$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

Hotel Belleclaire

3 stars
View map of 250 West 77th St., New York City, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Belleclaire

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
274 out of 274
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sammi
manhattan
Sep 10, 2012

nice manhattan

the locatoin was very good and close to the city.and the staff were very friendly&nice and polite;-)and we had a problem with wifi at our room,and when we asked the receptionst the changed straight away our room,and we were happy;-)we had a great time in manhatten the weather was warm&nice .i would recommand to anyone the love new york;-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cicero
Business
Cheshire, UK
Sep 17, 2010

fantastic New York break hotel

Only stayed one night but room was large enough for 4 adults with 4 large bags. It was very quiet but didn't have a view. The sheets and towels were all very clean and excellent quality. Room recently decorated. Beds were extremely comfortable. Great hotel for sightseeing trip when comfort and a reasonable rate are main concerns. One negative - no dining room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mexican restaurant - www.rosamexicano.com. A great restaurant with superb, lively atmosphere and not too expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans
May 18, 2011

Wonderful spot with some issues

My wife and UI were staying here for our dsughter-in -laws graduation from columbia Law school. The location is excellant. Very convenient to subway and easy to get taxi. Many waling distance options for breakfast and quick snacks. the bed was quite comfortable. the first room we had was right across from the elevator so we could hear a full conversation of people waiting for the elevator to arrive. the second room was great! spacious, well decorated. very functional. Picked up noise from Broadway even on the 7th floor. Bathroom kind of small. Main problem was that there was not a headboard and the room was round so that the head of the bed only touched the wall at the corners meaning that pillows fell down between the bed and and the wall if you tried to lean back against the wall in substitute for the absent headboard. Biggest issue was that the elevators only worked some of the time. Enjoyed walking the stairs which are marble steps. Nice fitness center. No restaurant. Employees very very helpful. My wife purchased ceral and milk from the Westside 24 hour market on our block of Broadway and the hotel sent up bowls, spoons, plates...very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

24 hour grocery on the same block of Broadway as the hotel. Great quality.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland
Apr 30, 2011

great stay

staff, location, rooms, all great. only complaint is that the elevator is tiny and almost non-functional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

AMNH, Central Park close-by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BostonLady
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 9, 2011

Great hotel in a great location

We weren't able to get an early check-in which was a bummer but they held our bags and we went off. We came back on the later side of the evening and the official check in was great, they even upgraded us to a family suite. The hotel is a really cute boutique feel. The elevator is a bit...charming (older) but worked fine. The decor is very cute, vintagey, like if Anthropologie (the store) created a hotel hallway. The room was big for NYC (small by, i'm assuming, usual Orbitz reviewers). Two double beds, a tv and closet in one room and a king size bed, desk, tv in the other room. The bathroom was small-ish but full size tub and wasn't uncomfortable. The room definitely had "charm" (the walls seemed like they could stand to be re-done) but it felt clean and comfortable. The front of the building is under some construction so i don't really know what it looks like besides some scaffolding. The headboards were awesome red leather tufted panels. Very cool. Over all it was a great stay. The best part of this hotel is the location. You can't beat it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Museum of Natural History and Central Park are a short walk away and so much fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
robinjbs61
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Great hotel near Central Park!

My husband, daughter, and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend in NYC with this hotel as our home base. The staff was very helpful and the room was very clean. It's located about 1/2 mile from Central Park, 2 blocks from a subway station, and right around the corner from a market and a really good pizza and burger joint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
efgh
Business
Indiana, USA
Oct 31, 2011

NYC visit

Overall I was very happy with this hotel, I knew from the NYC experience before not to expect a large room. We are in New York City!. I checked out the web site before and after I booked. The hotel noted the "extra bed if needed" as amenities along with the hair dryer and umbrella....so shame on me for assuming it was free. When I asked for the cot when we got there, no mention of the daily cost for this supposed free cot! That was my only negative comment on my visit to the Belle Claire. Overall the service was excellent and the concierge - Larry was AWESOME!! He did a great job with shows and dinner reservations every night. The subway access was only two blocks away and we easily were able to get to and from the city with no worries of anything happening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The subway was not far away. Get the metro pass and re-load with money so you can board next time as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jennifer B
Business
NC
Nov 17, 2011

Absolutely Beautiful!

It was a wonderful treat to stay in a historic building with character instead of just another chain hotel. Staff were so helpful and courteous! I also was pleasantly surprised that it was QUIET. Very elegant. The only disadvantage is it was a bit far from the site of my seminar near Harlem and also a bit far from the nightlife on the other side of Manhattan. But it was worth it to be able to "come home" to a safe neighborhood and beautiful room....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pgmsp
Business
san diego
Nov 29, 2011

great location, nice comfortable bed

I stayed at Hotel Belleclaire over the Thanksgiving weekend. It is indeed in a great location to the Central Park and other NYC attractions, and a short walk to the nearest subway to Times Sq. The hotel room and amenities are excellent with comfortable bed and pillows. Free delicious coffee at the lobby each morning too! So, it's value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very near the Central Park and museums and to the subway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa, USA
Dec 6, 2011

First Timers Had No Problems Finding Way Around

The Hotel is well kept and vintage. Don't expect spacious ANYTHING in NY, it just doesn't exist at the prices normal people can afford. The lobby is small, but staff had us checked in and in our rooms in a flash! Even the elevators are small in NY! The room was clean, compact, bathroom clean, all fixtures worked. The window view was of a brick wall about one foot away. TV didn't work in the room. but for me was not a big deal. I was there to be out in NY, not watch TV. AT night, the radiator heat caused banging in the pipes which woke me up, but I would fall back to sleep. No traffic noise at all on third floor. Concierge was close to fantastic other than the last night when he sent two dressed up ladies to a Thai restaurant that resembled more of a cafeteria then a fine restaurant - so we just left and walked around till we found a fine Italian restaurant that was more appropriate for our plans. Ended up meeting new friends there! Overall, good value, but not over -the-top experience. Would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Get in line at the TKTS area in Times square for Broadway show tickets. Mark-up with the concierge wasf 200%.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parade Proficient
Business
Columbus, GA, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade NYC

The Belleclaire Hotel location is PERFECT to be near the start of the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade route. It is two blocks from the balloon inflation site and easy access to the route. There are plenty of restuarants on the side street (Broadway) and even more one block over (Amsterdam). The subway has several stations within walking distance and the surrounding neighborhood was safe for walking. The hotel is "historic" (old) but has been nicely updated. The room was boutique-sized (very small) but clean and trendy! Glass shower with new fixtures and new tile. New York hotel rooms are expensive, so the value of this room was excellent (relatively speaking). I felt like I got A LOT more than I paid for! I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the "TKTS" booth in Time Square to get discount Broadway show tickets! Make a list of 5 or 6 shows you would be willing to see. On the day of, go to the booth during the morning for matinee or after 2:00 for an evening show. There is a board showing the available shows, as not all shows are available. Luckily, our first choice was available and literally half-price of the theatre box office (I checked).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top