$134 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

3 stars
440 WEST 57TH STREET, NEW YORK CITY, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
1,012 reviews
Great Weekend Visit

Very friendly staff, bartender was awesome!!! Great location. See full review

  • Jada1226
  • Mar 31, 2014
jollys

Arrived we had a room on the 4th floor on the front we could here the traffic but after a day round... See full review

  • Spalady5
  • Mar 17, 2014
Founded in 1952, the Holiday Inn chain has earned a reputation for offering family-friendly hotels, and the Holiday Inn New York City-Midtown-57th Street is no exception. Spacious rooms comfortably host parents and kids alike, and casual dining is available at Gotham Cafe. Head up to the roof for a swim in the pool, which faces the iconic architecture of New York, or make use of modern exercise equipment at the fitness center. Chill at the Skylight Lounge to end your New York days on an evening high note.

Key facts
  • 600 guestrooms
  • 4 conference and event spaces
  • 18 floors
  • Outdoor pool
  • Gym/fitness center
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurant: Gotham Cafe
  • Skylight Lounge
  • Wi-Fi
  • Kids Eat Free
  • ATM
Neighborhood
This high-rise, full-service hotel is nestled in a quiet residential area just a short walk away from the 59th Street/Columbus Circle subway station, from which visitors can go practically anywhere in the city. Because it's tucked away, the hotel offers a tranquil location, but guests can still access some of the best attractions in Midtown Manhattan on foot, including Central Park, Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, the Empire State Building, Grand Central Station and the Theater District.
Hints and tips
If you are staying in New York on a budget, the Holiday Inn's - kids eat free- policy ensures that you can afford to dine out minus the pricey Big Apple check.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
White board
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7687 -73.9875
Nearby airports
LaGuardia, (LGA), 8.00, MI; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 12.00, MI, E; Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.4 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.7 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.7 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.7 mi

Dining

Gotham Cafe
American and Continental breakfast available . Italian and American cuisine available for dinner.
Skylight Lounge
Open Noon until Midnight.
Mercury Bar
Swap stories with the locals where the wine and the talk flow until the early morning hours. Hang out and delight in the true flavor of Old Hells Kitchen. Watch in awe as your sports heroes from the world of baseball, basketball, football, hockey and Euro

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1012)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 1012
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
johny wall street
Business
nj
Jul 4, 2014

Nt bad for what it is

AC not great and elevator takes about 5 minutes to get to you...but other then that its fine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

good location

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel NYC
Business
Vermont
Jul 1, 2014

Business trip

I was pleasantly surprised at the seemingly recently renovated lobby and spacious king-sized room. It was an ideal location for my work appointments near Times Square, Lincoln Center, and the Upper West Side. My only disappointment were the rooftop outdoor pool hours: 10 am 6 pm. In hazy, hot NYC in the summer, it would be nice to have the pool open later in the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DG in VA
Business
Arlington, VA
May 11, 2014

Standard hotel in a good location

This Holiday Inn was perfectly placed for a business meeting I had two blocks away. The hotel itself was only OK; the room looked a little shabby and the heating/AC unit was loud (although the white noise was a blessing in disguise when a party down the hall spilled over into the hallway occasionally). The price seemed standard for this part of New York City, but there was nothing outstanding about it for that price. Surprisingly good: the shower. Surprisingly odd: the house music playing at the hotel bar & grill. No, Holiday Inn, you are not a club. I'll take my soup to go, thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Conference voyager
Business
MA
Apr 7, 2014

Ordinary stay

What helps this review was that I was attending a conference and the hotel staff stored my personal luggage before I could officially check in to the hotel. However, the front desk were not the friendliest (when I came back to retrieve my items, I had the ticket in hand and the staff told me to other attendants. When I said that I also needed to check in to my room, she then assisted me). The room was comfortable, but was located in a loud area (for one, I could hear people flushing their toilets). In the morning, my shower didn't work but I quickly got help from a technician; it was a loose handle. At the last night I wanted to order room service, but decided against it, given the condition of everything else. Overall, it fit my needs but it was not a smooth 2-night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Havilah
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Mar 10, 2014

Great Hotel

Hotel is nice, they do need to add micro wave, and refrigerator for quick meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Enjoy the walk to different location to experience all of NYC.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AngieNYC
Business
NYC
Feb 28, 2014

Great Hotel

Great Hotel, close by to Javits Center (short cab ride)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
krakenicus
Business
Mexico City, Mexico
Feb 14, 2014

Not bad for the price and real close Central Park

Clean rooms, friendly staff and A great location. It's a nice little hotel that's good for what you need in New York. Just don't go to the restaurant; it is rather mediocre.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NA Business Traveler
Business
Miami Florida
Jan 18, 2014

great value

good location in mid-town with larger rooms than the typical NY room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Opus and Bill
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 12, 2014

Large room - small price

Sent five night and will totally be going back next visit. The room was one of the largest I have ever had in Manhattan and the price was exceptional. Very clean room. Parking was onsite and only $27;day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JRap
Business
Boston
Dec 17, 2013

excellent

I enjoyed the hotel very much.The room and the location is an excellent one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top