Hotel Belleclaire

3 stars
View map of 250 West 77th St., New York City, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
277 reviews
just fine

Hotel is conveniently located, kept up well. i took the least expensive room (I think) and it fit... See full review

  • Ward s.
  • Jul 13, 2015
New York City Trip

I had an amazing time, the hotel was in a great location and close to everything! See full review

  • Brittany W.
  • Jul 10, 2015

The lobby of Hotel Belleclaire is inviting and tastefully decorated along with the rest of this hotel. Guests have the use of a state of the art fitness center that has up to date equipment. A complimentary secure luggage service ensures that guests' belongings are kept organized and safe. This stylish hotel has a welcoming feel that is comfortable and accommodating with its public restrooms, guest rooms and conference facilities.

Rooms

The rooms at the Hotel Belleclaire are smartly decorated with a warm and encompassing air of comfort inherent in the overall feel. Royal reds and rich wooden accents combine with spacious arrangements to create an alluring, contemporary feel. The beds in the rooms are large and comfortable with hypo-allergenic bedspreads and add to the comforting aura of the hotel. Complimentary amenities in the rooms include free high speed wireless, a clock radio with an iPod docking station, flat screen television and a compact refrigerator.

Guests will enjoy some of the more unique advertised features of the Hotel Belleclaire include the option of an overnight shoe shining service and a complimentary umbrella for the length of the stay. Children's needs are also considered and the hotel also offers the choice of a crib in the room of the guests (fee applies). Another service that the hotel offers that will appeal to families as well as other guests is the same day valet laundry; this is superb for unexpected changes that may leave someone without their desired outfit. The private bathrooms that come with the rooms are decorated to a very high standard with particular attention to cleanliness and have both a bathtub and a shower, and also come with a range of complimentary bathroom lotions and potions.

Highlights
  • Located near some of the best restaurants in New York
  • Plush and comfortable interior
  • Exceptional amenities
Nearby attractions
  • Central Park (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Broadway theaters (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (2.0 mi/3.2 km)
  • Times square (2.6 mi/ 4.1 km)

Hotel Belleclaire Rooms

Family Suite
Each Family Suite with a Private Bath features two connecting bedrooms with two to three beds, One queen bed with hypo-allergenic comforter (bedspread) and Frette Italian duvet. Desk. Dual-line phone with voice mail. Clock radio with iPod dock. Flat-screen TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Compact refrigerator. Private bathroom with shower/tub combination and Custom Hotel Belleclaire toiletries. MAXIMUM 6 PEOPLE. (Ranges between 270-380 sqft)
Queen room with Private Bath
Each Queen Room with a Private Bath One queen bed with hypo-allergenic comforter (bedspread) and Frette Italian duvet. Desk. Dual-line phone with voice mail. Clock radio with iPod dock. Flat-screen TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Compact refrigerator. Private bathroom with shower/tub combination and Custom Hotel Belleclaire toiletries. (Ranges between 145-200 sqft.)
Standard Room
Relax in our full beds adorned with frette linens, I-pod docking station (am/fm, clock radio), dual-line telephones with external voicemail-access, 32 inch flat-screen LG-HDTV with premium Direct-TV channels and pay-per-movie options, compact refrigerator, shower (no tub), custom toiletries, and best of all: COMPLIMENTARY WI-FI from your room! (Ranges between 120-140 sqft.)
Parlor Suite
The Suite Life Refresh: Stylish and well-appointed one-bedroom Parlor Suites feature a separate living area that includes a convertible full-sized sleeper sofa, Hudson River/ city views, sleek laminate-wood floors, marble-top desks, and custom dcor fused with rich earth tones. Upon arrival, receive Le Belge Chocolates, bottled water, slippers, and USA Today. Retreat: When rest and relaxation are desired, take comfort in plush king-size bedding adorned with luxurious Frette linens, down comforters*, and enchanting Hudson River/ city views. Suites are equipped with I-pod docking stations (clock radio), laptop safes, cordless dual-line phones with external voicemail-access, two 32 inch flat-screen LG-HDTV's with premium Direct-TV channels, pay-per-movie options, compact refrigerator, custom toiletries, and COMPLIMENTARY wireless internet! *hypoallergenic (Ranges between 320-360 sqft.)
Double/Double with Private Bath
Each Double/ Double Room features two full size beds with hypo-allergenic comforter (bedspread) and Frette Italian duvet. Desk. Dual-line phone with voice mail. Clock radio with iPod dock. Flat-screen TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Compact refrigerator. Private bathroom with shower/tub combination and Custom Hotel Belleclaire toiletries. (Ranges between 180-220 sqft.)
Broadway King
Our Broadway King room is 20 feet in diameter, boasting spectacular 180 degree Broadway views. Sophisticated Style Decorated in a palette of rich espresso and subtle earth tones, our unique round room exudes a modern and contemporary feel. Exquisitely Furnished Upscale furnishings compliment the Broadway King; featuring a leather headboard set amid leather platform panels, custom granite top desk, plush lounge chair, and sleek laminate-wood floors. (325 sqft.)
Deluxe King
Each King Room with a Private Bath One King bed with hypo-allergenic comforter (bedspread) and Frette Italian duvet. Desk. Dual-line phone with voice mail. Clock radio with iPod dock. Flat-screen TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Compact refrigerator. Private bathroom with shower/tub combination and Custom Hotel Belleclaire toiletries. (Ranges between 180-240 sqft.)

Amenities

  • Free internet
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Map

40.7827 -73.9813
Area served
New York City
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy , La Guardia Airports
Area description
Located in the heart of the Upper West Side of Manhattan just off Broadway on 77th street, the recently renovated (2001) Belleclaire Hotel is near the best restaurants and stores in New York City.

Nearby points of interest

  • Verdi Square: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.4 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Beresford: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.6 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.6 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.4 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Beresford: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.6 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.6 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.7 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.7 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.7 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.9 mi
  • Central Park: 0.9 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.9 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.9 mi
  • Broadway: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • New York Coliseum: 1 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 1 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 1.1 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Frick Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 1.1 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Solomon Guggenheim Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Academy: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 1.2 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 1.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 1.2 mi

Dining

Mille-feuille
Breakfast Bar located in lobby. Services the following: Expresso drinks, coffee from La Colombe or tea from Kusmi tea Orange juice freshly squeezed Organic flour and hormone-free butter viennoiserie croissant, chocolate croissants, almond crossants and pain aux raisins croissant from the Mille-feuille Bakery.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (277)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Belleclaire

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
277 out of 277
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stephen M.
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Boutique but a little outdated

The Belleclaire wasn't terrible.. it was actually okay. But the biggest letdown was the difference between the high quality photos on their website and location profiles that glamorized the hotel and made the rooms look way more spacious and luxurious than they really were. I'm not sure how to say it, but the hallways stink -- literally. I was here for 4 nights and the closet space was very limited and there were NO drawers or armoire for me to unpack my bag. The floors and beds were clean, but the bathroom was covered in old, emerald color tile... so from a design perspective, it's like they took it down to the 20 yard line then punted. And again, the bathroom had very little counter space to unpack and get comfortable. I used the gym twice -- I had no complaints about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paul B.
Business
N/A
Mar 26, 2015

Good Upper West Side Choice

A good hotel in a great location. Coffee shops, cafes, restaurants abound. Subway two blocks away. Ditto Central Park. The hotel is an historic building that has been nicely renovated, although the steam heat radiators can be tricky to regulate in winter. The mini-refrigerators in the rooms are nice, but an in-room coffee maker would be even nicer. So would drawer space for clothing storage. They do sell morning coffee and pastries in the lobby, and the free wireless is a plus.. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
john c.
Family
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Did the job...

This Hotel is located at the junction of 77th & Broadway and is fairly close to many amenities. There is a subway near by and plaenty of shops/cafes within walking distance. Central Park is a ten minute walk away. As regards restaurants and pubs: it is just a block (to the East) away from Amsterdam where there is a good selection of bars and reasonably priced eating houses. I would recommend these much more than trying to find somewhere near Times Square of an evening! Hotel staff & facilities are generally fine but the rooms need updating i.e. clanky radiators & temporary sealing over windows. Decent base but you wouldn't wish to spend too much time in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
john c.
Family
N/A
Apr 17, 2015

Need of freshening up

Generally reasonable convenient venue, but bedrooms in need of updating. Staff OK & room-cleaning done well. Close to tube into town and with one or two useful amenities nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Forrest M
Business
Rio Rancho
Apr 16, 2015

Decent Stay For My Business Trip

The hotel was clean and looked nice. The bed was very comfortable, the desk sturdy, the TV well placed, and it was nice having an in-room safe. The room was small, but that is expected for Manhattan. The staff was always friendly and was usually quick to act on my inquiries and requests. I did, however, have a few issues. From the first night, the shower door would not close properly. Since it wouldn't seal, any water that hit the door (or condensation that formed on the door) would drip (pour really) onto the floor. I had to keep a towel on the floor outside the shower stall to keep half of the bathroom from being covered in water. With a towel only about a quarter was covered, and to clean it up required 2 towels or 1 towel wrung out at least 3 times. I finally remember to tell the staff after the 2nd night of this. It was like that until the day I left (6 night stay). The second night there I noticed two buttons on the TV remote stopped working. While this in itself would not be worth mentioning the fact that it was never replaced is. I told them at the same time I told them about the shower. The wireless was absolutely worthless. When I was just browsing web pages it was quite slow, but still worked. However, when I tried to do anything beyond that... well I couldn't. I was unable to connect to the PC at my office. The connection would drop within seconds of connecting (when it actually connected). At one point I tried joining my wife on a game (digital board game, very low in resources) and I wasn't even able to do that. I attempted to go through their paid internet however, I'm not sure it really exists. I was told the system wasn't set up to actually charge the rooms. At first I thought this just meant the better wireless was free, but after working with it I think that meant there is no better wireless. While this issue was rectified without any fuss I felt I needed to mention it. I called the front desk on the 2nd day with a question on their wireless. They had to forward me to their tech support to get it resolved. When I looked the next day, there was a long distance call charged to my room. The front desk did confirm that the number that was called was in fact the company they get their wireless through. There is little to no sound proofing in the rooms. The street noises carry up to the room (esp. the fire engine from the station on 77th that has to go through the intersection next to the hotel). Luckily the noises died down late at night so it didn't affect my sleep. In addition the doors into the hallways do not block much sound. Walking down the hallway you can hear people talking in their rooms (talking, not yelling), moving furniture, closing/opening doors, pretty much everything. Overall it wasn't a horrible experience. I wouldn't choose to stay there again, however, if there was a deal through a booking site that makes it cheaper than other comparable places in the area I would consider staying again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
panteleimon
Single
New York
Oct 2, 2011

Box

I go to New York a lot, first time in this hotel. The service was friendly, i checked in very late and got a room on the second floor. It was like a box.. usually you get small rooms in New York but this is ridicoulus. I did sleep very well on a full bed, room looked clean, had a little bit of everything but like a Mickey Mouse's house.. Bathroom was clean too but when i removed the towel couple of roaches run away.. It wasnt a bad experience but i dont think i will go back..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spoodle
Family
Margate
Jun 28, 2015

A semi-disappointing stay

The first room I was given had 3 problems: the shower flooded the floor of the bathroom as soon as it was turned on, the air conditioner was very noisy and disturbed my sleep, and finally, the security chain on the door was broken. The hotel could not provide a different room until much later in the day that it was requested. The staff was very pleasant, and the room I was finally switched to was much more satisfactory. I also enjoyed the exercise room and the location of the hotel but providing such a deficient room to a guest in the first place is a sign that maintenance at the hotel needs to be improved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trainer716
Business
New York, New York
Jan 21, 2014

Uniquely elegant

Amazing atmosphere and helpful staff. This hotel had everything you needed, a beautiful common area, with the New York Times and USA today papers, complimentary coffee and tea station, a workout room and incredible media room that even had arcade games! Ideal location just off the beaten path. Rooms have a classic feel to them that was comfortable and inviting. Would highly recommend to anyone!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ros S.
Couples
Atlanta, GA
Jan 27, 2014

Small rooms, great location

Yes, the rooms are small, but that's NYC. How much time should you be spending in your room, anyway! We got free WiFi, which is fabulous, and you can't beat the location. Very quiet, with a really nice lobby, friendly, accommodating staff. Great value! Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two places to try within an easy walk of the Bellclaire: Red Farm across the street has amazing dim sum (the soup dumplings are esepcially good!) and Toloni, a global tapas and wine bar on Amsterdam between 79th and 80th. Go! Also, the Westside Market beside the hotel on Broadway has fabulous take out food, etc. for late-night needs and a quick, cheap meal.

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelgirl109
Florida
Jan 26, 2014

Hotel Belleclaire fantastic value for its location

First off I want to say I have never met a more friendly and accomidating staff at a hotel. The concierge gave excellent suggestions from dining to entertainment. The hotel was recently renovated but the basic rooms with full and queen beds are very very small. Do not bring big luggage or a lot of clothes because the room our kids had , no dresser or closet . They made do out of their luggage. We paid extra money for a queen bed the room at least had a tiny closet. Both rooms had a view of the brick wall of the next door hotel. If you want a view of Broadway your gonna pay a lot more than what Otbitz is offering. The good thing was we had a lot to do so we only slept in the room. The lobby is also equally very very small . No lounge or bar area. They do offer coffee in the morning for $3 a cup or u can go to Starbucks 2 blocks away. We visited during this arctic freeze, it only reached 9 degrees on most days so dress warmly like your going to visit Alaska cause thats how cold it is with wind chill factor. Subways were a fantastic way to get around the city but be prepared to walk A LOT! In your room there are tour guide books look inside for subway and bus maps they come in handy.you can also download various free apps for taxi service, subway lines and schedules etc. Oh snd dont forget to have a blast because you truly are in the GREATEST CITY IN THE WORLD!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Back to menu Return to top