$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 20, 2015 Check-out: Jun 21, 2015

Hotel Belleclaire

3 stars
View map of 250 West 77th St., New York City, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Belleclaire

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
292 out of 292
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BobVW
Business
Preston
Sep 15, 2011

Small Space

Clean, no in room cable TV guide. Small room,not to bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lads
Business
Charlotte, NC
Sep 4, 2009

OK Place

OK hotel but lobby needs cleaning and air conditioning in rooms did not work well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melsy, frequent NYC visitor
Business
Central New York
Sep 3, 2009

Hotel Belleclaire

we will stay at HB again. perfect upper west side location. very accommodating staff. clean, spacious 2 bedroom suite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance to COMPASS and Quest, musts!

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leco NYC
Business
Miami, FL
Nov 11, 2014

Good location

Close to the Central Park and to the metro station. The building is old but is clean with a friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Eataly, it's an amazing Italian market with good restaurants at the same place

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stephen M.
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Boutique but a little outdated

The Belleclaire wasn't terrible.. it was actually okay. But the biggest letdown was the difference between the high quality photos on their website and location profiles that glamorized the hotel and made the rooms look way more spacious and luxurious than they really were. I'm not sure how to say it, but the hallways stink -- literally. I was here for 4 nights and the closet space was very limited and there were NO drawers or armoire for me to unpack my bag. The floors and beds were clean, but the bathroom was covered in old, emerald color tile... so from a design perspective, it's like they took it down to the 20 yard line then punted. And again, the bathroom had very little counter space to unpack and get comfortable. I used the gym twice -- I had no complaints about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paul B.
Business
N/A
Mar 26, 2015

Good Upper West Side Choice

A good hotel in a great location. Coffee shops, cafes, restaurants abound. Subway two blocks away. Ditto Central Park. The hotel is an historic building that has been nicely renovated, although the steam heat radiators can be tricky to regulate in winter. The mini-refrigerators in the rooms are nice, but an in-room coffee maker would be even nicer. So would drawer space for clothing storage. They do sell morning coffee and pastries in the lobby, and the free wireless is a plus.. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
john c.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Did the job...

This Hotel is located at the junction of 77th & Broadway and is fairly close to many amenities. There is a subway near by and plaenty of shops/cafes within walking distance. Central Park is a ten minute walk away. As regards restaurants and pubs: it is just a block (to the East) away from Amsterdam where there is a good selection of bars and reasonably priced eating houses. I would recommend these much more than trying to find somewhere near Times Square of an evening! Hotel staff & facilities are generally fine but the rooms need updating i.e. clanky radiators & temporary sealing over windows. Decent base but you wouldn't wish to spend too much time in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
john c.
Business
N/A
Apr 17, 2015

Need of freshening up

Generally reasonable convenient venue, but bedrooms in need of updating. Staff OK & room-cleaning done well. Close to tube into town and with one or two useful amenities nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Forrest M
Business
Rio Rancho
Apr 16, 2015

Decent Stay For My Business Trip

The hotel was clean and looked nice. The bed was very comfortable, the desk sturdy, the TV well placed, and it was nice having an in-room safe. The room was small, but that is expected for Manhattan. The staff was always friendly and was usually quick to act on my inquiries and requests. I did, however, have a few issues. From the first night, the shower door would not close properly. Since it wouldn't seal, any water that hit the door (or condensation that formed on the door) would drip (pour really) onto the floor. I had to keep a towel on the floor outside the shower stall to keep half of the bathroom from being covered in water. With a towel only about a quarter was covered, and to clean it up required 2 towels or 1 towel wrung out at least 3 times. I finally remember to tell the staff after the 2nd night of this. It was like that until the day I left (6 night stay). The second night there I noticed two buttons on the TV remote stopped working. While this in itself would not be worth mentioning the fact that it was never replaced is. I told them at the same time I told them about the shower. The wireless was absolutely worthless. When I was just browsing web pages it was quite slow, but still worked. However, when I tried to do anything beyond that... well I couldn't. I was unable to connect to the PC at my office. The connection would drop within seconds of connecting (when it actually connected). At one point I tried joining my wife on a game (digital board game, very low in resources) and I wasn't even able to do that. I attempted to go through their paid internet however, I'm not sure it really exists. I was told the system wasn't set up to actually charge the rooms. At first I thought this just meant the better wireless was free, but after working with it I think that meant there is no better wireless. While this issue was rectified without any fuss I felt I needed to mention it. I called the front desk on the 2nd day with a question on their wireless. They had to forward me to their tech support to get it resolved. When I looked the next day, there was a long distance call charged to my room. The front desk did confirm that the number that was called was in fact the company they get their wireless through. There is little to no sound proofing in the rooms. The street noises carry up to the room (esp. the fire engine from the station on 77th that has to go through the intersection next to the hotel). Luckily the noises died down late at night so it didn't affect my sleep. In addition the doors into the hallways do not block much sound. Walking down the hallway you can hear people talking in their rooms (talking, not yelling), moving furniture, closing/opening doors, pretty much everything. Overall it wasn't a horrible experience. I wouldn't choose to stay there again, however, if there was a deal through a booking site that makes it cheaper than other comparable places in the area I would consider staying again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
panteleimon
Business
New York
Oct 2, 2011

Box

I go to New York a lot, first time in this hotel. The service was friendly, i checked in very late and got a room on the second floor. It was like a box.. usually you get small rooms in New York but this is ridicoulus. I did sleep very well on a full bed, room looked clean, had a little bit of everything but like a Mickey Mouse's house.. Bathroom was clean too but when i removed the towel couple of roaches run away.. It wasnt a bad experience but i dont think i will go back..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top