$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Hotel Belleclaire

3 stars
View map of 250 West 77th St., New York City, NY 10024

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Belleclaire

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
277 out of 277
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Forrest M
Business
Rio Rancho
Apr 16, 2015

Decent Stay For My Business Trip

The hotel was clean and looked nice. The bed was very comfortable, the desk sturdy, the TV well placed, and it was nice having an in-room safe. The room was small, but that is expected for Manhattan. The staff was always friendly and was usually quick to act on my inquiries and requests. I did, however, have a few issues. From the first night, the shower door would not close properly. Since it wouldn't seal, any water that hit the door (or condensation that formed on the door) would drip (pour really) onto the floor. I had to keep a towel on the floor outside the shower stall to keep half of the bathroom from being covered in water. With a towel only about a quarter was covered, and to clean it up required 2 towels or 1 towel wrung out at least 3 times. I finally remember to tell the staff after the 2nd night of this. It was like that until the day I left (6 night stay). The second night there I noticed two buttons on the TV remote stopped working. While this in itself would not be worth mentioning the fact that it was never replaced is. I told them at the same time I told them about the shower. The wireless was absolutely worthless. When I was just browsing web pages it was quite slow, but still worked. However, when I tried to do anything beyond that... well I couldn't. I was unable to connect to the PC at my office. The connection would drop within seconds of connecting (when it actually connected). At one point I tried joining my wife on a game (digital board game, very low in resources) and I wasn't even able to do that. I attempted to go through their paid internet however, I'm not sure it really exists. I was told the system wasn't set up to actually charge the rooms. At first I thought this just meant the better wireless was free, but after working with it I think that meant there is no better wireless. While this issue was rectified without any fuss I felt I needed to mention it. I called the front desk on the 2nd day with a question on their wireless. They had to forward me to their tech support to get it resolved. When I looked the next day, there was a long distance call charged to my room. The front desk did confirm that the number that was called was in fact the company they get their wireless through. There is little to no sound proofing in the rooms. The street noises carry up to the room (esp. the fire engine from the station on 77th that has to go through the intersection next to the hotel). Luckily the noises died down late at night so it didn't affect my sleep. In addition the doors into the hallways do not block much sound. Walking down the hallway you can hear people talking in their rooms (talking, not yelling), moving furniture, closing/opening doors, pretty much everything. Overall it wasn't a horrible experience. I wouldn't choose to stay there again, however, if there was a deal through a booking site that makes it cheaper than other comparable places in the area I would consider staying again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alicia A.
Friends
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Hotel Belleclaire

The size of the room was impressive compared to other hotels I've stayed in in NY. The lady at the front desk taught me how to use the subway which was really helpful. Everyone I encountered was super friendly and the location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
john c.
Family
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Did the job...

This Hotel is located at the junction of 77th & Broadway and is fairly close to many amenities. There is a subway near by and plaenty of shops/cafes within walking distance. Central Park is a ten minute walk away. As regards restaurants and pubs: it is just a block (to the East) away from Amsterdam where there is a good selection of bars and reasonably priced eating houses. I would recommend these much more than trying to find somewhere near Times Square of an evening! Hotel staff & facilities are generally fine but the rooms need updating i.e. clanky radiators & temporary sealing over windows. Decent base but you wouldn't wish to spend too much time in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Teresa
Single
Easley
Apr 6, 2015

Short Trip

The hotel staff are so nice. The room I booked was way too warm and I could not get it cooled down so the hotel staff happily moved me to another cooler room. Great Service and Friendly accommodating staff!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paul B.
Business
N/A
Mar 26, 2015

Good Upper West Side Choice

A good hotel in a great location. Coffee shops, cafes, restaurants abound. Subway two blocks away. Ditto Central Park. The hotel is an historic building that has been nicely renovated, although the steam heat radiators can be tricky to regulate in winter. The mini-refrigerators in the rooms are nice, but an in-room coffee maker would be even nicer. So would drawer space for clothing storage. They do sell morning coffee and pastries in the lobby, and the free wireless is a plus.. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K Bunny
Couples
Monaca
Mar 22, 2015

Excellent Boutique Hotel

Hotel, located in a bustling neighborhood, offers large, pleasantly decorated rooms that have been updated and new bathrooms.Closet space is plentiful and has an in-room safe. Service is prompt and efficient and rooms are kept spotlessly clean. Heating and air conditioning were fine.The Metro is one block away, and bus stops are conveniently nearby. Good restaurants abound with variety in price and food. We have stayed before and will stay again because it's a bargain for New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dng2000
Single
N/A
Mar 22, 2015

Very convenient location

Very convenient location near all the actions. Very close to the subway and very close to places to eat and hang out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brandon
Business
Basking Ridge
Mar 11, 2015

Very nice hotel

Great hotel right on broadway. Close to lots of shopping and food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sal D.
Family
Tewksbury
Mar 11, 2015

Not bad

Hotel was fine. Needed some repairs, mostly appearance, not function but the heater was too hot and no way to turn it down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel Belleclaire

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
April C.
Family
decatur
Mar 10, 2015

Family trip

The front desk was pleasant and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfy. Easy access to everything that we wanted to see and do. The only thing that I don't recommend is the continental breakfast bar area. Their service was bad to begin with and then I had to experience one of the rudest guests. But aside from that, we had a great time. My husband had to fly to NY for a second visit and returned to the same hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top