$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Hotel Belleclaire

3 stars
View map of 250 West 77th St., New York City, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Belleclaire

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
272 out of 272
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JoJo 14
Business
Surrey UK
Dec 8, 2014

Don't go in winter!!!

Well, I read both positive and negative reviews before booking this hotel, should have listened to the negatives on this one! There's no double glazing in this hotel, windows just have tape around them to keep the cold out in winter. Is this a normal thing in NY? I really doubt it. In the first room we had, there was a constant, very cold draft from the window, even with the radiator turned up to maximum it just wasn't getting warm. Told reception about it and they sent an "engineer" to look at it, basically it was a guy who turned up with no tools, just a band of scotch tape (no joking!!!). As the window was already taped up, he said there was nothing he could do and suggested I put some towels around the window to keep the cold out!!! When I said I didn't think that was a solution, he called reception to tell them to move us as the window was broken. A bit later I got a call from a receptionist saying "I understand you want to change rooms". I want to change rooms?! My husband was lying in bed feeling really sick (virus caught on plane, not hotel's fault), the last thing I wanted was to move him, he could hardly stand up. But I didn't want him sleeping in that draft either, so we had to move. Someone came to give me a key to the new room, told me it was OK to take my time as my husband was so ill but didn't offer any help with the move. In the second room the heat was turned up to maximum, got way too hot by the morning, tried to open the window but couldn't as this window was also taped up. The radiators in both rooms were making a lot of noise when turned up and also had a valve that spat water all over the floor. Rooms were big enough for us, just what we expected, and fairly clean, but when I tried to put something on the radiator to dry, there was a thick layer of dust on it. Location is good, 10 min to Central park, 2 min to a tube station. Maybe it's OK to stay here in summer, there were big air con units underneath the windows ( also covered with tape), just wander if they are noisy. I would NOT recommend it in winter, we went in November. Jo

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pavel K
Business
Russia
Dec 8, 2014

Upper West Side

Location far from tourist places. Tiny room. Noisy and cold in room. No tea-maker in room. Will pick something else next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coach Chad
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Nov 25, 2014

Great hotel in the Big City

Really nice hotel Room was nice and updated Nice lobby area for relaxing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenny Travel Queen
Business
Somerville, MA
Nov 20, 2014

Mixed Bag

Staff was friendly, although not overly helpful w/info.. I knew from reading reviews that Coffee Bean sells beverages and food in the morning in the lobby, but no mention by staff or in room information. Good location near subway on quiet street. However, the wind blowing through the a/c unit although it was covered was enormous. We turned up the radiator, which did the trick. However, the radiators made more noise than any I have ever heard. (And I have lived in old houses with radiators for years.) We just turned the radiator down and used an extra blanket (already thoughtfully in provided by the hotel). With a few tweaks, this could be a GREAT budget hotel. Very clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bus on 81st Street to UES 79th Street makes it easy to get back and forth between the sides. (i.e. between Metropolitan Museum of Art and Natural History Museum)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bored2Bones
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Nov 19, 2014

Great location and nicely renovated!

Loved the location, cleanliness and staff. Rooms were good sized by NYC standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KtRH
Business
Houston, Texas
Nov 17, 2014

I'd stay again

It's definitely not a swanky hotel, but it's more than good enough. I gave a below average rating on room cleanliness because it didn't look like the room had been thoroughly vacuumed, but it didn't feel gross either. Location is great; it's only a couple blocks from the 1 and when the 1 wasn't running, we were able to take the B/C and still only had to walk a couple blocks. The neighborhood is great too. There's a good variety of things to eat (which I find most important). It's a good stay for the price and I'll definitely look to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice Matin for good French dining only a couple blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leco NYC
Business
Miami, FL
Nov 11, 2014

Good location

Close to the Central Park and to the metro station. The building is old but is clean with a friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Eataly, it's an amazing Italian market with good restaurants at the same place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NY Once a Month
Business
East Bay, California
Nov 8, 2014

Two 4 weekdays for business

Great place. Great value. All the amenities. Rooms are small but functional. Staff is great. In-house good coffee and breakfast if it's rainy or snowy. Wish they had a wine bar for the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pinka
Business
BC
Nov 4, 2014

Great value & location

Great value and location - old charm but clean and cozy :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places around to dine at or just grab a quick drink

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LA graduate student
Business
los angeles, california
Oct 22, 2014

wonderful

i had a very very pleasant stay. the amenities are so nice. the room was cozy; bathroom was modern. i felt clean and very safe. i'm definitely staying here again next time i visit nyc. amazing shopping directly surrounding the hotel as well along broadway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top