$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Hotel Belleclaire

3 stars
View map of 250 West 77th St., New York City, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Belleclaire

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JBD6836295
Williamsburg, VA
Jun 7, 2012

Best value in NYC!

I was extremely pleased with this hotel, especially for the price. The rooms were recently renovated with hardwood floors - so nice not to have to walk on dank old carpet! The beds were extremely comfortable and the room was HUGE by NYC standards. There was some construction going on in the lobby, but it was no bother, at all. Plus, a perfectly clean record on the bed bug registry. I will absolutely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parade Proficient
Business
Columbus, GA, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade NYC

The Belleclaire Hotel location is PERFECT to be near the start of the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade route. It is two blocks from the balloon inflation site and easy access to the route. There are plenty of restuarants on the side street (Broadway) and even more one block over (Amsterdam). The subway has several stations within walking distance and the surrounding neighborhood was safe for walking. The hotel is "historic" (old) but has been nicely updated. The room was boutique-sized (very small) but clean and trendy! Glass shower with new fixtures and new tile. New York hotel rooms are expensive, so the value of this room was excellent (relatively speaking). I felt like I got A LOT more than I paid for! I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the "TKTS" booth in Time Square to get discount Broadway show tickets! Make a list of 5 or 6 shows you would be willing to see. On the day of, go to the booth during the morning for matinee or after 2:00 for an evening show. There is a board showing the available shows, as not all shows are available. Luckily, our first choice was available and literally half-price of the theatre box office (I checked).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jackied412
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Basic and convenient

Although I only stayed in this hotel for one night, I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for the price! It was comfortable and in a convenient location, and the staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grob
Business
Salt Lake City
Jan 5, 2012

New Years Vacation

Good location! Hotel is off the beaten path but is close to all transportation Please do research on transit system before you arrive. The metro (subway) is a cheap, awesome way to travel. You can go almost anywhere with the metro or bus & it's faster and cheaper than a taxi. Hotel location is walking distance from Central Park. Small rooms but cozy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great city, Morning coffee at hotel but no breakfast. Short walk to all types of restaurants.The hotel staff can answer most questions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mod1
Business
Central, New Jersey
Jan 11, 2012

Ladies Getwaway Dream!

Myself and 3 girlfriends stayed here for 1 night to attend a talk show the next morning. The room was small, but we expected that. The STAFF was unbelievably professional and hospitable! Marian checked us in, and there was nothing she couldn't do for us. Jose was our porter, and the same for him. The valet parking was so convenient and reasonable, and the car was waiting for us in front of the hotel, along with our bags, when we were ready to leave. Would definitely recommend and stay there again! Great neighborhood!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

PJ Clarkes, in the Empire Hotel for drinks and fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
brazzguy
Business
Cherry Hill, NJ, USA
Jan 26, 2012

Very nice job for the money.

We were attending a wedding on the upper West side. We went to the Internet to research hotels because we were not familiar with them. Found a nice price with good reviews, and were well pleased. What we found was a compact, older New York style hotel, that had been nicely renovated. The rooms were tight but not extremely so. Bathroom was small but had recently been completely updated. We took the train into New York, and the subway up to the hotel. Access to times square was a simple subway ride away .My wife and I agreed that we would go back there if we ever needed a New York hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rubyred
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff

I stayed at the Belleclaire for 6 nights for business. This is a great location that is within blocks of 2 subway lines or you can easily catch a taxi on Broadway. Many restaurants are within walking distance and a food market is just around the corner. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful as well as the concierge and door man. Since I was in NYC for a week, I appreciated the small refrigerator in the room as well as the free wi fi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Midwest Phil
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 6, 2012

Great Hotel

I loved staying at the Belleclaire. The room was clean, very well-furnished -- and small, but that's to be expected in NYC. The hotel stuff was nice. The concierge helped us out with theater tickets. It's in a safe area in beautiful Upper West Side, and just two blocks from the subway. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I liked the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
happybusinesstraveler
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Feb 15, 2012

Another Great Trip!

I stayed at the Hotel Belleclaire again for business and was very satisfied with my stay. Even through lobby renovations, the hotel was comfortable and the staff made sure that their temporary alternative "guest lounge" was stocked with coffee, tea, water, newspapers, etc. I am always happy when I stay at HB!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Forget Madison Ave., just walk up 77th to Columbus and you're in (less crowded!) shopping heaven.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Igorex
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Very nice hotel

Very very very comfortable bed. Close to Central Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go when weather is nice

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mummy D
Business
England, UK
Mar 11, 2012

second and not last time

I have stayed at this hotel for the last 2 years running for a shopping and sightseeing trip. It is very good value for money. The staff are fantastic, very friendly and accomodating. There were refurbishments in place on the lobby area but this was more than compensated for by the fact that a suite had been set aside for guest with hot drinks, bottled water and snacks to help yourself to, I thought this was a welocme 'touch' On valentines day they had cakes, cookies, muffins etc and the most amazing hot chocolate brought in by a specialist company. I will defintely go back to the Belleclaire

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I cannot remember the name of the asian restaurant we visited close by - it is 1 minute walk on the way up the block to 78th street. Basic decor and interior but excellent food. Alternativel walk over to Amsterdam and there is a massive choice of restaurants there

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top