was convenient for the event we were going to, so that was good.

| N/A Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Ok experience.

Would not recommend Mon, Nov 30, 2015
Nice to have NYTimes each day but no coffee in room or elsewhere a real downer. Room size a squeeze, no dresser for clothes a problem for my 4 day stay. Bathroom nice.

| N/A Singles

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Decent 4 night October stay

Would recommend Tue, Nov 24, 2015
Stayed here for four nights in October 2015. Hotel has a good quality lobby and reception area, staff were very polite and attentive. The halls and room are a little dated but tidy enough, the room was of an adequate size (Deluxe Queen Room) The aircon unit stuck in the window with plastic wrap filling the gaps was a rather scruffy, but not a big deal. we were on on the 3rd floor on the far right, there was a lot of constant noise from the hotels main air con unit, which is probably the only negative comment I have. Conveniently located only a short stroll to 79th St Subway, so easy to get to most places quite quickly. The hotel is not in the main hub of the busy area, which was fine for us, but possibly not if you want to be right in the heart of everything. Amsterdam Ale house was the nearest bar which was OK and the cafe breakfast bar opposite side of Broadway was quite pleasant. Overall. not a bad choice of place to stay.

| N/A Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great place to stay if you want away frim Times Square

Would recommend Sat, Nov 14, 2015
Belleclaire did everything great. Hot water and coffee in the lobby as is a Coffee Bar offering pastries and other assorted items. Room is on the smaller side, but we were out on the go so much, ut didn't matter. Room has window ac unit. Worked fine during iur stay during November. Fitness center too. Also offered umbrellas if it rained, and it did. So they cane in handy. Rooms were well kept, housekeeping did a great job. Nice place to stay in upper west side. Subway only 2 blocks up. Thsnks Hotel Belleclaire!!! We will be back!

| N/A Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great Hotel near Central Park

Would recommend Thu, Nov 12, 2015
This lovely small boutique hotel is in a quiet residential area near to Central Park. It is clean and the bedrooms are very well designed. Excellent value and friendly staff.It's also only 2 blocks from the subway.

| Reading Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Verdi Square 0.3 mi
Children's Museum of Manhattan 0.3 mi
Septuagesimo Uno 0.3 mi
Sherman Square 0.4 mi
American Museum of Natural History 0.4 mi
Henry Luce Nature Observatory 0.4 mi
Rose Center for Earth and Space 0.4 mi
New York Historical Society 0.4 mi
Beresford 0.5 mi
Richard Tucker Square 0.5 mi
School of American Ballet 0.6 mi
Shakespeare Gardens 0.6 mi
The Juilliard School 0.6 mi
Lincoln Square 0.6 mi
Vivian Beaumont Theater 0.7 mi
Belvedere Castle 0.7 mi
Metropolitan Opera 0.7 mi
Americas Society 0.7 mi
Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument 0.7 mi
Dante Park 0.7 mi
American Musical and Dramatic Academy 0.8 mi
The Obelisk 0.9 mi
Central Park 0.9 mi
New York Institute of Technology 0.9 mi
Studio 54 0.9 mi
Broadway 0.9 mi
Lincoln Center 0.9 mi
Metropolitan Museum of Art 1 mi
New York Coliseum 1 mi
International Center of Photography 1 mi
Victorian Gardens, Central Park 1 mi
Columbus Circle mall 1 mi
Museum of Arts and Design 1.1 mi
The Frick Collection 1.1 mi
Frick Collection 1.1 mi
Madison Avenue 1.1 mi
Whitney Museum of American Art 1.1 mi
Central Park Zoo 1.1 mi
Solomon Guggenheim Museum 1.2 mi
National Academy 1.2 mi
Takashimaya 1.2 mi
DeWitt Clinton Park 1.2 mi
Cooper-Hewitt 1.2 mi
Municipal Art Society 1.2 mi
Rose Museum 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$98
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 24, 2016 Check-out: Feb 25, 2016