$86 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 21, 2015

Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

3 stars
440 West 57th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
682 reviews
1st time in New York

My first time in New York was wonderful. I was a little worried seeing as I booked my hotel just... See full review

  • Jayasten
  • Jul 21, 2014
Excellent Location

It was our first time in New York City, and we loved it!! the hotel is perfectly located, Central... See full review

  • igforero
  • Jul 15, 2014
Founded in 1952, the Holiday Inn chain has earned a reputation for offering family-friendly hotels, and the Holiday Inn New York City-Midtown-57th Street is no exception. Spacious rooms comfortably host parents and kids alike, and casual dining is available at Gotham Cafe. Head up to the roof for a swim in the pool, which faces the iconic architecture of New York, or make use of modern exercise equipment at the fitness center. Chill at the Skylight Lounge to end your New York days on an evening high note.

Key facts
  • 600 guestrooms
  • 4 conference and event spaces
  • 18 floors
  • Outdoor pool
  • Gym/fitness center
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurant: Gotham Cafe
  • Skylight Lounge
  • Wi-Fi
  • Kids Eat Free
  • ATM
Neighborhood
This high-rise, full-service hotel is nestled in a quiet residential area just a short walk away from the 59th Street/Columbus Circle subway station, from which visitors can go practically anywhere in the city. Because it's tucked away, the hotel offers a tranquil location, but guests can still access some of the best attractions in Midtown Manhattan on foot, including Central Park, Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, the Empire State Building, Grand Central Station and the Theater District.
Hints and tips
If you are staying in New York on a budget, the Holiday Inn's - kids eat free- policy ensures that you can afford to dine out minus the pricey Big Apple check.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.4 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.7 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.7 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.7 mi

Dining

Gotham Cafe
American and Continental breakfast available . Italian and American cuisine available for dinner.
Skylight Lounge
Open Noon until Midnight.
Mercury Bar
Swap stories with the locals where the wine and the talk flow until the early morning hours. Hang out and delight in the true flavor of Old Hells Kitchen. Watch in awe as your sports heroes from the world of baseball, basketball, football, hockey and Euro

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (682)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
682 out of 682
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
youknowwhoiam
Business
Great state
May 26, 2009

Front desk receptionist needs training!

I'll start off by saying the hotel location is unbeatable. With that being said however, the staff at the front desk particularly this woman named [...] was horrible. Unfriendly and downright a [*] this eastern european woman with a thick accent and even a thicker skull made people wait in line over 20 minutes just to check out while she was pretending to be busy behind the counter and flirting with some male guests.The rooms especially to the outside (twords the road) are very very noisy, but if you go higher( meaning from the 14th floor up!) the noise tends to fade out. You hear all the NY morning traffic with the lovely cabbies resting on the horn, so i'd strongly advise either a high up top room or a inside the court view one.TV remote did not work, on several rooms apparently as they had ran out of working ones. Bathrooms are really really small.Overall i'd say great location, but i personally would not trade that for a friendly service and working devices, especially since current economic times are making great hotels be very comptetitive with some big chain ones, such as this one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Morning star restaurant has some delicious breakfast at a really friendly budget.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NYC Regular
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jun 13, 2010

Extremely bad smell in the room

This hotel has a very bad musty smell that literally can make you sick. The vent in the bathroom had about an inch of dust hanging from it. Not my idea of a 3-star hotel. The location was great and the hotel was quiet, but that's all I can say for this one. Keep looking........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Flame for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dubai
Sep 26, 2010

Unwanted Guests

Whilst going through my suitcase I found a mouse nibbling on some chocolate I had purchased. When I told the staff they were not surprised and moved us immediatley to another room. Surely if they had the proper pest control in place this would not happen. Also the janitors room was left open and it was extremely dirty. We had a drink in the bar on ground floor and 1 of our guests ordered a plate of chips which took about 1 hour to come.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jackie kishia
Business
Ohio
Mar 21, 2012

Poor

The room had no air and in need of updates starting with the beds. Tv is out if date. Was very disappointed. Told my daughter we will never stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anna from VA
Business
Virginia
Sep 18, 2012

the most disgasting hotel

staing in this hotel ruined my vocation! we didn't sleep at all!!! Extremly noisy and old and unpleasent! How possible to charge for this room more than 200$?? It is abusing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, Co.
Sep 24, 2012

Needs freshening up.

Room was very musty smelling. Hotel in general was showing a lot of wear...pealing wallpaper, in need of fresh paint, carpet should be cleaner. The price and condition of the hotel are not consistent with other Holiday Inn experiences.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Weekend travelers 3
Business
Washington DC
Oct 8, 2012

Customer service and hallways stunk

We had booked a non-smoking room, but the rude staff told us that they had one room left and it was a smoking room, so we could take it or leave. Their service stunk, almost as badly as their hallways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travel All The Time 88
Business
New York
Apr 7, 2013

Where Do I Start

About the rooms. Peeling wall paper. No ability to control the room temp other than on or off. Carpet is obviously 20+ years old and don't let the staff fool you about the renovations. There is no way they plan on spending that kind of money to update the hotel. Plus the construction starts at 8 AM. I didn't appreciate the window washing rig outside my room while they were drilling into the concrete walls. The dampers that keep the doors from slamming in the guest rooms are worn out so get ready to be woken up throughout the night since the bars don't close until 4 AM. The doors are paper thin so the yelling voices of cleaning staff in the hallway are very pronounced at 7 in the morning. Also, you get harassed by housekeeping in the mornings if you don't want your room cleaned. Quote "If I don't clean your room I don't get paid". Let's now talk about the Skylight lounge. Ownership should tell the bartending staff that they should pay more attention the customers rather than playing with their smart phones. The food that is served is slow to your table and good luck on getting it warm. The food obviously is all frozen. Pigs in a blank, yuck! Salmon burger, yuck! Gotham burger, yuck! They even gave me a miniature bottle of Mayo that had been opened and used by another customer then put back in stock. Gotham café does not have a great breakfast and you constantly have to flag down the staff to get any attention. Not staying here again especially at such a high price! InterContinental Hotels Group should revoke this locations license on the Holiday Inn name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed from Upstate
Business
New York Sate
Apr 15, 2013

Overbooked

We booked our rooms several days ahead, 2 rooms with 2 double beds for a party of unrelated people who would not be sharing beds. When we arrived, however, we were told that there were no rooms available except a single suite, with a double bed in one room and a pull-out double-bed sofa in the adjoining room. We received no refund of our money. At our insistence, they squashed in 2 cots. They were not apologetic and offered no explanation and nothing to make up for our inconvenience except a $5 coupon for breakfast. The manager was rude. We will not stay there every again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rob8
Business
Boston
May 8, 2013

dirty and history of bedbugs

I would not stay here due to cleanliness and history of bedbugs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top