$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Hotel Belleclaire

3 stars
View map of 250 West 77th St., New York City, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Belleclaire

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
277 out of 277
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kandice and Murtuza
Couples
Houston, TX
Aug 20, 2013

Couldn't ask for Anything BETTER

Hotel Belleclaire was absolutely the best hotel we have ever stayed at. It was just my husband and I, the hotel is so close to the subway. It is in the best location! There are shops, restaurants, everything you can ask for is right there. And the proximity to the subway, I cannot stress how convenient that is! The staff were great, and whenever we come back, I will be sure to stay here! I had a blast. Thank you guys so much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway is soooo close!

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brazzguy
Couples
Cherry Hill, NJ, USA
Jan 26, 2012

Very nice job for the money.

We were attending a wedding on the upper West side. We went to the Internet to research hotels because we were not familiar with them. Found a nice price with good reviews, and were well pleased. What we found was a compact, older New York style hotel, that had been nicely renovated. The rooms were tight but not extremely so. Bathroom was small but had recently been completely updated. We took the train into New York, and the subway up to the hotel. Access to times square was a simple subway ride away .My wife and I agreed that we would go back there if we ever needed a New York hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The Op
Business
Winston Salem, NC
Jan 21, 2012

Improved Looks & Staff

The hotel looks better than last time and the staff is more attentive so things are improving - now if they can only have coffee available for the business traveler before 7:00am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
happybusinesstraveler
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Jan 12, 2012

Great Hideaway

I have stayed here a couple of times while working in the area. This hotel is charming, perfectly located and the staff are extremely attentive and welcoming. This is the best value on the UWS with easy subway access to everything. I love staying here and can't wait to book my next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Grab a quick lunch or dinner at the famous Shake Shack just a few minutes away at 77th and Columbus. Inexpensive, delicious and fun!

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mod1
Friends
Central, New Jersey
Jan 11, 2012

Ladies Getwaway Dream!

Myself and 3 girlfriends stayed here for 1 night to attend a talk show the next morning. The room was small, but we expected that. The STAFF was unbelievably professional and hospitable! Marian checked us in, and there was nothing she couldn't do for us. Jose was our porter, and the same for him. The valet parking was so convenient and reasonable, and the car was waiting for us in front of the hotel, along with our bags, when we were ready to leave. Would definitely recommend and stay there again! Great neighborhood!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

PJ Clarkes, in the Empire Hotel for drinks and fun!

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
emma d
Single
austin, texas
Jan 9, 2012

awesome

i am a single female traveler and this hotel was awesome. i always travel by myself and have stayed in other hotels in NYC, this one was perfect location, very close to metro stops and got all around the city very easily. incredibly nice staff and very clean and cozy room. would definitely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jackied412
Couples
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Basic and convenient

Although I only stayed in this hotel for one night, I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for the price! It was comfortable and in a convenient location, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
smj2
Couples
Flagstaff, AZ
Dec 27, 2011

Great Stay

We found the hotel to be a great find. Hotel room was clean and staff were nice. Some reviews mentioned the rooms were small but once we got there, they weren't anything that couldn't be handled. Good size to put bags on the floor and move around. I didn't expect it to be regular size hotels room as it is NYC but did end up thinking it was just right. Staff were very friendly and location is near restaurants and grocery stores including a Trader Joe's within 5 min walk. Away from the crowds which was nice as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

American Museum of Natural History

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zouki
Family
Weston, FL, USA
Dec 25, 2011

Christmas Family Vacation

Staff was friendly and accommodating. We needed extra towels and they were brought up immediately. Location was great. We love the Upper West Side with easy access to subway stations and bus. Rooms were a bit small but comfortable. Overall a great place to stay for the money. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the 72nd street subway with easy access to midtown attractions.

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parade Proficient
Couples
Columbus, GA, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade NYC

The Belleclaire Hotel location is PERFECT to be near the start of the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade route. It is two blocks from the balloon inflation site and easy access to the route. There are plenty of restuarants on the side street (Broadway) and even more one block over (Amsterdam). The subway has several stations within walking distance and the surrounding neighborhood was safe for walking. The hotel is "historic" (old) but has been nicely updated. The room was boutique-sized (very small) but clean and trendy! Glass shower with new fixtures and new tile. New York hotel rooms are expensive, so the value of this room was excellent (relatively speaking). I felt like I got A LOT more than I paid for! I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the "TKTS" booth in Time Square to get discount Broadway show tickets! Make a list of 5 or 6 shows you would be willing to see. On the day of, go to the booth during the morning for matinee or after 2:00 for an evening show. There is a board showing the available shows, as not all shows are available. Luckily, our first choice was available and literally half-price of the theatre box office (I checked).

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Iowa, USA
Dec 6, 2011

First Timers Had No Problems Finding Way Around

The Hotel is well kept and vintage. Don't expect spacious ANYTHING in NY, it just doesn't exist at the prices normal people can afford. The lobby is small, but staff had us checked in and in our rooms in a flash! Even the elevators are small in NY! The room was clean, compact, bathroom clean, all fixtures worked. The window view was of a brick wall about one foot away. TV didn't work in the room. but for me was not a big deal. I was there to be out in NY, not watch TV. AT night, the radiator heat caused banging in the pipes which woke me up, but I would fall back to sleep. No traffic noise at all on third floor. Concierge was close to fantastic other than the last night when he sent two dressed up ladies to a Thai restaurant that resembled more of a cafeteria then a fine restaurant - so we just left and walked around till we found a fine Italian restaurant that was more appropriate for our plans. Ended up meeting new friends there! Overall, good value, but not over -the-top experience. Would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Get in line at the TKTS area in Times square for Broadway show tickets. Mark-up with the concierge wasf 200%.

Back to menu Return to top