Hotel Belleclaire ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$98
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 24, 2016 Check-out: Feb 25, 2016

Birthday Long Weekend in NYC

Would recommend Tue, Dec 16, 2014
This was our second stay at the Hotel Belleclaire. Both times were enjoyable. This stay, we opted for the Deluxe King with View. A bit larger than the deluxe queen room we had before. King room had a tub/shower combination, which I appreciated. (Queen had only a shower.) King room was a bit larger and had two windows. We were on the 6th floor (out of 10, I believe) both times and had no problem with noise (although I use a white noise app on my phone for extra insurance.) Staff is always friendly and helpful. I suppose my favorite thing about this hotel is the beautiful lobby and its location on the upper west side of Central Park. Lots of great restaurants to stumble upon. Subway stations just a flew blocks away either direction. The price is usually better than we can find anywhere else for a hotel of this quality. One other thing: our first room had a several-minute delay on hot water, so we had to turn on the shower 5 minutes or so before stepping in. Didn't have that problem at all with our king room. Must be closer to the water heaters!

| Austin Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Don't go in winter!!!

Would not recommend Mon, Dec 8, 2014
Well, I read both positive and negative reviews before booking this hotel, should have listened to the negatives on this one! There's no double glazing in this hotel, windows just have tape around them to keep the cold out in winter. Is this a normal thing in NY? I really doubt it. In the first room we had, there was a constant, very cold draft from the window, even with the radiator turned up to maximum it just wasn't getting warm. Told reception about it and they sent an "engineer" to look at it, basically it was a guy who turned up with no tools, just a band of scotch tape (no joking!!!). As the window was already taped up, he said there was nothing he could do and suggested I put some towels around the window to keep the cold out!!! When I said I didn't think that was a solution, he called reception to tell them to move us as the window was broken. A bit later I got a call from a receptionist saying "I understand you want to change rooms". I want to change rooms?! My husband was lying in bed feeling really sick (virus caught on plane, not hotel's fault), the last thing I wanted was to move him, he could hardly stand up. But I didn't want him sleeping in that draft either, so we had to move. Someone came to give me a key to the new room, told me it was OK to take my time as my husband was so ill but didn't offer any help with the move. In the second room the heat was turned up to maximum, got way too hot by the morning, tried to open the window but couldn't as this window was also taped up. The radiators in both rooms were making a lot of noise when turned up and also had a valve that spat water all over the floor. Rooms were big enough for us, just what we expected, and fairly clean, but when I tried to put something on the radiator to dry, there was a thick layer of dust on it. Location is good, 10 min to Central park, 2 min to a tube station. Maybe it's OK to stay here in summer, there were big air con units underneath the windows ( also covered with tape), just wander if they are noisy. I would NOT recommend it in winter, we went in November. Jo

| Surrey UK Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Upper West Side

Would not recommend Mon, Dec 8, 2014
Location far from tourist places. Tiny room. Noisy and cold in room. No tea-maker in room. Will pick something else next time.

| Russia Business

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Wonderful Hotel

Would recommend Sun, Dec 7, 2014
This is the my go to hotel whenever I visit NYC. Newly remodeled rooms. Great fitness room, the staff is great. They go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as can be.

| Denver, Colorado Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great hotel in the Big City

Would recommend Tue, Nov 25, 2014
Really nice hotel Room was nice and updated Nice lobby area for relaxing

| Baton Rouge, LA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Mixed Bag

Would recommend Thu, Nov 20, 2014
Staff was friendly, although not overly helpful w/info.. I knew from reading reviews that Coffee Bean sells beverages and food in the morning in the lobby, but no mention by staff or in room information. Good location near subway on quiet street. However, the wind blowing through the a/c unit although it was covered was enormous. We turned up the radiator, which did the trick. However, the radiators made more noise than any I have ever heard. (And I have lived in old houses with radiators for years.) We just turned the radiator down and used an extra blanket (already thoughtfully in provided by the hotel). With a few tweaks, this could be a GREAT budget hotel. Very clean and comfortable.

Time saver

Bus on 81st Street to UES 79th Street makes it easy to get back and forth between the sides. (i.e. between Metropolitan Museum of Art and Natural History Museum)

| Somerville, MA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Exellent room in great location

Would recommend Thu, Nov 20, 2014
I spent 5 nights in a deluxe King with a view. Everything in the room was great, including the bed, lighting, cleanliness, and bathroom. The location is excellent with the subway about a block and a half away. In addition the staff was always helpful and friendly. Given the rate we paid, I don't think there good be a better deal in Manhattan.

| Fair Oaks, CA Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great location and nicely renovated!

Would recommend Wed, Nov 19, 2014
Loved the location, cleanliness and staff. Rooms were good sized by NYC standards.

| West Palm Beach, FL Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

I'd stay again

Would recommend Mon, Nov 17, 2014
It's definitely not a swanky hotel, but it's more than good enough. I gave a below average rating on room cleanliness because it didn't look like the room had been thoroughly vacuumed, but it didn't feel gross either. Location is great; it's only a couple blocks from the 1 and when the 1 wasn't running, we were able to take the B/C and still only had to walk a couple blocks. The neighborhood is great too. There's a good variety of things to eat (which I find most important). It's a good stay for the price and I'll definitely look to stay there again.

Dining

Nice Matin for good French dining only a couple blocks away.

| Houston, Texas Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Good location

Would recommend Tue, Nov 11, 2014
Close to the Central Park and to the metro station. The building is old but is clean with a friendly staff.

Dining

Go to the Eataly, it's an amazing Italian market with good restaurants at the same place

| Miami, FL Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5