$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 21, 2015

Hotel Belleclaire

3 stars
View map of 250 West 77th St., New York City, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Belleclaire

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
272 out of 272
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JBD6836295
Williamsburg, VA
Jun 7, 2012

Best value in NYC!

I was extremely pleased with this hotel, especially for the price. The rooms were recently renovated with hardwood floors - so nice not to have to walk on dank old carpet! The beds were extremely comfortable and the room was HUGE by NYC standards. There was some construction going on in the lobby, but it was no bother, at all. Plus, a perfectly clean record on the bed bug registry. I will absolutely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tarheels Girl
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 15, 2009

Great location!

This was a great hotel for my first trip to NYC with my best friend of 20 years from high school. It is located only 2 short blocks from the #1 Subway line. I was able to take the subway from Penn Station to the hotel, which saved money on cab fare. We also took the subway to and from all of our sightseeing excursions. Having a Metro card is a great idea. The hotel's neighborhood is great with a couple of markets, restaurants, and even a pharmacy nearby. I felt safe there. We had a superior double room and asked for a city view. We were in room 405 and had a great view of the street from both angles. There was plenty of room for both of us to move around comfortably. My only complaint with the room is that the bathroom light is behind your head so putting your makeup on in the bathroom could be challenging. But, there was a full length mirror in the bedroom near a window, so that worked well. There is construction in the lobby, but the area is very clean. Having a city view did allow for lots of street noise, but I sleep wearing my iPod so it didn't bother me. But, if you are sensitive to noise I would suggest earplugs. We weren't in the room very much with all of our sightseeing, but it was clean and comfortable. And the food at the Manhattam diner was very good and the portions are HUGE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Manhattan Diner has wonderful food and service!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Jul 7, 2011

Pleasant Surprise for the price

Friendly and helpful personnel. Great value. Good location for our purposes. Relatively quiet except for AC and heavy room doors. Small room but very clean and modern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great nearby dining experience recommended by the hotel staff: NiceMatin.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pennsylvania
Jan 24, 2010

Hotel belleclaire. A real find

Great location if you want to be in upper west side neighbourhood. Walking distance to Central Park, Times Square, Lincoln Center, neighbourhood bars and restaurants. Friendly, helpful staff. Small, clean, updated rooms. A find....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vermont
Jul 7, 2011

Clean, easy & convenient

We needed a reasonably priced, conveniently located place for a quick overnight in NYC to connect with family. This was really perfect for us. We had a queen deluxe room (could have paid $20 more for upgrade to king) and on check in asked for a quiet room. All staff was courteous. Refreshing lemon water, coffee, tea, newspapers, wi-fi all great. No carpet in room added to feeling of cleanliness. Smart place. We will defintely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good variety of eating options in short walking distance. Easily acessible by subway. Easy to access by car off west side highway.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CanadianNYCaddict
Business
Canada
May 10, 2011

Great Value

We booked this hotel becasue it offered great value for our trip. We didn't plan on spending much time in the hotel as our New York trips are go go go but found the room to be clean and just what we needed for a good night sleep. Keep in mind value hotels are not meant for luxury so we didn't have a view, didn't order food basically just slept there. The hotel was close to the subway and a bit farther away from times square which was nice as the neighbourhood was almost tourist free and offered some good exploring time. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G-reg
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 15, 2011

Well done

Basically went to the city for a few days to get away from work and see a couple of concerts. The hotel is really close (2 blocks) from the 1 train and about an hours subway/airtrain ride from JFK. With only one transfer it is EASY to get to. If you are going in the near future, note that renovations are going on on (I think) the 7th-9th floor and start promptly at 8.05 am. The workers are nice and tidy but if you plan on sleeping in this may hinder your plans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the cafes/restaurants near by. Good Enough To Eat was wonderful and Europan is open all the time. There is also an Insomnia Cookie on Amsterdam just a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellmore, New York
Jan 1, 2010

Great Location for New Years Eve

We stayed at this hotel on New Years Eve and the service was excellent and while one elevator was out of service, we managed to get to our room without too much of a wait. The room, while very small, was very clean and looked to be recently remodeled. The hotel has a very nice architectural design to it. I would stay there again as the location was close to the Beacon Theater where we attended a concert.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 30, 2009

Home Sweet Home on the Upper West Side

A spacious two-room suite for under $200? What a find! And yes, that's two flat-screens, two phones and two queen-size beds. Even a refrigerator. Everything was clean and new. Friendly staff and close to transportation. Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The #1 Broadway local subway is two blocks away and takes you right to Times Square. Central Park is three blocks away. It's living the way a real New Yorker lives.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Princeton, NJ
Jul 16, 2011

Our hotel stay

The hotel was cozy and welcoming. The staff were helpful and upgraded us to a suite at no extra charge. Our room was clean with wood floors. Instead of the hustle and bustle of a chain brand hotel, this was charming and peaceful. We will definitely stay at the Hotel Belleclaire in the future!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many choices all within 5-6 blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Israel
Mar 22, 2011

"Unbeatable location for the price"

The staff were amazing. the location is great. the only problem is the slow elevators. thank you for a wander full stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top