$126 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 24, 2014 Check-out: Nov 25, 2014

Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

3 stars
440 West 57th Street, New York, NY 10019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
672 reviews
1st time in New York

My first time in New York was wonderful. I was a little worried seeing as I booked my hotel just... See full review

  • Jayasten
  • Jul 21, 2014
Excellent Location

It was our first time in New York City, and we loved it!! the hotel is perfectly located, Central... See full review

  • igforero
  • Jul 15, 2014
Founded in 1952, the Holiday Inn chain has earned a reputation for offering family-friendly hotels, and the Holiday Inn New York City-Midtown-57th Street is no exception. Spacious rooms comfortably host parents and kids alike, and casual dining is available at Gotham Cafe. Head up to the roof for a swim in the pool, which faces the iconic architecture of New York, or make use of modern exercise equipment at the fitness center. Chill at the Skylight Lounge to end your New York days on an evening high note.

Key facts
  • 600 guestrooms
  • 4 conference and event spaces
  • 18 floors
  • Outdoor pool
  • Gym/fitness center
  • Gift shop
  • Restaurant: Gotham Cafe
  • Skylight Lounge
  • Wi-Fi
  • Kids Eat Free
  • ATM
Neighborhood
This high-rise, full-service hotel is nestled in a quiet residential area just a short walk away from the 59th Street/Columbus Circle subway station, from which visitors can go practically anywhere in the city. Because it's tucked away, the hotel offers a tranquil location, but guests can still access some of the best attractions in Midtown Manhattan on foot, including Central Park, Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, the Empire State Building, Grand Central Station and the Theater District.
Hints and tips
If you are staying in New York on a budget, the Holiday Inn's - kids eat free- policy ensures that you can afford to dine out minus the pricey Big Apple check.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

40.7687 -73.9875
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 12.00, MI, E; Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.00, MI, NW; LaGuardia, (LGA), 8.00, MI, W;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST. also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Center: 0.2 mi
  • Time Warner Center: 0.2 mi
  • Studio 54: 0.2 mi
  • Columbus Circle mall: 0.3 mi
  • American Musical and Dramatic Academy: 0.3 mi
  • New York Institute of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Arts and Design: 0.3 mi
  • Broadway: 0.3 mi
  • Metropolitan Opera: 0.3 mi
  • Dante Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeWitt Clinton Park: 0.4 mi
  • Wollman Memorial Rink: 0.4 mi
  • Vivian Beaumont Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Lincoln Square: 0.4 mi
  • Roseland: 0.4 mi
  • August Wilson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • The Juilliard School: 0.4 mi
  • School of American Ballet: 0.4 mi
  • Worldwide Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Gershwin Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Rose Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Carnegie Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Circle in the Square Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • CitySpire Center: 0.5 mi
  • Winter Garden Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Art Society: 0.5 mi
  • 57th Street: 0.5 mi
  • Eugene O'Neill Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Victorian Gardens, Central Park: 0.5 mi
  • Richard Tucker Square: 0.5 mi
  • Ambassador Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Tuscan Square: 0.6 mi
  • Equitable Center: 0.6 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.6 mi
  • New Amsterdam Theater: 0.6 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.7 mi
  • Sherman Square: 0.7 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.7 mi

Dining

Gotham Cafe
American and Continental breakfast available . Italian and American cuisine available for dinner.
Skylight Lounge
Open Noon until Midnight.
Mercury Bar
Swap stories with the locals where the wine and the talk flow until the early morning hours. Hang out and delight in the true flavor of Old Hells Kitchen. Watch in awe as your sports heroes from the world of baseball, basketball, football, hockey and Euro

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (672)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
672 out of 672
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
twoskiers
Business
Hanover New Hampshire
Aug 20, 2013

NHSKIERS

This time we stayed in a smaller room. It had not be fully cleaned and resupplied with towels, soap, shampoo. Staff did take care of it in a timely fashion. The internet connection was awful and none, we spent well over an hour with the techie with no results. We think the broadband is not equal throughout the hotel. The price for the room considering this was too high. Location is good. We will stay again due to a necessaryregularly scheduled appt in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
twoskiers
Business
Hanover New Hampshire
Aug 14, 2013

Holiday Midtown

The location is great and due to regular medical visits, it work well. This time the room was not finished and we were short of towels, soap, shampoo. The staff did furnish these in a timely manner. The wifi connection was horrible and we spent hours on the phone to their tech person trying to fix the problem. It appears their broadband is really not compatible to handling volume. Other rooms we have stayed in were better and some not great but this was definitely terrible .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MR.Camacho
Business
Miami,FL
Aug 5, 2013

Good location

The Hotel is close to every thing,but the Bed that they gave me was too hard and gave back pain

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Megan traveling queen
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 29, 2013

Perfect over night stay

As good as it can get for an over night stay, great location & everything you need is a phone call away at the front desk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Broad way!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Educated mom
Business
Boston
Jul 13, 2013

Good bargain

This hotel was a good bargain. It has a big outdoor pool area with a lounge. Also you can use the fitness center in the basement. The room itself was very clean. Staff not very helpful. Tried to sell me theater tickets for twice the amount of the box office. All in all I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two streets up on 59th is Columbus Circle. Many great places to eat and shop.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chicgourmand
Business
San Antonio
Jul 6, 2013

Worst Hotel Stay of My Life

Checked in to find a maintenance/housekeeping worker in our room. He was unable to provide an explanation for why he was in the room, but said it was ready for us. We noticed a very foul, musty odor with an overlaying chemical smell immediately and saw that the windows were open, the carpet was damp and the t.v. did not work. The hotel was sold out, so our room was changed to the only other room available in the entire hotel with two double beds, which was due to be renovated beginning the next morning, so we were told we would have to move to a new room the second night of our stay. The desk manager was apologetic about the situation and he promised us he would take 50% off our first night’s charge and assured us that we was on duty until 7a.m. and would block a very nice renovated room for us on an upper floor and we should be able to move in first thing in the morning. The second room was definitely due for renovation: There was black mold spotted all over the bathroom ceiling, the toilet didn’t flush easily, the wallpaper was stained and peeling and the carpet had spots. We went out to eat and returned to our new room around 11:00 pm. As soon as we got off the elevator to our floor, we were hit by an extremely strong, pungent, skunky odor that seemed very likely to be marijuana smoke. The smell was so strong that it permeated our bathroom area and the area around the door to our room. My husband called the Front Desk and spoke to the manager who assured him he’d send security up to investigate. The smell didn’t subside for several hours and my daughter and I had difficulty breathing due to our asthma, so we didn’t get much sleep. After a mostly sleepless night, we were awakened around 7:30 a.m. by sounds of banging and sanding from the renovation work happening in other rooms on either side of ours. We tried to ignore the noise and get a little bit more sleep, but at 9:00 a.m., a front desk clerk called our room and said we needed to move out so the renovations could begin in our room. It was fairly intrusive to be woken at 9:00 a.m., especially after such a rough night and awakening earlier from the construction noise. The clerk didn't know anything about what the manager promised the night before and was very unhelpful and told us no rooms were ready yet and that we’d have to get out of the room and leave our luggage with the hotel staff until a room was available in the afternoon. She also said she couldn’t guarantee whether we would get a newly remodeled room – she said the hotel was sold out so we’d have to get whatever was available. After the experience we had the night before, it was only reasonable to expect that we would be taken care of by the staff. We spent the next 2 hours being treated extremely disrespectfully by argumentative hotel staff members, including the general manager, who refused to resolve the situation they created. All we wanted was to move into a clean room before we left for the day so we wouldn't return to a similar situation that night. It was not our fault the hotel was overbooked, and it was absurd how badly we were treated. It got to the point that we ended up booking a room at the Hilton at 1335 Avenue of the Americas, which had a beautiful clean room available immediately and friendly courteous staff to help us during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Double R double L
Business
El Paso, Texas
Jun 22, 2013

Great location!

This hotel looked as though it had been recently renovated; it was clean, modern and spacious. The beds were comfortable and you get a choice of soft or firm pillows. The location was perfect, just a nice walk or a short cab ride to all the important sites yet the hotel was in a quiet residential section of midtown. The staff was friendly, helpful and courteous. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When you want a break from Manhattan's high priced restaurants, there are many home-style restaurants within walking distance to the hotel and several will deliver to your room w/o charge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
from boston 0613
Business
boston
Jun 16, 2013

Not bad for the price, but not good for it too.

near to city sights, good price but the room had weird smell bathroom door could not be closed fully bath tub drainage not good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Juilliard Dad
Business
Ottawa, Canada
Jun 11, 2013

College Grad

After parking the family vehicle right at the hotel, I entered the lobby and found a friendly staff member had engaged my son about his interest in soccer which told me our family would have yet another excellent experience at this hotel. We were in town to see our son graduate from Juilliard a short trek from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Columbus Circle at 59th and Central Park has upscale ambience and a great jazz club that is affordable called Dizzy's which is sponsored by Coca-Cola - reservations recommended

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK CITY-MIDTOWN-57TH ST.

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MudderGirl13
Business
Kentucky
Jun 7, 2013

Nice location in walking distance to many sites.

Staff was very helpful, suggested fun things to do and even helped set them up. Room was clean. Needs some updates, but those are scheduled soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Times Square: great restaurants, shopping, clubs, and just fun to see the everyday action going on. Gotta try Roxy's cheesecake!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top