$33 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

Hotel Belleclaire

3 stars
250 West 77th St., New York City, NY 10024
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
296 reviews
Home Away From Home

Our stay at the Hotel Belleclaire was quite a comfortable and rewarding experience! All staff were... See full review

  • WYOMOMSUB
  • Jun 15, 2014
a lovely place to stay

the belleclaire is lovely to look at--like a french chateau in the middle of the city. the staff is... See full review

  • dc to nyc
  • Jun 10, 2014
Comfort and style go the extra mile in New York hotel

The lobby of Hotel Belleclaire is inviting and tastefully decorated along with the rest of this hotel. Guests have the use of a state of the art fitness center that has up to date equipment. A complimentary secure luggage service ensures that guests' belongings are kept organized and safe. This stylish hotel has a welcoming feel that is comfortable and accommodating with its public restrooms, guest rooms and conference facilities.

Reasons to stay
  • Located near some of the best restaurants in New York
  • Plush and comfortable interior
  • Exceptional amenities
Hotel Belleclaire Rooms

The rooms at the Hotel Belleclaire are smartly decorated with a warm and encompassing air of comfort inherent in the overall feel. Royal reds and rich wooden accents combine with spacious arrangements to create an alluring, contemporary feel. The beds in the rooms are large and comfortable with hypo-allergenic bedspreads and add to the comforting aura of the hotel. Complimentary amenities in the rooms include free high speed wireless, a clock radio with an iPod docking station, flat screen television and a compact refrigerator.

Guests will enjoy some of the more unique advertised features of the Hotel Belleclaire include the option of an overnight shoe shining service and a complimentary umbrella for the length of the stay. Children's needs are also considered and the hotel also offers the choice of a crib in the room of the guests (fee applies). Another service that the hotel offers that will appeal to families as well as other guests is the same day valet laundry; this is superb for unexpected changes that may leave someone without their desired outfit. The private bathrooms that come with the rooms are decorated to a very high standard with particular attention to cleanliness and have both a bathtub and a shower, and also come with a range of complimentary bathroom lotions and potions.

Things to do nearby
  • Central Park (1.0 mi/1.6 km)
  • Broadway theaters (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art (2.0 mi/3.2 km)
  • Times square (2.6 mi/ 4.1 km)

Hotel Belleclaire Rooms

Family Suite
Each Family Suite with a Private Bath features two connecting bedrooms with two to three beds, One queen bed with hypo-allergenic comforter (bedspread) and Frette Italian duvet. Desk. Dual-line phone with voice mail. Clock radio with iPod dock. Flat-screen TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Compact refrigerator. Private bathroom with shower/tub combination and Custom Hotel Belleclaire toiletries. MAXIMUM 6 PEOPLE.
Queen room with Private Bath
Each Queen Room with a Private Bath One queen bed with hypo-allergenic comforter (bedspread) and Frette Italian duvet. Desk. Dual-line phone with voice mail. Clock radio with iPod dock. Flat-screen TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Compact refrigerator. Private bathroom with shower/tub combination and Custom Hotel Belleclaire toiletries.
Standard Room
Relax in our full beds adorned with frette linens, I-pod docking station (am/fm, clock radio), dual-line telephones with external voicemail-access, 32 inch flat-screen LG-HDTV with premium Direct-TV channels and pay-per-movie options, compact refrigerator, shower (no tub), custom toiletries, and best of all: COMPLIMENTARY WI-FI from your room!
Parlor Suite
The Suite Life Refresh: Stylish and well-appointed one-bedroom Parlor Suites feature a separate living area that includes a convertible full-sized sleeper sofa, Hudson River/ city views, sleek laminate-wood floors, marble-top desks, and custom dcor fused with rich earth tones. Upon arrival, receive Le Belge Chocolates, bottled water, slippers, and USA Today. Retreat: When rest and relaxation are desired, take comfort in plush king-size bedding adorned with luxurious Frette linens, down comforters*, and enchanting Hudson River/ city views. Rejuvenate: Complimentary gourmet Gillie's Coffee and Bromley Teas served fresh daily in our lobby (7a.m.-12p.m.). Suites are equipped with I-pod docking stations (clock radio), laptop safes, cordless dual-line phones with external voicemail-access, two 32 inch flat-screen LG-HDTV's with premium Direct-TV channels, pay-per-movie options, compact refrigerator, custom toiletries, and COMPLIMENTARY wireless internet! *hypoallergenic
Double/Double with Private Bath
Each Double/ Double Room features two full size beds with hypo-allergenic comforter (bedspread) and Frette Italian duvet. Desk. Dual-line phone with voice mail. Clock radio with iPod dock. Flat-screen TV with premium cable channels and pay movies. Complimentary wireless Internet access. Compact refrigerator. Private bathroom with shower/tub combination and Custom Hotel Belleclaire toiletries.
Broadway King
Our Broadway King room is 20 feet in diameter, boasting spectacular 180 degree Broadway views. Sophisticated Style Decorated in a palette of rich espresso and subtle earth tones, our unique round room exudes a modern and contemporary feel. Exquisitely Furnished Upscale furnishings compliment the Broadway King; featuring a leather headboard set amid leather platform panels, custom granite top desk, plush lounge chair, and sleek laminate-wood floors. Rejuvenate Complimentary gourmet Gillie's Coffee and Bromley Teas served fresh daily in our lobby (7 a.m. - 12 p.m.).

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Room service
Services
Business center
Internet
Free internet in room
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Belleclaire also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7827 -73.9813
Area served
New York City
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy , La Guardia Airports
Area description
Located in the heart of the Upper West Side of Manhattan just off Broadway on 77th street, the recently renovated (2001) Belleclaire Hotel is near the best restaurants and stores in New York City.

Nearby points of interest

  • Verdi Square: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.4 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Beresford: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.6 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.6 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Verdi Square: 0.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Manhattan: 0.3 mi
  • Septuagesimo Uno: 0.3 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.4 mi
  • American Museum of Natural History: 0.4 mi
  • Henry Luce Nature Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Center for Earth and Space: 0.4 mi
  • New York Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Beresford: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.6 mi
  • Shakespeare Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.6 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.6 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Belvedere Castle: 0.7 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.7 mi
  • Americas Society: 0.7 mi
  • Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument: 0.7 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.7 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.8 mi
  • The Obelisk: 0.9 mi
  • Central Park: 0.9 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.9 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.9 mi
  • Broadway: 0.9 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.9 mi
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art: 1 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 1 mi
  • International Center of Photography: 1 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 1 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 1 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 1.1 mi
  • The Frick Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Frick Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Madison Avenue: 1.1 mi
  • Whitney Museum of American Art: 1.1 mi
  • Central Park Zoo: 1.1 mi
  • Guggenheim Museum: 1.2 mi
  • National Academy: 1.2 mi
  • Takashimaya: 1.2 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 1.2 mi
  • Cooper-Hewitt: 1.2 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 1.2 mi
  • Rose Museum: 1.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (296)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Belleclaire

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
296 out of 296
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zouki
Weston, FL, USA
Dec 25, 2011

Christmas Family Vacation

Staff was friendly and accommodating. We needed extra towels and they were brought up immediately. Location was great. We love the Upper West Side with easy access to subway stations and bus. Rooms were a bit small but comfortable. Overall a great place to stay for the money. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the 72nd street subway with easy access to midtown attractions.

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parade Proficient
Columbus, GA, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade NYC

The Belleclaire Hotel location is PERFECT to be near the start of the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade route. It is two blocks from the balloon inflation site and easy access to the route. There are plenty of restuarants on the side street (Broadway) and even more one block over (Amsterdam). The subway has several stations within walking distance and the surrounding neighborhood was safe for walking. The hotel is "historic" (old) but has been nicely updated. The room was boutique-sized (very small) but clean and trendy! Glass shower with new fixtures and new tile. New York hotel rooms are expensive, so the value of this room was excellent (relatively speaking). I felt like I got A LOT more than I paid for! I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the "TKTS" booth in Time Square to get discount Broadway show tickets! Make a list of 5 or 6 shows you would be willing to see. On the day of, go to the booth during the morning for matinee or after 2:00 for an evening show. There is a board showing the available shows, as not all shows are available. Luckily, our first choice was available and literally half-price of the theatre box office (I checked).

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Iowa, USA
Dec 6, 2011

First Timers Had No Problems Finding Way Around

The Hotel is well kept and vintage. Don't expect spacious ANYTHING in NY, it just doesn't exist at the prices normal people can afford. The lobby is small, but staff had us checked in and in our rooms in a flash! Even the elevators are small in NY! The room was clean, compact, bathroom clean, all fixtures worked. The window view was of a brick wall about one foot away. TV didn't work in the room. but for me was not a big deal. I was there to be out in NY, not watch TV. AT night, the radiator heat caused banging in the pipes which woke me up, but I would fall back to sleep. No traffic noise at all on third floor. Concierge was close to fantastic other than the last night when he sent two dressed up ladies to a Thai restaurant that resembled more of a cafeteria then a fine restaurant - so we just left and walked around till we found a fine Italian restaurant that was more appropriate for our plans. Ended up meeting new friends there! Overall, good value, but not over -the-top experience. Would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Get in line at the TKTS area in Times square for Broadway show tickets. Mark-up with the concierge wasf 200%.

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr Read
Silver Spring, MD, USA
Dec 1, 2011

THE SMALLEST HOTEL ROOM EVER!!!

The lobby, location and decor of the hotel are quintessential for an upper west side hotel. However, the room was the size of a walk-in closet. The flat-screen TV was 19', becuase anything bigger would have taken up too much of the room space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pgmsp
san diego
Nov 29, 2011

great location, nice comfortable bed

I stayed at Hotel Belleclaire over the Thanksgiving weekend. It is indeed in a great location to the Central Park and other NYC attractions, and a short walk to the nearest subway to Times Sq. The hotel room and amenities are excellent with comfortable bed and pillows. Free delicious coffee at the lobby each morning too! So, it's value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very near the Central Park and museums and to the subway.

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jennifer B
NC
Nov 17, 2011

Absolutely Beautiful!

It was a wonderful treat to stay in a historic building with character instead of just another chain hotel. Staff were so helpful and courteous! I also was pleasantly surprised that it was QUIET. Very elegant. The only disadvantage is it was a bit far from the site of my seminar near Harlem and also a bit far from the nightlife on the other side of Manhattan. But it was worth it to be able to "come home" to a safe neighborhood and beautiful room....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Becky B.
North Carolina, USA
Nov 13, 2011

New York Marathon

This was our second stay at Hotel Belleclaire-the staff is very friendly. The hotel is in a very nice neighborhood-great food Big Nick's right around the corner as well as a wonderful market. Just blocks away from Central and Riverside Parks. Only 11/2 blocks away from the subway. Our only wish is we could go more often.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kjandjj
Hinsdale, IL, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Great Location, helpful staff

Our hotel stay was pleasant. The staff was friendly and very eager to help. I would stay there again but would make sure the room was improved as it the lacked several comforts that should have been there for the price we paid: safe was busted, very poor lighting - none in the closet at all. No dresser or drawer - we had to live out of suitcases. Tiny bathroom with no fan so steam built up very easily, and the TV picture was grainy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
efgh
Indiana, USA
Oct 31, 2011

NYC visit

Overall I was very happy with this hotel, I knew from the NYC experience before not to expect a large room. We are in New York City!. I checked out the web site before and after I booked. The hotel noted the "extra bed if needed" as amenities along with the hair dryer and umbrella....so shame on me for assuming it was free. When I asked for the cot when we got there, no mention of the daily cost for this supposed free cot! That was my only negative comment on my visit to the Belle Claire. Overall the service was excellent and the concierge - Larry was AWESOME!! He did a great job with shows and dinner reservations every night. The subway access was only two blocks away and we easily were able to get to and from the city with no worries of anything happening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The subway was not far away. Get the metro pass and re-load with money so you can board next time as well.

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TKHawkeye
Michigan
Oct 25, 2011

Girls' Weekend

Plus: The staff was very courteous, the concierge very helpful. The room was small, old but updated some. It was conveniently located close to the subway and local eateries - a plus. The beds were comfortable and overall not a bad hotel. Critique: The edges of the flooring had a layer of dirt built-up from no cleaning close to the trim. The bathroom window sill had cracked paint and was also dirty. The radiator came on super hot in spite of 60 degree weather - had to keep trying to close the valve. We had to use the window air-conditioner to keep the room cool enough to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We took advantage of the City Sites hop-on, hop-off double-decker bus tour. Very well worth the money spent. We saw and learned so much of NYC in a short time (2-hour tour) and it made our choices in where to go much easier.

Back to menu Return to top