$151 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

3 stars
440 West 57th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
665 reviews
1st time in New York

My first time in New York was wonderful. I was a little worried seeing as I booked my hotel just... See full review

  • Jayasten
  • Jul 21, 2014
Excellent Location

It was our first time in New York City, and we loved it!! the hotel is perfectly located, Central... See full review

  • igforero
  • Jul 15, 2014
Nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood, The Holiday Inn Midtown 57th Street is conveniently located to famous New York attractions. Just three blocks from Central Park and Carnegie Hall with Lincoln Center nearby. Situated within the Theater District, a Broadway show is a moment away. Fabulous shopping at Tiffany's, Niketown, Fifth Avenue, and 57th Street boutiques.JFK Airport and LaGuardia Airport are only 45 minutes away from this Manhattan hotel location.

Hotel Map

40.7687 -73.9875
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 12.00, MI, E; Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.00, MI, NW; LaGuardia, (LGA), 8.00, MI, W;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.4 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.7 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.7 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.7 mi

Dining

Gotham Cafe
American and Continental breakfast available . Italian and American cuisine available for dinner.
Skylight Lounge
Open Noon until Midnight.
Mercury Bar
Swap stories with the locals where the wine and the talk flow until the early morning hours. Hang out and delight in the true flavor of Old Hells Kitchen. Watch in awe as your sports heroes from the world of baseball, basketball, football, hockey and Euro

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (665)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 665
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Crusader
Ithaca, New York
Jul 26, 2014

Solo travelling

I visit NYC several times a year, frequently for 1-2 days. This hotel has a very good location as is close to everything in Manhattan, but not in the middle of the big "noise". Close to several nice family restaurants and Central Park. Easy check in and out and offers an average, but filling, breakfast buffet. It has 3 elevators, but when there is an avalanche of tourists it may take awhile to squeeze into them to go up or down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Central Park!

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jayasten
Atlanta
Jul 21, 2014

1st time in New York

My first time in New York was wonderful. I was a little worried seeing as I booked my hotel just one day before my trip, but the holiday inn definitely impressed me. When I first walked in I actually made a comment to the concierge in regards to how pleasantly surprised I was. I was looking to not spend a ton of money, and I know when you got cheap usually you get what you pay for. This hotel was very nice in a great area, only a block from Central Park. My room although small, was well maintained very clean and I had a great view. The only somewhat bad comment I can make on this hotel review is like I said I had a great view but my balcony door was duct taped shut so I was not able to go outside and enjoy it. All in all it was a great experience, and I'm definitely staying here again when I come back to New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The corner is a great burger spot we can customize your hamburgers.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
grad visitor
los angeles, CA
Apr 17, 2014

great for short stay

if you're here for a short stay then they will have all you need. the staff was very helpful in providing transportation information and such. other than that, it was a pretty normal ordinary hotel but the people made the stay enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent NYC visitor 16
NJ
Mar 27, 2014

Very Large Room

Had room w/ King bed, exceptionally large for NYC. And with sink/vanity outside bath/toilet area would be good for sharing.Location used to be pretty far off beaten path, but with development in area now fine. Few blocks from many subway lines that converge at Columbus circle. Large rooftop swimming pool would be great for families in summer-unusual in NYC. Attentive friendly staff. I was there off-season and got good rate and no crowds, not sure how would be when full and busy. Very large complex with 2 connected bldgs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Diner at 9th and 57th has great early dinner specials. Small friendly place-excellent value.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nvcfn
nyc
Feb 27, 2014

nigthlife

Great location and value to enjoy the nigthlife close too midtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dentistgirl
Kentucky
Feb 8, 2014

Great for business trips

The staff was friendly and helpful. I was satisfied

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Back to Balti
New York
Dec 22, 2013

Last Minute Overnight in NYC

Quick efficient check-in, helpful friendly staff, perfectly clean. all the neccesities covered, fantastic value for Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
john michael the 1st
sf,ca
Aug 22, 2013

good location

average-close to Lincoln center pool was cool close to bus and subway

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

dizzy's Coca-Cola jazz club

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rob8
Boston
May 8, 2013

dirty and history of bedbugs

I would not stay here due to cleanliness and history of bedbugs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel All The Time 88
New York
Apr 7, 2013

Where Do I Start

About the rooms. Peeling wall paper. No ability to control the room temp other than on or off. Carpet is obviously 20+ years old and don't let the staff fool you about the renovations. There is no way they plan on spending that kind of money to update the hotel. Plus the construction starts at 8 AM. I didn't appreciate the window washing rig outside my room while they were drilling into the concrete walls. The dampers that keep the doors from slamming in the guest rooms are worn out so get ready to be woken up throughout the night since the bars don't close until 4 AM. The doors are paper thin so the yelling voices of cleaning staff in the hallway are very pronounced at 7 in the morning. Also, you get harassed by housekeeping in the mornings if you don't want your room cleaned. Quote "If I don't clean your room I don't get paid". Let's now talk about the Skylight lounge. Ownership should tell the bartending staff that they should pay more attention the customers rather than playing with their smart phones. The food that is served is slow to your table and good luck on getting it warm. The food obviously is all frozen. Pigs in a blank, yuck! Salmon burger, yuck! Gotham burger, yuck! They even gave me a miniature bottle of Mayo that had been opened and used by another customer then put back in stock. Gotham café does not have a great breakfast and you constantly have to flag down the staff to get any attention. Not staying here again especially at such a high price! InterContinental Hotels Group should revoke this locations license on the Holiday Inn name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search