$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

3 stars
440 West 57th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
709 reviews
1st time in New York

My first time in New York was wonderful. I was a little worried seeing as I booked my hotel just... See full review

  • Jayasten
  • Jul 21, 2014
Excellent Location

It was our first time in New York City, and we loved it!! the hotel is perfectly located, Central... See full review

  • igforero
  • Jul 15, 2014
Founded in 1952, the Holiday Inn chain has earned a reputation for offering family-friendly hotels, and the Holiday Inn New York City-Midtown-57th Street is no exception. Spacious rooms comfortably host parents and kids alike, and casual dining is available at Gotham Cafe. Head up to the roof for a swim in the pool, which faces the iconic architecture of New York, or make use of modern exercise equipment at the fitness center. Chill at the Skylight Lounge to end your New York days on an evening high note.

Key facts
  • 600 guestrooms
  • 4 conference and event spaces
  • 18 floors
  • Outdoor pool
  • Gym/fitness center
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurant: Gotham Cafe
  • Skylight Lounge
  • Wi-Fi
  • Kids Eat Free
  • ATM
Neighborhood
This high-rise, full-service hotel is nestled in a quiet residential area just a short walk away from the 59th Street/Columbus Circle subway station, from which visitors can go practically anywhere in the city. Because it's tucked away, the hotel offers a tranquil location, but guests can still access some of the best attractions in Midtown Manhattan on foot, including Central Park, Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, the Empire State Building, Grand Central Station and the Theater District.
Hints and tips
If you are staying in New York on a budget, the Holiday Inn's - kids eat free- policy ensures that you can afford to dine out minus the pricey Big Apple check.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7687 -73.9875
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 12.00, MI, E; Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.00, MI, NW; LaGuardia, (LGA), 8.00, MI, W;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.4 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.7 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.7 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.7 mi

Dining

Gotham Cafe
American and Continental breakfast available . Italian and American cuisine available for dinner.
Skylight Lounge
Open Noon until Midnight.
Mercury Bar
Swap stories with the locals where the wine and the talk flow until the early morning hours. Hang out and delight in the true flavor of Old Hells Kitchen. Watch in awe as your sports heroes from the world of baseball, basketball, football, hockey and Euro

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (709)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
709 out of 709
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kaley
Cleethorpes
Apr 17, 2014

Fab hotel

Great location, about 20 min walk from Times Square so the hotel was much quieter. Lots of great cafés and bars nearby on 9th Avenue. The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful and it was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jerry78641
Cibolo, TX
Apr 14, 2014

Keep Looking

Hotel is old but refurbished. Elevators and VERY slow and the rooms are small. Worst problem isx that the rooms run HOT. I asked how to turn on the air and they said to "open" the window or they could bring me a fan. Best thing was the view and location in midtown but I wouldn't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Conference voyager
Business
MA
Apr 7, 2014

Ordinary stay

What helps this review was that I was attending a conference and the hotel staff stored my personal luggage before I could officially check in to the hotel. However, the front desk were not the friendliest (when I came back to retrieve my items, I had the ticket in hand and the staff told me to other attendants. When I said that I also needed to check in to my room, she then assisted me). The room was comfortable, but was located in a loud area (for one, I could hear people flushing their toilets). In the morning, my shower didn't work but I quickly got help from a technician; it was a loose handle. At the last night I wanted to order room service, but decided against it, given the condition of everything else. Overall, it fit my needs but it was not a smooth 2-night stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gang123
Fontana ca
Apr 6, 2014

staff and clean

Night time staff was bad and bathroom smells bad Restaurant staff was bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JTHH
NYC
Mar 31, 2014

Good for the price

Clean, simple. Good value. Nothing extraordinary but I would certainly consider it for my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jada1226
New York
Mar 31, 2014

Great Weekend Visit

Very friendly staff, bartender was awesome!!! Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy March Getaway
Chicago, IL
Mar 30, 2014

Great location!

We had a wonderful deal on this hotel and the location couldn't be better - within walking distance to Central Park and many NYC sites. The hotel amenities were fine though not luxurious. The hotel is old but functional and it was clean. The service was average but the location more than makes up for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Morning Star Restaurant is right on the corner and was a great place to get a quick breakfast, brunch.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AlexWtravels
Saratoga Springs, Ny
Mar 30, 2014

Nicely renovated

For a well priced hotel not far from Columbus circle or fabulous dining on 9th avenue, look no further than the Holiday in on 57th. Not far from the theatre district with a scenic walk. Room was extremely spacious for a manhattan hotel room, modern furnishings and most likely renovated within the last 2 years I'd say. The guest hallways are a little beat up from from chambermaid carts, but don't let that deter you. My biggest issues were that the small elevators (my guess is the originals from first construction of the building) seemed rickety and on the day of our stay it was a humid day and the climate control system is out of date- upon calling the front desk to see if it could be made any cooler, I was told that "because of the season we don't have the air conditioning on yet, the windows in your room do open so you can get some nice fresh air" (she does know that NYC is not exactly known for fresh air, right?...) Good location, modern furnishings, reasonably priced, Friendly staff,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequent NYC visitor 16
NJ
Mar 27, 2014

Very Large Room

Had room w/ King bed, exceptionally large for NYC. And with sink/vanity outside bath/toilet area would be good for sharing.Location used to be pretty far off beaten path, but with development in area now fine. Few blocks from many subway lines that converge at Columbus circle. Large rooftop swimming pool would be great for families in summer-unusual in NYC. Attentive friendly staff. I was there off-season and got good rate and no crowds, not sure how would be when full and busy. Very large complex with 2 connected bldgs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Diner at 9th and 57th has great early dinner specials. Small friendly place-excellent value.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joebo
The Bronx
Mar 26, 2014

A day away from the usual

It was just a night out away from my usual abode and the experience was indeed great. The room was a bit small but very clean and inviting, the service was great, the staff went out of the way to make my stay comfortable, the location is so convenient lots of shopping and eating places a block or two away. It was a great night I will recommend it to anyone who wish to stay in the great city of new York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search