$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Hotel Belleclaire

3 stars
View map of 250 West 77th St., New York City, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Belleclaire

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
268 out of 268
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ruviv
Bulgaria
Aug 24, 2013

Very nice hotel, great location

The hotel is near Central park and there is a metro station nearby. Very easy to find. Rooms are very clean and it has everything you need. There was only one computer working in the media room so we waited a long time to print our boarding passes. But overall very nice hotel, staff are really helpful and friednly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Becky B.
Business
North Carolina, USA
Nov 13, 2011

New York Marathon

This was our second stay at Hotel Belleclaire-the staff is very friendly. The hotel is in a very nice neighborhood-great food Big Nick's right around the corner as well as a wonderful market. Just blocks away from Central and Riverside Parks. Only 11/2 blocks away from the subway. Our only wish is we could go more often.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kjandjj
Business
Hinsdale, IL, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Great Location, helpful staff

Our hotel stay was pleasant. The staff was friendly and very eager to help. I would stay there again but would make sure the room was improved as it the lacked several comforts that should have been there for the price we paid: safe was busted, very poor lighting - none in the closet at all. No dresser or drawer - we had to live out of suitcases. Tiny bathroom with no fan so steam built up very easily, and the TV picture was grainy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
efgh
Business
Indiana, USA
Oct 31, 2011

NYC visit

Overall I was very happy with this hotel, I knew from the NYC experience before not to expect a large room. We are in New York City!. I checked out the web site before and after I booked. The hotel noted the "extra bed if needed" as amenities along with the hair dryer and umbrella....so shame on me for assuming it was free. When I asked for the cot when we got there, no mention of the daily cost for this supposed free cot! That was my only negative comment on my visit to the Belle Claire. Overall the service was excellent and the concierge - Larry was AWESOME!! He did a great job with shows and dinner reservations every night. The subway access was only two blocks away and we easily were able to get to and from the city with no worries of anything happening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The subway was not far away. Get the metro pass and re-load with money so you can board next time as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TKHawkeye
Business
Michigan
Oct 25, 2011

Girls' Weekend

Plus: The staff was very courteous, the concierge very helpful. The room was small, old but updated some. It was conveniently located close to the subway and local eateries - a plus. The beds were comfortable and overall not a bad hotel. Critique: The edges of the flooring had a layer of dirt built-up from no cleaning close to the trim. The bathroom window sill had cracked paint and was also dirty. The radiator came on super hot in spite of 60 degree weather - had to keep trying to close the valve. We had to use the window air-conditioner to keep the room cool enough to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We took advantage of the City Sites hop-on, hop-off double-decker bus tour. Very well worth the money spent. We saw and learned so much of NYC in a short time (2-hour tour) and it made our choices in where to go much easier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
robinjbs61
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Great hotel near Central Park!

My husband, daughter, and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend in NYC with this hotel as our home base. The staff was very helpful and the room was very clean. It's located about 1/2 mile from Central Park, 2 blocks from a subway station, and right around the corner from a market and a really good pizza and burger joint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marshall, TX
Oct 11, 2011

Black Mold and Lies via Email

Before checking in, I asked (after their much boasted remodel) if my room would have a room safe. Their Answer: every room has a safe. Actuality: they don't. When questioned on this via email, no response to date has been sent. BAD customer service to either respond or apologize. Front desk is unapologetic on this. When preparing for bed after the first night, I noticed black mold growing in the grout of the tiles in the bathroom and the caulk around the tub. The front desk seemed genuinely embarrassed, and most was cleaned up, but the window in the shower had mold that was painted over and grew back over the next couple of days. Their only seemingly apology was to leave a box of chocolates on the foot of on of the beds. The location (2 blocks from a 1 and 2 subway station along Broadway) is good, and it is midway between Central Park and a nice riverside park along the Hudson with nice brownstones to look at and take in the Upper West Side neighborhood. Great restaurants are within walking distance (Big Nicks is around the corner below the hotel, and Ocean Grill towards CPark is great). The elevators work about 80% of the time (there are 2, and 1 was broken most of the time) - thank goodness I was only on the 3rd floor. Unfortunately my window view (which they worked hard at obscuring with wood panels and non-working blinds) was into an alley and the building next door. Not at all like the picture they depict on their website of a room with 2 double beds. I go to NYC every year, and know you don't always pay for a top notch room because you will hopefully be spending your time touring the city, but I'd be fairly hard pressed to stay here again. If you want an expensive-looking "budget" room in the Upper West Side, I don't know that this is worth the value. I wanted desperately to make this my new place to stay, but the short comings on customer service and non-attentiveness to details like my health will have me researching other options next time. Great location, lack-luster service, questionable standards - too bad :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BostonLady
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 9, 2011

Great hotel in a great location

We weren't able to get an early check-in which was a bummer but they held our bags and we went off. We came back on the later side of the evening and the official check in was great, they even upgraded us to a family suite. The hotel is a really cute boutique feel. The elevator is a bit...charming (older) but worked fine. The decor is very cute, vintagey, like if Anthropologie (the store) created a hotel hallway. The room was big for NYC (small by, i'm assuming, usual Orbitz reviewers). Two double beds, a tv and closet in one room and a king size bed, desk, tv in the other room. The bathroom was small-ish but full size tub and wasn't uncomfortable. The room definitely had "charm" (the walls seemed like they could stand to be re-done) but it felt clean and comfortable. The front of the building is under some construction so i don't really know what it looks like besides some scaffolding. The headboards were awesome red leather tufted panels. Very cool. Over all it was a great stay. The best part of this hotel is the location. You can't beat it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Museum of Natural History and Central Park are a short walk away and so much fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael V
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Oct 7, 2011

Good Value Room

This is a good valued hotel for New York City for someone who is not planning on spending alot of time at their hotel. Room is small (as expected for NYC), clean, with modern fixtures/plumbing. Staff was professional, helpful and friendly. Building is older with narrow halls and small elevator. However, all were well kepted. Hotel typical for buildings of this time period. Location 2 blocks from the subway station, neighborhood appeared safe and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Your in New York City, don't spend any more time than necessary in your hotel, Enjoy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
panteleimon
Business
New York
Oct 2, 2011

Box

I go to New York a lot, first time in this hotel. The service was friendly, i checked in very late and got a room on the second floor. It was like a box.. usually you get small rooms in New York but this is ridicoulus. I did sleep very well on a full bed, room looked clean, had a little bit of everything but like a Mickey Mouse's house.. Bathroom was clean too but when i removed the towel couple of roaches run away.. It wasnt a bad experience but i dont think i will go back..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mister Camera...
Business
New Orleans, LA, USA
Sep 18, 2011

The Belleclaire on the Upper West Side...

We were in NYC as working photographers to cover Mercedes Benz Fashion Week from Sept 8 -15 and decided to stay at the Hotel Bellclaire because of it's fairly close proximity and walking distance to Lincoln Center. We checked into our room on the third floor and it was great - a queen sized bed with comfortable accommodations and perfect for working long hours editing photos - we stayed in this room for a couple days. Then out of curiously, we inquired about the rooms on the corners of the building that are in round turret-like rooms - and we were given a key to check out one on the top floor - it was absolutely spectacular! We were given an excellent rate to upgrade that was impossible to refuse and so we relocated to the top floor, a huge corner round room with a king-sized bed with lots of windows and lots of sunlight - it was REALLY spectacular with great views up and down Broadway and Central Park several blocks away! The cleaning crew was great and the front desk personnel on the main floor were absolutely great! We will definitely be staying here again and again for both pleasure and work trips and definitely again come next Fashion Week in February 2012.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are tons of great coffee shops and restaurants within a couple blocks on Columbus Avenue. It's worth the walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top