$33 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

Hotel Belleclaire

3 stars
250 West 77th St., New York City, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
296 reviews
Home Away From Home

Our stay at the Hotel Belleclaire was quite a comfortable and rewarding experience! All staff were... See full review

  • WYOMOMSUB
  • Jun 15, 2014
a lovely place to stay

the belleclaire is lovely to look at--like a french chateau in the middle of the city. the staff is... See full review

  • dc to nyc
  • Jun 10, 2014
Comfort and style go the extra mile in New York hotel

The lobby of Hotel Belleclaire is inviting and tastefully decorated along with the rest of this hotel. Guests have the use of a state of the art fitness center that has up to date equipment. A complimentary secure luggage service ensures that guests' belongings are kept organized and safe. This stylish hotel has a welcoming feel that is comfortable and accommodating with its public restrooms, guest rooms and conference facilities.

Reasons to stay
  • Located near some of the best restaurants in New York
  • Plush and comfortable interior
  • Exceptional amenities
Hotel Belleclaire Rooms

The rooms at the Hotel Belleclaire are smartly decorated with a warm and encompassing air of comfort inherent in the overall feel. Royal reds and rich wooden accents combine with spacious arrangements to create an alluring, contemporary feel. The beds in the rooms are large and comfortable with hypo-allergenic bedspreads and add to the comforting aura of the hotel. Complimentary amenities in the rooms include free high speed wireless, a clock radio with an iPod docking station, flat screen television and a compact refrigerator.

Guests will enjoy some of the more unique advertised features of the Hotel Belleclaire include the option of an overnight shoe shining service and a complimentary umbrella for the length of the stay. Children's needs are also considered and the hotel also offers the choice of a crib in the room of the guests (fee applies). Another service that the hotel offers that will appeal to families as well as other guests is the same day valet laundry; this is superb for unexpected changes that may leave someone without their desired outfit. The private bathrooms that come with the rooms are decorated to a very high standard with particular attention to cleanliness and have both a bathtub and a shower, and also come with a range of complimentary bathroom lotions and potions.

Things to do nearby
  • Central Park (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Broadway theaters (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (2.0 mi/3.2 km)
  • Times square (2.6 mi/ 4.1 km)

Hotel Belleclaire Rooms

Family Suite
Each Family Suite with a Private Bath features two connecting bedrooms with two to three beds, One queen bed with hypo-allergenic comforter (bedspread) and Frette Italian duvet. Desk. Dual-line phone with voice mail. Clock radio with iPod dock. Flat-screen TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Compact refrigerator. Private bathroom with shower/tub combination and Custom Hotel Belleclaire toiletries. MAXIMUM 6 PEOPLE.
Queen room with Private Bath
Each Queen Room with a Private Bath One queen bed with hypo-allergenic comforter (bedspread) and Frette Italian duvet. Desk. Dual-line phone with voice mail. Clock radio with iPod dock. Flat-screen TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Compact refrigerator. Private bathroom with shower/tub combination and Custom Hotel Belleclaire toiletries.
Standard Room
Relax in our full beds adorned with frette linens, I-pod docking station (am/fm, clock radio), dual-line telephones with external voicemail-access, 32 inch flat-screen LG-HDTV with premium Direct-TV channels and pay-per-movie options, compact refrigerator, shower (no tub), custom toiletries, and best of all: COMPLIMENTARY WI-FI from your room!
Parlor Suite
The Suite Life Refresh: Stylish and well-appointed one-bedroom Parlor Suites feature a separate living area that includes a convertible full-sized sleeper sofa, Hudson River/ city views, sleek laminate-wood floors, marble-top desks, and custom dcor fused with rich earth tones. Upon arrival, receive Le Belge Chocolates, bottled water, slippers, and USA Today. Retreat: When rest and relaxation are desired, take comfort in plush king-size bedding adorned with luxurious Frette linens, down comforters*, and enchanting Hudson River/ city views. Rejuvenate: Complimentary gourmet Gillie's Coffee and Bromley Teas served fresh daily in our lobby (7a.m.-12p.m.). Suites are equipped with I-pod docking stations (clock radio), laptop safes, cordless dual-line phones with external voicemail-access, two 32 inch flat-screen LG-HDTV's with premium Direct-TV channels, pay-per-movie options, compact refrigerator, custom toiletries, and COMPLIMENTARY wireless internet! *hypoallergenic
Double/Double with Private Bath
Each Double/ Double Room features two full size beds with hypo-allergenic comforter (bedspread) and Frette Italian duvet. Desk. Dual-line phone with voice mail. Clock radio with iPod dock. Flat-screen TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Compact refrigerator. Private bathroom with shower/tub combination and Custom Hotel Belleclaire toiletries.
Broadway King
Our Broadway King room is 20 feet in diameter, boasting spectacular 180 degree Broadway views. Sophisticated Style Decorated in a palette of rich espresso and subtle earth tones, our unique round room exudes a modern and contemporary feel. Exquisitely Furnished Upscale furnishings compliment the Broadway King; featuring a leather headboard set amid leather platform panels, custom granite top desk, plush lounge chair, and sleek laminate-wood floors. Rejuvenate Complimentary gourmet Gillie's Coffee and Bromley Teas served fresh daily in our lobby (7 a.m. - 12 p.m.).

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Belleclaire also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7827 -73.9813
Area served
New York City
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy , La Guardia Airports
Area description
Located in the heart of the Upper West Side of Manhattan just off Broadway on 77th street, the recently renovated (2001) Belleclaire Hotel is near the best restaurants and stores in New York City.

Nearby points of interest

  • Verdi Square: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.4 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Beresford: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.6 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.6 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.4 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Beresford: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.6 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.6 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.7 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.7 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.7 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.9 mi
  • Central Park: 0.9 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.9 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.9 mi
  • Broadway: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 1 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 1.1 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Frick Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 1.1 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Academy: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 1.2 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 1.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (296)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Belleclaire

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
296 out of 296
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MeredithLamb
NYC
May 20, 2013

Perfect!

This was just what I was looking for, and it exceeded our expectations! Staff were very friendly and for the price, the value couldn't get any better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
robinjbs61
Richmond, VA, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Great hotel near Central Park!

My husband, daughter, and I enjoyed a wonderful weekend in NYC with this hotel as our home base. The staff was very helpful and the room was very clean. It's located about 1/2 mile from Central Park, 2 blocks from a subway station, and right around the corner from a market and a really good pizza and burger joint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marshall, TX
Oct 11, 2011

Black Mold and Lies via Email

Before checking in, I asked (after their much boasted remodel) if my room would have a room safe. Their Answer: every room has a safe. Actuality: they don't. When questioned on this via email, no response to date has been sent. BAD customer service to either respond or apologize. Front desk is unapologetic on this. When preparing for bed after the first night, I noticed black mold growing in the grout of the tiles in the bathroom and the caulk around the tub. The front desk seemed genuinely embarrassed, and most was cleaned up, but the window in the shower had mold that was painted over and grew back over the next couple of days. Their only seemingly apology was to leave a box of chocolates on the foot of on of the beds. The location (2 blocks from a 1 and 2 subway station along Broadway) is good, and it is midway between Central Park and a nice riverside park along the Hudson with nice brownstones to look at and take in the Upper West Side neighborhood. Great restaurants are within walking distance (Big Nicks is around the corner below the hotel, and Ocean Grill towards CPark is great). The elevators work about 80% of the time (there are 2, and 1 was broken most of the time) - thank goodness I was only on the 3rd floor. Unfortunately my window view (which they worked hard at obscuring with wood panels and non-working blinds) was into an alley and the building next door. Not at all like the picture they depict on their website of a room with 2 double beds. I go to NYC every year, and know you don't always pay for a top notch room because you will hopefully be spending your time touring the city, but I'd be fairly hard pressed to stay here again. If you want an expensive-looking "budget" room in the Upper West Side, I don't know that this is worth the value. I wanted desperately to make this my new place to stay, but the short comings on customer service and non-attentiveness to details like my health will have me researching other options next time. Great location, lack-luster service, questionable standards - too bad :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BostonLady
Boston, MA
Oct 9, 2011

Great hotel in a great location

We weren't able to get an early check-in which was a bummer but they held our bags and we went off. We came back on the later side of the evening and the official check in was great, they even upgraded us to a family suite. The hotel is a really cute boutique feel. The elevator is a bit...charming (older) but worked fine. The decor is very cute, vintagey, like if Anthropologie (the store) created a hotel hallway. The room was big for NYC (small by, i'm assuming, usual Orbitz reviewers). Two double beds, a tv and closet in one room and a king size bed, desk, tv in the other room. The bathroom was small-ish but full size tub and wasn't uncomfortable. The room definitely had "charm" (the walls seemed like they could stand to be re-done) but it felt clean and comfortable. The front of the building is under some construction so i don't really know what it looks like besides some scaffolding. The headboards were awesome red leather tufted panels. Very cool. Over all it was a great stay. The best part of this hotel is the location. You can't beat it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Museum of Natural History and Central Park are a short walk away and so much fun!

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael V
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Oct 7, 2011

Good Value Room

This is a good valued hotel for New York City for someone who is not planning on spending alot of time at their hotel. Room is small (as expected for NYC), clean, with modern fixtures/plumbing. Staff was professional, helpful and friendly. Building is older with narrow halls and small elevator. However, all were well kepted. Hotel typical for buildings of this time period. Location 2 blocks from the subway station, neighborhood appeared safe and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Your in New York City, don't spend any more time than necessary in your hotel, Enjoy.

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael V
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Oct 7, 2011

Good Value Room

This is a good valued hotel for New York City for someone who is not planning on spending alot of time at their hotel. Room is small (as expected for NYC), clean, with modern fixtures/plumbing. Staff was professional, helpful and friendly. Building is older with narrow halls and small elevator. However, all were well kepted. Hotel typical for buildings of this time period. Location 2 blocks from the subway station, neighborhood appeared safe and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Your in New York City, don't spend any more time than necessary in your hotel, Enjoy.

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
panteleimon
New York
Oct 2, 2011

Box

I go to New York a lot, first time in this hotel. The service was friendly, i checked in very late and got a room on the second floor. It was like a box.. usually you get small rooms in New York but this is ridicoulus. I did sleep very well on a full bed, room looked clean, had a little bit of everything but like a Mickey Mouse's house.. Bathroom was clean too but when i removed the towel couple of roaches run away.. It wasnt a bad experience but i dont think i will go back..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mister Camera...
New Orleans, LA, USA
Sep 18, 2011

The Belleclaire on the Upper West Side...

We were in NYC as working photographers to cover Mercedes Benz Fashion Week from Sept 8 -15 and decided to stay at the Hotel Bellclaire because of it's fairly close proximity and walking distance to Lincoln Center. We checked into our room on the third floor and it was great - a queen sized bed with comfortable accommodations and perfect for working long hours editing photos - we stayed in this room for a couple days. Then out of curiously, we inquired about the rooms on the corners of the building that are in round turret-like rooms - and we were given a key to check out one on the top floor - it was absolutely spectacular! We were given an excellent rate to upgrade that was impossible to refuse and so we relocated to the top floor, a huge corner round room with a king-sized bed with lots of windows and lots of sunlight - it was REALLY spectacular with great views up and down Broadway and Central Park several blocks away! The cleaning crew was great and the front desk personnel on the main floor were absolutely great! We will definitely be staying here again and again for both pleasure and work trips and definitely again come next Fashion Week in February 2012.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are tons of great coffee shops and restaurants within a couple blocks on Columbus Avenue. It's worth the walk.

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mister Camera...
New Orleans, LA, USA
Sep 18, 2011

The Belleclaire on the Upper West Side...

We were in NYC as working photographers to cover Mercedes Benz Fashion Week from Sept 8 -15 and decided to stay at the Hotel Bellclaire because of it's fairly close proximity and walking distance to Lincoln Center. We checked into our room on the third floor and it was great - a queen sized bed with comfortable accommodations and perfect for working long hours editing photos - we stayed in this room for a couple days. Then out of curiously, we inquired about the rooms on the corners of the building that are in round turret-like rooms - and we were given a key to check out one on the top floor - it was absolutely spectacular! We were given an excellent rate to upgrade that was impossible to refuse and so we relocated to the top floor, a huge corner round room with a king-sized bed with lots of windows and lots of sunlight - it was REALLY spectacular with great views up and down Broadway and Central Park several blocks away! The cleaning crew was great and the front desk personnel on the main floor were absolutely great! We will definitely be staying here again and again for both pleasure and work trips and definitely again come next Fashion Week in February 2012.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are tons of great coffee shops and restaurants within a couple blocks on Columbus Avenue. It's worth the walk.

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BobVW
Preston
Sep 15, 2011

Small Space

Clean, no in room cable TV guide. Small room,not to bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BobVW
Preston
Sep 15, 2011

Small Space

Clean, no in room cable TV guide. Small room,not to bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top