$295 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 11, 2015 Check-out: Sep 13, 2015

Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

3 stars
View map of 440 West 57th Street, New York, NY 10019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
654 reviews
Great Stay

Great stay. Room was very clean. Enormous hotel. Excellent location and I would highly recommend... See full review

  • Elizabeth P.
  • Aug 1, 2015
overnight stay

We had to spend a night in the city and this was the best deal that we could find. Wasn't very much... See full review

  • Natalie M.
  • Jun 8, 2015
If you are staying in New York on a budget, the Holiday Inn's - kids eat free- policy ensures that you can afford to dine out minus the pricey Big Apple check.
General
Holiday Inn New York City-Midtown-57th St., New York
Location
Founded in 1952, the Holiday Inn chain has earned a reputation for offering family-friendly hotels, and the Holiday Inn New York City-Midtown-57th Street is no exception. Spacious rooms comfortably host parents and kids alike, and casual dining is available at Gotham Cafe. Head up to the roof for a swim in the pool, which faces the iconic architecture of New York, or make use of modern exercise equipment at the fitness center. Chill at the Skylight Lounge to end your New York days on an evening high note.

Dining
  • 600 guestrooms
  • 4 conference and event spaces
  • 18 floors
  • Outdoor pool
  • Gym/fitness center
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurant: Gotham Cafe
  • Skylight Lounge
  • Wi-Fi
  • Kids Eat Free
  • ATM
Rooms
This high-rise, full-service hotel is nestled in a quiet residential area just a short walk away from the 59th Street/Columbus Circle subway station, from which visitors can go practically anywhere in the city. Because it's tucked away, the hotel offers a tranquil location, but guests can still access some of the best attractions in Midtown Manhattan on foot, including Central Park, Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, the Empire State Building, Grand Central Station and the Theater District.
Highlights

This New York hotel, located in the heart of bustling Manhattan, is just a short walk from some of the most famous sights in New York City, such as Carnegie Hall, Central Park and the Lincoln Center, and the Holiday Inn is also close to Columbus Circle. With the centralized location of the hotel, you can shop at Tiffany's and catch a Broadway show, both of which are within walking distance.

Explore all of New York City, and return to the rooftop pool and in-house Gotham Cafe for a quick bite. This midtown location is also surrounded by MTA stops, so you can get around all of New York City with ease. Both LaGuardia Airport (LGA) and John F. Kennedy International (JFK) are within a 45-minute drive of the Holiday Inn. This historic hotel also provides valet parking.

Policies
If you are staying in New York on a budget, the Holiday Inn's - kids eat free- policy ensures that you can afford to dine out minus the pricey Big Apple check.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST. also booked these hotels.

★★★
$114
3.6 / 5 1,363 reviews
★★★
$109
3.5 / 5 245 reviews
★★★★
$134
3.7 / 5 187 reviews
★★
$83
2.6 / 5 1,014 reviews
★★★
$100
3.8 / 5 163 reviews
★★★
$140
3.3 / 5 244 reviews
★★★★
$155
4.0 / 5 210 reviews
★★★
$125
4.1 / 5 212 reviews
★★★
$130
3.7 / 5 186 reviews

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • New York Coliseum: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • New York Coliseum: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.4 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Neil Simon Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.7 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.7 mi

Dining

Gotham Cafe
American and Continental breakfast available . Italian and American cuisine available for dinner.
Skylight Lounge
Open Noon until Midnight.
Mercury Bar
Swap stories with the locals where the wine and the talk flow until the early morning hours. Hang out and delight in the true flavor of Old Hells Kitchen. Watch in awe as your sports heroes from the world of baseball, basketball, football, hockey and Euro

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 654
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amanda F.
Business
Immaculata
Jun 21, 2015

A great location

This hotel was lovely and at a great location in the city. It does not offer free breakfast, but there is a restaurant in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andy T.
Business
N/A
Mar 19, 2015

Very clean, comfortable

Holiday Inn certainly met my expectations. Staff was friendly and helpful, good location for my business trip. I would definitely stay with them again. Very satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dino m.
Business
Deerfield Beach
Mar 13, 2015

Business Trip

The hotel worked out very well --- it was located right near where I had business and the staff and overall accommodations were very good. I would certainly recommend this Holiday Inn to my colleagues as it was a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alice Shoe Lover
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

NOT HAPPY!!!

My husband & I stayed two weekends, (one after another). The first weekend wasn't too bad, the room was extremely small with a very small bathroom. I asked about a refrigerator for the second weekend. I was told there would be a $10 charge per night unless it was for medical reasons. I asked if I needed a note for the next weekend. I was told it wasn't needed just tell them when we registered.The second weekend, we were given a handicapped room. Needless to say, no counters in the bathroom. We made due with a suitcase on the luggage rack.(unacceptable). I was told I needed proof that there would be no charge for the refrigerator. I made one using the ice bucket. The room was very hot, I was told I couldn't regulate the temperature. Only choice is on or off or I could open a window. It was snowing. The first weekend I was able to have cool or warm air. I was told it was impossible I must be mistaken. I will NEVER stay at this place again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Engelbert Hotel
Business
new york
Mar 2, 2015

staying at hotell

I had a nice time at the hotel. Like a casino without the casino. No free breakfast. Booo! Hisss! Very touristy. Nice mints. Big rooms. No bugs. Cheap rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R S.
Business
Valley Center
Feb 9, 2015

Great Value

A great surprise in a last minute trip ... What a value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Donte C.
Business
Randallstown
Jan 26, 2015

Fashion Market Week Trip

I stayed for Fashion market week where I went to several events over a span of 3 days. The location wasn't convenient or inconvenient at the same time. It was about 15 blocks away from one venue, 5 from another and the last site was in SoHo. Also, the subway stop was a few more blocks away than preferred but still not bad. The area it is in is pretty good. Down the street from CBS, a few blocks from Comedy Central's Nightly Show and food places all around. Not far from Central Park either. The hotel was nice, the room was a great size for the price, especially in New York. Bed was huge, nice TV, bathroom good size as well. Only real complaint was my WiFi wasn't strong in my room so I had to use my phone if I needed internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nancy B.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

I cant wait to do this again!

The hotel was in a great location and if I wanted to stay in, there was plenty right on site...the bar, the cafe, the gym, the shop, (the pool in summer) I would definitely come back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dmytro K.
Business
Las Cruces
Dec 29, 2014

Busines trip

The hotel was not that bad. The location is really good. Everything was clean. The stuff has try to be more polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
goatguy
Business
Miami FL
Jul 12, 2014

great location at a good price

Overall very good. The only problem is that the air conditioning was barely acceptable. I only was in the room in the morning and at night, but I wouldn't want to be in there during the heat of a summer's day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top