Hotel Belleclaire

3 stars
View map of 250 West 77th St., New York City, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Belleclaire

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
275 out of 275
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MeredithLamb
NYC
May 9, 2013

Couldn't Have Been Better!

We had a wonderful stay here. Staff was very helpful, professional, and friendly. Rooms were clean and the lobby was very inviting. They were very "client centered" and I will definitley be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BostonLady
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 9, 2011

Great hotel in a great location

We weren't able to get an early check-in which was a bummer but they held our bags and we went off. We came back on the later side of the evening and the official check in was great, they even upgraded us to a family suite. The hotel is a really cute boutique feel. The elevator is a bit...charming (older) but worked fine. The decor is very cute, vintagey, like if Anthropologie (the store) created a hotel hallway. The room was big for NYC (small by, i'm assuming, usual Orbitz reviewers). Two double beds, a tv and closet in one room and a king size bed, desk, tv in the other room. The bathroom was small-ish but full size tub and wasn't uncomfortable. The room definitely had "charm" (the walls seemed like they could stand to be re-done) but it felt clean and comfortable. The front of the building is under some construction so i don't really know what it looks like besides some scaffolding. The headboards were awesome red leather tufted panels. Very cool. Over all it was a great stay. The best part of this hotel is the location. You can't beat it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Museum of Natural History and Central Park are a short walk away and so much fun!

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
robinjbs61
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Great hotel near Central Park!

My husband, daughter, and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend in NYC with this hotel as our home base. The staff was very helpful and the room was very clean. It's located about 1/2 mile from Central Park, 2 blocks from a subway station, and right around the corner from a market and a really good pizza and burger joint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
efgh
Business
Indiana, USA
Oct 31, 2011

NYC visit

Overall I was very happy with this hotel, I knew from the NYC experience before not to expect a large room. We are in New York City!. I checked out the web site before and after I booked. The hotel noted the "extra bed if needed" as amenities along with the hair dryer and umbrella....so shame on me for assuming it was free. When I asked for the cot when we got there, no mention of the daily cost for this supposed free cot! That was my only negative comment on my visit to the Belle Claire. Overall the service was excellent and the concierge - Larry was AWESOME!! He did a great job with shows and dinner reservations every night. The subway access was only two blocks away and we easily were able to get to and from the city with no worries of anything happening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The subway was not far away. Get the metro pass and re-load with money so you can board next time as well.

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jennifer B
Business
NC
Nov 17, 2011

Absolutely Beautiful!

It was a wonderful treat to stay in a historic building with character instead of just another chain hotel. Staff were so helpful and courteous! I also was pleasantly surprised that it was QUIET. Very elegant. The only disadvantage is it was a bit far from the site of my seminar near Harlem and also a bit far from the nightlife on the other side of Manhattan. But it was worth it to be able to "come home" to a safe neighborhood and beautiful room....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pgmsp
Business
san diego
Nov 29, 2011

great location, nice comfortable bed

I stayed at Hotel Belleclaire over the Thanksgiving weekend. It is indeed in a great location to the Central Park and other NYC attractions, and a short walk to the nearest subway to Times Sq. The hotel room and amenities are excellent with comfortable bed and pillows. Free delicious coffee at the lobby each morning too! So, it's value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very near the Central Park and museums and to the subway.

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa, USA
Dec 6, 2011

First Timers Had No Problems Finding Way Around

The Hotel is well kept and vintage. Don't expect spacious ANYTHING in NY, it just doesn't exist at the prices normal people can afford. The lobby is small, but staff had us checked in and in our rooms in a flash! Even the elevators are small in NY! The room was clean, compact, bathroom clean, all fixtures worked. The window view was of a brick wall about one foot away. TV didn't work in the room. but for me was not a big deal. I was there to be out in NY, not watch TV. AT night, the radiator heat caused banging in the pipes which woke me up, but I would fall back to sleep. No traffic noise at all on third floor. Concierge was close to fantastic other than the last night when he sent two dressed up ladies to a Thai restaurant that resembled more of a cafeteria then a fine restaurant - so we just left and walked around till we found a fine Italian restaurant that was more appropriate for our plans. Ended up meeting new friends there! Overall, good value, but not over -the-top experience. Would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Get in line at the TKTS area in Times square for Broadway show tickets. Mark-up with the concierge wasf 200%.

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parade Proficient
Business
Columbus, GA, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade NYC

The Belleclaire Hotel location is PERFECT to be near the start of the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade route. It is two blocks from the balloon inflation site and easy access to the route. There are plenty of restuarants on the side street (Broadway) and even more one block over (Amsterdam). The subway has several stations within walking distance and the surrounding neighborhood was safe for walking. The hotel is "historic" (old) but has been nicely updated. The room was boutique-sized (very small) but clean and trendy! Glass shower with new fixtures and new tile. New York hotel rooms are expensive, so the value of this room was excellent (relatively speaking). I felt like I got A LOT more than I paid for! I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the "TKTS" booth in Time Square to get discount Broadway show tickets! Make a list of 5 or 6 shows you would be willing to see. On the day of, go to the booth during the morning for matinee or after 2:00 for an evening show. There is a board showing the available shows, as not all shows are available. Luckily, our first choice was available and literally half-price of the theatre box office (I checked).

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jackied412
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Basic and convenient

Although I only stayed in this hotel for one night, I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for the price! It was comfortable and in a convenient location, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mod1
Business
Central, New Jersey
Jan 11, 2012

Ladies Getwaway Dream!

Myself and 3 girlfriends stayed here for 1 night to attend a talk show the next morning. The room was small, but we expected that. The STAFF was unbelievably professional and hospitable! Marian checked us in, and there was nothing she couldn't do for us. Jose was our porter, and the same for him. The valet parking was so convenient and reasonable, and the car was waiting for us in front of the hotel, along with our bags, when we were ready to leave. Would definitely recommend and stay there again! Great neighborhood!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

PJ Clarkes, in the Empire Hotel for drinks and fun!

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brazzguy
Business
Cherry Hill, NJ, USA
Jan 26, 2012

Very nice job for the money.

We were attending a wedding on the upper West side. We went to the Internet to research hotels because we were not familiar with them. Found a nice price with good reviews, and were well pleased. What we found was a compact, older New York style hotel, that had been nicely renovated. The rooms were tight but not extremely so. Bathroom was small but had recently been completely updated. We took the train into New York, and the subway up to the hotel. Access to times square was a simple subway ride away .My wife and I agreed that we would go back there if we ever needed a New York hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top