$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 31, 2015

Hotel 17

2 stars
View map of 225 East 17th Street, New York, NY 10003

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel 17

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
288 out of 288
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KatefromChicago
Business
Chicago
May 6, 2013

Doing It Again!

The hotel room was quiet. We never ran into another person in the hall when using the shared shower/bathroom facilities. And the staff was very accommodating. They switched our room for us upon request. Coming back! Love the neighborhood!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Momofuku on 2nd. The most amazing dining experience I've ever had!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Consett's Bulb Heed
Business
Consett, UK
May 2, 2013

Hassle Free Stay!

Nice staff, room, amenities, location and building. Hassel free checking in and out. I would recommend this place. The bathrooms are shared, but its not a problem. Could do with kettles in the rooms, otherwise well impressed! As a solo traveller, my single bed room was just the job.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a 7 day unlimited bus & subway pass! They called Metrocard and are $31 as of 25.04.13. Excellent value and an excellent way to get around the city!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Teach it
Business
Chicago
May 1, 2013

Not bad for an economy hotel in NYC...

The location was the saving grace for Hotel 17. The room was okay- one full sized bed for two adults was a bit tight. Also, the shared bathrooms were clean, but, well, shared. Skimpy towels which were never replaces, and no maid service in the rooms during the stay. Nice, international flavor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several nice and reasonably priced resturaunts in the general Union Square area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tizz
Business
uk
Apr 11, 2013

Great budget option

No frills but perfectly located for exploring New York in every direction on foot. Great bars, cafes and restaurants on Union Square. Sometimes a faff getting into shower in morning but we got timing right in the end!! Would definitely use again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BrentB
Business
Maryland
Apr 10, 2013

SIngle room

Small but adequate and clean. Good location to Union Square!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tongtong
Business
Ithaca
Apr 6, 2013

Good location for traveling

The staff are very nice and friendly. And it locates only few blocks from the main subways. The only part bothered me when I stayed there is the single room has water pipe sound every 5 min.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shiki
Business
NJ
Mar 10, 2013

Nice hotel

The hotel looks clean and elegant. We have three people and we get a room with a twin bed and a king size bed, while there is not much spare space. Restrooms are not in the room but they are always available and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Baroness elsa
Business
San Francisco
Feb 26, 2013

Great location. Clean and safe

Enjoyed my stay but the steam heat was too much for me. I couldn't open a window and it was too hot with the bed Up against the radiator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

FRIGID Fest. Theatre festival in thevneighborhood Feb/March

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chalicity
Business
Indiana
Feb 25, 2013

Convenience and Comfort at a low Cost.

Stayed at Hotel 17 because it was close to my weekend Career Fair at Altman building and had Wifi. Walk-able distance to the Union Square subway station (and many restaurants and taverns) made it very convenient, and the staff was super friendly and helpful (even went out of their way to print something for me before my event). No problem with shared bathrooms, and the rooms were quiet and comfortable. I definitely recommend this!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel 17

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Budget traveling father
Business
Delmar, NY, USA
Feb 18, 2013

Another great stay

A night in New York City was my wife's Christmas present so, of course, I reserved a room at Hotel 17. We love the location, the price and the atmosphere of the hotel. Sharing a bathroom is really no problem at all. I didn't have to wait once and the bathroom itself was very clean. When I noticed water leaking from the base of the toilet bowl (or was it from the tank?), I called the main desk and they dealt with it immediately. We arrived before check-in and they gladly took our bags so we could walk around the city and when we checked out they took the bags again so we could pick them up later. We use a parking garage around the corner for our car. If you are looking for comfortable lodging at a great price in a hotel that has charm and a courteous, helpful and even cheery staff, Hotel 17 can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

High Line walkway is very close and worth a visit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top