$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Hotel Belleclaire

3 stars
View map of 250 West 77th St., New York City, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Belleclaire

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
278 out of 278
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dc to nyc
Business
washington, dc
Jun 10, 2014

a lovely place to stay

the belleclaire is lovely to look at--like a french chateau in the middle of the city. the staff is exceptionally helpful and courteous. the room beautiful, with wonderful shower, and amenities, only excluding a coffee maker in room. and the cleanliness of the halls and room and lobby, exceptional. all in all, a great stay. I've stayed in many hotels in nyc, since my family lives there, and this stands up to the most expensive in mid town. I have already recommended this hotel to several friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leigh DuBose
Couples
Austin, Texas
Sep 24, 2014

Enjoyed Our Stay

We just returned from a 5-night stay at the Hotel Belleclaire. We had room 614, which was small (as most NYC hotel rooms are) and had no real view, but was comfortable. We heard no street noise except for the occasional siren. The location is wonderful, and the staff is exceptionally nice. Other than the small size of the room, the only other issue was that we learned on night one that the water takes an extraordinarily long time to run hot in the shower. After a visit and explanation by maintenance, we were told the water must run for quite some time before it gets hot, so we adjusted and started turning it on about 15 minutes before showering. Waste of water, but it worked. We also had no tub, but I take responsibility for the for not asking about it in advance. The hotel is on 77th, and there are subway stations on Broadway at 72nd (has express trains) and 79th, so that was very convenient. $31 gets you an unltd. 7-day ticket. All-in-all, we had a wonderful stay and plan to come back to this hotel and the friendly people who work there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a brand new, 3-story Marshall's very close to the hotel. It was fabulous!

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NY Once a Month
Business
East Bay, California
Sep 20, 2014

Very good business base

First time at the hotel. Amazing location for business. Nothing fancy but the amenities (boarding pass printing, coffee shop) are there and the staff is very helpful. Good restaurants very close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Missy Liu
Couples
fairfield county. ct
Sep 4, 2014

2 mishaps

Very fine for the price point -- with two exceptions. 1) The A/C unit was much too noisy.We didn't notify the front desk. 2) Around 8:00 am, we lost all power in the room. We had to go down to the lobby to notify the front desk. To the hotel's credit, power was restored within 5 minutes. We might try the hotel again but would not recommend it to a friend based on the problems encountered on this trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent NYC visitor 16
Single
NJ
Aug 21, 2014

Pleasant Surprise Great Upper W Side Location

Older property, nicely updated. Exceptionally friendly staff. Good subway access. When I asked about local restaurants for late dinner was given discount coupon for good Italian nearby. Very pleasant meal, easy walk. Many don't realize that in this area you can walk west (left out of hotel) and soon be at Hudson River with park and boat basin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ExUWSer
Single
Florida
Aug 5, 2014

Belleclaire is Tops on the UWS

I recently returned to the Belleclaire for the 2nd time in 2 weeks - it is a great hotel - location, amenities, comfort, staff. I highly recommend it to everybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ExUWSer
Single
Florida
Jul 28, 2014

Belleclaire is Tops on the UWS

Not my first stay here. My room had renovated floors and bathroom. Conveniently located on NY's UWS, the Belleclaire is my favorite place to stay. Friendly staff, amazing service, well-stocked fitness center. Can't ask for more. Will certainly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chilena
Friends
fort Dodge, Iowa
Jul 19, 2014

the staff was outstanding. great for friends and family

Our friend and family had a super experience. Every time we needed help we got it right a way. We are planning to return The managers were very courteous and problem solver

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To get to the public transportatoin it was super close. If you are a runner central park is only 4 blocks away. If you like Museums they are only few blocks away. If you like shopping you are a blocksway

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Number One Mom
Family
Binghamton, NY
Jun 23, 2014

Perfect location to the Beacon Theatre

We were in the city to see a show at the Beacon Theatre and wanted a hotel within walking distance. The Belleclaire was just a short walk away from the theatre which was perfect for us. The rooms are very small so if two adults are staying in the room I would suggest upgrading to the Queen bed room. The only downside to our room was that it didn't have any chairs in it since it was too small for that. There was only enough room to walk around the bed. Also, it was hard to regulate the air conditioner so it was too cold in the room even with it on low. Other than that the room was very clean and the bed was super comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent NYC visitor 16
Single
NJ
Jun 23, 2014

Excellent Upper West Side Value

Got last min reservation at very reasonable price. Old interesting building updated. Pleasant lobby with cold and hot drinks available gratis. Extremely helpful friendly staff. In room with just one bed (very comfortable) had adequate space including large desk, full closets. Clock radio w/ docking station and good radio reception. New looking better than average towels. Minibar frig. Older but quite adequate AC. Especially liked hard wood floors-probably much cleaner than typical hotel carpet. Decent lighting. Great neighborhood for access to restaurants, shopping, subway, etc if you like upper west side. Few blocks to famous Zabars food emporium. Desk gave me coupon for 15% off at local Italian restaurant that I enjoyed. Walk straight west to 79th St Boat Basin for river walk, food drink on water, Riverside Park, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take #1 subway to 110th St, walk east to Amsterdam Av and visit amazing Cathedral of St John Divine. Tours worthwhile but can just walk in and around the grounds. Check website for options and special events.

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WYOMOMSUB
Family
Casper, Wyoming
Jun 15, 2014

Home Away From Home

Our stay at the Hotel Belleclaire was quite a comfortable and rewarding experience! All staff were friendly and helpful. Having an inhouse coffee shop was convenient and the people who ran it were warm and friendly. The offerings were varied and delicious. The location was reasonably close to great restaurants and sightseeing and easy to secure a cab when going to places not within reasonable (comfortable) walking distances (2 miles one way). To sum it up, we felt welcome and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the Concierge or other front desk employees for recommendations; they were spot on with theirs!

Back to menu Return to top