$122 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 16, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

Hotel Belleclaire

3 stars
250 West 77th St., New York City, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
239 reviews
Great location and nicely renovated!

Loved the location, cleanliness and staff. Rooms were good sized by NYC standards. See full review

  • Bored2Bones
  • Nov 19, 2014
Two 4 weekdays for business

Great place. Great value. All the amenities. Rooms are small but functional. Staff is great.... See full review

  • NY Once a Month
  • Nov 8, 2014
Comfort and style go the extra mile in New York hotel

The lobby of Hotel Belleclaire is inviting and tastefully decorated along with the rest of this hotel. Guests have the use of a state of the art fitness center that has up to date equipment. A complimentary secure luggage service ensures that guests' belongings are kept organized and safe. This stylish hotel has a welcoming feel that is comfortable and accommodating with its public restrooms, guest rooms and conference facilities.

Reasons to stay
  • Located near some of the best restaurants in New York
  • Plush and comfortable interior
  • Exceptional amenities
Hotel Belleclaire Rooms

The rooms at the Hotel Belleclaire are smartly decorated with a warm and encompassing air of comfort inherent in the overall feel. Royal reds and rich wooden accents combine with spacious arrangements to create an alluring, contemporary feel. The beds in the rooms are large and comfortable with hypo-allergenic bedspreads and add to the comforting aura of the hotel. Complimentary amenities in the rooms include free high speed wireless, a clock radio with an iPod docking station, flat screen television and a compact refrigerator.

Guests will enjoy some of the more unique advertised features of the Hotel Belleclaire include the option of an overnight shoe shining service and a complimentary umbrella for the length of the stay. Children's needs are also considered and the hotel also offers the choice of a crib in the room of the guests (fee applies). Another service that the hotel offers that will appeal to families as well as other guests is the same day valet laundry; this is superb for unexpected changes that may leave someone without their desired outfit. The private bathrooms that come with the rooms are decorated to a very high standard with particular attention to cleanliness and have both a bathtub and a shower, and also come with a range of complimentary bathroom lotions and potions.

Things to do nearby
  • Central Park (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Broadway theaters (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (2.0 mi/3.2 km)
  • Times square (2.6 mi/ 4.1 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Belleclaire also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Belleclaire Rooms

Family Suite
Each Family Suite with a Private Bath features two connecting bedrooms with two to three beds, One queen bed with hypo-allergenic comforter (bedspread) and Frette Italian duvet. Desk. Dual-line phone with voice mail. Clock radio with iPod dock. Flat-screen TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Compact refrigerator. Private bathroom with shower/tub combination and Custom Hotel Belleclaire toiletries. MAXIMUM 6 PEOPLE.
Queen room with Private Bath
Each Queen Room with a Private Bath One queen bed with hypo-allergenic comforter (bedspread) and Frette Italian duvet. Desk. Dual-line phone with voice mail. Clock radio with iPod dock. Flat-screen TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Compact refrigerator. Private bathroom with shower/tub combination and Custom Hotel Belleclaire toiletries.
Standard Room
Relax in our full beds adorned with frette linens, I-pod docking station (am/fm, clock radio), dual-line telephones with external voicemail-access, 32 inch flat-screen LG-HDTV with premium Direct-TV channels and pay-per-movie options, compact refrigerator, shower (no tub), custom toiletries, and best of all: COMPLIMENTARY WI-FI from your room!
Parlor Suite
The Suite Life Refresh: Stylish and well-appointed one-bedroom Parlor Suites feature a separate living area that includes a convertible full-sized sleeper sofa, Hudson River/ city views, sleek laminate-wood floors, marble-top desks, and custom dcor fused with rich earth tones. Upon arrival, receive Le Belge Chocolates, bottled water, slippers, and USA Today. Retreat: When rest and relaxation are desired, take comfort in plush king-size bedding adorned with luxurious Frette linens, down comforters*, and enchanting Hudson River/ city views. Rejuvenate: Complimentary gourmet Gillie's Coffee and Bromley Teas served fresh daily in our lobby (7a.m.-12p.m.). Suites are equipped with I-pod docking stations (clock radio), laptop safes, cordless dual-line phones with external voicemail-access, two 32 inch flat-screen LG-HDTV's with premium Direct-TV channels, pay-per-movie options, compact refrigerator, custom toiletries, and COMPLIMENTARY wireless internet! *hypoallergenic
Double/Double with Private Bath
Each Double/ Double Room features two full size beds with hypo-allergenic comforter (bedspread) and Frette Italian duvet. Desk. Dual-line phone with voice mail. Clock radio with iPod dock. Flat-screen TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Compact refrigerator. Private bathroom with shower/tub combination and Custom Hotel Belleclaire toiletries.
Broadway King
Our Broadway King room is 20 feet in diameter, boasting spectacular 180 degree Broadway views. Sophisticated Style Decorated in a palette of rich espresso and subtle earth tones, our unique round room exudes a modern and contemporary feel. Exquisitely Furnished Upscale furnishings compliment the Broadway King; featuring a leather headboard set amid leather platform panels, custom granite top desk, plush lounge chair, and sleek laminate-wood floors. Rejuvenate Complimentary gourmet Gillie's Coffee and Bromley Teas served fresh daily in our lobby (7 a.m. - 12 p.m.).

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Verdi Square: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.4 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Beresford: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.6 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.6 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.4 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Beresford: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.6 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.6 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.7 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.7 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.7 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.9 mi
  • Central Park: 0.9 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.9 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.9 mi
  • Broadway: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 1 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 1.1 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Frick Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 1.1 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Academy: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 1.2 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 1.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (239)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Belleclaire

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
239 out of 239
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, D.C.
Sep 22, 2009

Hotel Belleclaire

Located in the upper west side, this hotel is far removed from the hustle and bustle of NYC. Yet, it is only blocks away from Central park. The staff is very accomodating. Overall, I was satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston ma
Sep 4, 2009

great for the buget vistor.

The location was a couple blocks away from central park and museum of history, which was perfect. If you wanted to stay near times square i suggest a hotel little closer. Other than no tooth paste and no soft towels the hotel was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

rockfella center at night... unbelievable views

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lads
Business
Charlotte, NC
Sep 4, 2009

OK Place

OK hotel but lobby needs cleaning and air conditioning in rooms did not work well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melsy, frequent NYC visitor
Business
Central New York
Sep 3, 2009

Hotel Belleclaire

we will stay at HB again. perfect upper west side location. very accommodating staff. clean, spacious 2 bedroom suite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance to COMPASS and Quest, musts!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, Tx
Jul 30, 2009

Good hotel in Upper West Side

In Upper West Side near shopping, restaurants, subway a few blocks away. New York has short and long blocks. Able to get to downtown Manhattan easily. Cheapest way is learn the subway lines. Hotel staff helpful with transportation. Very nice. Would like to have had central air but the hotel is (I think) almost 100 years old and has been updated. Went to Empire State building, Statue of Liberty (lot of security), Ellis Island, Times Square (have police there, felt secure), China town, Grand Central Station, Majestic Theatre, sunset cruise, Ground Zero, Canal Street, Rockafeller Center and Central Park. Central Park is further away from the hotel than it looks on the map as it is two to three long blocks away. Remember hotel is older building. Elevator is small and hall ways are a little narrower than newer buildings. We were early for check in but they stored our bags until the room was ready. Staff friendly and courteous. I used the ironing board and my iron went out. The staff brought a new one right away. They put me in the first room they had ready and were to call me for the second but failed to do so. The two wake up calls we needed were put into their call system correctly. They have no alarm clocks in the rooms. I have a sleep number bed at home and this hotel's bed was the best I have ever slept in. I suppose the walks around New York helped. Many different shops in this area. Burger and pizza place around the corner from hotel is where I ate most of my meals. (It has more than pizza and burgers) Other places you visit will help you with the best way to get somewhere but then that helps their business. The view from my hotel window was the brick wall next door. I had room to walk around, a walk in closet and the bathroom was a fair size, the second room had a smaller closet and bathroom but again you could walk around the room. We had king size beds. The two rooms we had had the wooden floors. The lobby had wooden floors. I noticed there was someone regularly cleaning the small carpets and wiping the wooden floor. There is a certain amount of noise as the buildings are right next to each other but I was able to sleep relatively well. I have insomnia anyway and am a light sleeper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Plan where you want to go and what you want to see. Remember during the week the going to work factor is going to increase the time it takes to get somewhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tarheels Girl
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 15, 2009

Great location!

This was a great hotel for my first trip to NYC with my best friend of 20 years from high school. It is located only 2 short blocks from the #1 Subway line. I was able to take the subway from Penn Station to the hotel, which saved money on cab fare. We also took the subway to and from all of our sightseeing excursions. Having a Metro card is a great idea. The hotel's neighborhood is great with a couple of markets, restaurants, and even a pharmacy nearby. I felt safe there. We had a superior double room and asked for a city view. We were in room 405 and had a great view of the street from both angles. There was plenty of room for both of us to move around comfortably. My only complaint with the room is that the bathroom light is behind your head so putting your makeup on in the bathroom could be challenging. But, there was a full length mirror in the bedroom near a window, so that worked well. There is construction in the lobby, but the area is very clean. Having a city view did allow for lots of street noise, but I sleep wearing my iPod so it didn't bother me. But, if you are sensitive to noise I would suggest earplugs. We weren't in the room very much with all of our sightseeing, but it was clean and comfortable. And the food at the Manhattam diner was very good and the portions are HUGE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Manhattan Diner has wonderful food and service!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elhoso
Business
Amherst, MA
Jun 16, 2009

Nice location; quiet, recently renovated

This boutique hotel is still being renovated, the entrance under construction, but our room was nicely decorated and more than adequate. The front desk service was pleasant and accommodating, and provided a quiet room upon our request. The main hardship was that one of the two lobby elevators (which are small) was out of operation, resulting in waits for the sole elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid Neo Fusion sushi, a short walk away at Broadway and 83rd. Food was decent, but expensive and our party of six medium sized adults was crammed into a booth meant for four -- not pleasant for a $500 meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Port Arthur, Texas
May 31, 2009

Hotel Belleclaire

Great location in a reletively quiet residential area (corner of 77th and Broadway) that can give you a real sense of what living in Manhattan would be like. Great access to the park. If your looking for a Disney Land hotel, this isn't it. This is a genuine article old New York hotel; complete with the very small, slow elevators and narrow hallways. If your expecting a five star new hotel for this price, look elsewhere. But if you want to experience the real Manhattan, try it. Unfortunately the Hotel is still (late May 2009) undergoing major renovation and this was not mentioned before our arrival. Fortunately, I had not intended to spend my time in New York in a hotel room. The hotel provided a quiet refuge to recuperate at the end of each day, far different than the mid-town / Times Square hotels would have been and this is just what I was looking for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Park is only three blocks away and Columbus Avenue (restaurants / shopping) is only two blocks away. The Broadway trains are at 79th street and 72nd street, very convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
intlarrivals
Business
Oceanside CA
May 21, 2009

for leisure travellers

I love the UWS and went out on a limb and stayed here. Not advised for business travellers. Rooms are quite small, loud and light! The curtains are not adequate and sunlight shines in starting with sunrise. If your room faced Broadway, the noise is hard to handle... And the rooms facing Broadway also do not get wireless access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nanaimo
Aug 22, 2008

Cute Botique Hotel

A great New York hotel on the upper west side, The Bellclaire is the perfect location to stay. Recently updated rooms, friendly staff and clean, quiet rooms made it an enjoyable stay. Easy access to the subway and Central Park were also perks to this great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of great restuarant on Broadway and Amsterdam. The Manhattan Dinner is across the street and the perfect breakfast location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top