$154 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

3 stars
138 Lafayette Street, New York, NY 10013
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
86 reviews
Great Staff at The Holiday Inn Soho

I had a great room with everything I needed. The breakfast in the restaurant was good, the... See full review

  • Jeff Tman
  • Jul 7, 2014
Good, not amazing.....

It is a good hotel. It is more China town than Soho. See full review

  • Roger forever
  • May 8, 2014
Enjoy Our Manhattan Hotel's Location near SoHo The Holiday Inn® Manhattan - Downtown / SoHo hotel is New York's best kept secret with an enviable location that borders Tribeca and SoHo and just steps from Little Italy and Greenwich Village. Whether you are in town for business or leisure, our Manhattan, NY hotel provides you with easy access to all the Big Apple has to offer. While our hotel's guests stay in New York City, we keep them connected to the office through a 24-hour business center with free high-speed Internet access, copy and print services and a PC. Conveniently located near business destinations in Manhattan, NY, our hotel is moments from Federal Plaza, the Financial District and Wall Street. Leisure travelers love being our hotel's guest in New York City because of our proximity to world-renowned attractions like the Statue of Liberty, Battery Park and Canal Street Shopping. While staying with us, you can spend your days enjoying the artistry of SoHo, the mystique of Chinatown and the charm of the Village. Each turn brings you to a street filled with eclectic shopping, outstanding cuisine and cultural diversity. When you are searching for places to stay in downtown Manhattan, consider our hotel's choice amenities that include an on-site fitness center, a full-service restaurant and free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. Book your reservations today to stay with the name that you can trust.

Hotel Map

40.7191 -74.0003
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 20.00, MI; La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 15.00, MI; Newark Liberty Airport, (EWR), 15.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

General
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Centre Street, Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of The Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Collect Pond Park: 0.2 mi
  • Artists Space: 0.2 mi
  • Caffe Roma: 0.2 mi
  • Little Italy: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Chinese in the Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Criminal Courts Building: 0.2 mi
  • The Drawing Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goethe House: 0.3 mi
  • Thomas Paine Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeSalvio Playground: 0.3 mi
  • New York Academy of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Foley Square: 0.3 mi
  • King of Greene Street: 0.3 mi
  • Centre Street, Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of The Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Collect Pond Park: 0.2 mi
  • Artists Space: 0.2 mi
  • Caffe Roma: 0.2 mi
  • Little Italy: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Chinese in the Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Criminal Courts Building: 0.2 mi
  • The Drawing Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goethe House: 0.3 mi
  • Thomas Paine Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeSalvio Playground: 0.3 mi
  • New York Academy of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Foley Square: 0.3 mi
  • King of Greene Street: 0.3 mi
  • Independence Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Bowery: 0.3 mi
  • New York Law School: 0.3 mi
  • Scharmann's: 0.4 mi
  • Elizabeth Street, Nolita: 0.4 mi
  • Haughwout Building: 0.4 mi
  • Juan Pablo Duarte Square: 0.4 mi
  • Albert Capsouto Park: 0.4 mi
  • Confucius Statue: 0.4 mi
  • African Burial Ground: 0.4 mi
  • Sara Delano Roosevelt Park: 0.4 mi
  • New Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Eldridge Street Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at Eldridge Street: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Building: 0.5 mi
  • Dahesh Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Space Untitled Espresso Bar: 0.5 mi
  • Alfred E. Smith House: 0.5 mi
  • Queen of Greene Street: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Park: 0.5 mi
  • Tribeca Film Center: 0.5 mi
  • New Era Building: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Lower East Side Tenement Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pace University: 0.6 mi
  • New York City Fire Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Drumgoole Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Woolworth Building: 0.6 mi
  • 8 Spruce Street: 0.6 mi

Dining

138 Bistro Lounge & Bar
The recently redesigned 138 Bistro serves up a whole new menu, featuring fresh, delicious American Cuisine and combines it with excellent service. The tantalizing menu features a great selection of daily specialties, signature sandwiches, juicy burgers,
138 Bistro & Lounge
After a long day of business or leisure activities, head to our hotel's Lobby Bar, 138 Bistro & Lounge, for our signature cocktail selections or your favorite libation.Experience Great service and a Relaxed Environment. Have drinks with colleagues, meet

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
OSCAR1968
CANCUN, MEXICO
May 5, 2011

TERRIBLE SERVICE

THEY HAVE A TERRIBLE SERVICE ONLY ONE PERSON AT THE RECEPTION ALL DAY AND NIGHT SO IF FOR SOME REASON YOU NEED SOMETHING NORMALY YOU HAVE TO WAIT 30 MINUTES OR MORE AND THE MAIN PROBLEM ITS THAT I CHECK OUT 15 DAYS AGO AND THEY HAVE NOT REFUND MY MONEY THAT I PAY AS A DEPOSIT WHEN I AREADY PAY IN FULL MY STAY WITH A CREDIT CARD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelerfrommd
Baltimore MD
Aug 23, 2010

Horrible experience - had to leave

This hotel booked us for a standard queen room. When we arrived we were told all they had left was a handicap room with a single bed not big enough for the two on the reservation. They didnt have another room and refused to refund our money for the first night. We had to leave and find another hotel. Not to mention the room was filthy and the staff was horribly rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kmg4242
Nj
Jul 1, 2012

I will not be returning

I am all about budget travel. I have stayed at other holiday inn locations with no problems. Standards rooms are what I always book. However this location barely fits two ppl. The rugs and bed felt dirty. I was itchy all night. The window units blew out warm air.. Which was awful considering it was 95 plus degrees outside. My stay was very uncomfortable all around. The only good part was the staff. Everyone was friendly and helpful. All in all.. Even for a budget traveler, this place is a real dump. Nothing like the usual holiday inn standard room stay. Save your money and stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
LA, CA
Aug 9, 2010

Small and bad

Small room, location is close to chinatown. Not very clean, noisy. I don't recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Visiting New York
Chicago
Nov 21, 2011

Soho Hotel NOT in Soho

Hotel was just SOSO. At night if your room was on the 4th floor you not only hear the MTA you also feel the rumbling as it passes underground

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 4, 2007

My review of Holiday Inn MANHATTAN-DOWNTOWN/SOHO

I stayed at this hotel based on the recommendation of a friend. My stay was for 2 nights and I was glad it wasn't longer. The hotel was somewhat shabby. New granite countertops and carpeting don't make up for bad smelling air, drapes hanging by a few hooks, scratchy sheets, TV's and phones that don't work. The price was right for New York, but I would spend a little more next time to upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

For those wanting the shopping experience of Canal street, you've a block to walk. Also within 5-6 blocks you have SOHO.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Charles C
Allentown, PA
Mar 16, 2013

Soho Holiday Inn

Rude service and highly over priced for value of room. Positive part was close walk to Chinatown & Little Italy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ferrara bakery on Grand St has delicious Italian treats!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SCGO
Business
Santa Monica CA
Aug 28, 2013

To smoke or not smoke

Room stunk from smoke. Asked to get switched and they said: thats what you get when you book thru this site

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Quinn1
new jersay
Jan 5, 2014

Family wedding nearby

Hotel was near the wedding venue and was selected primarily for this reason. It was adequate but would not be the first choice again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wrldTravel
Phoenix,AZ
Jul 10, 2011

Good for short stay

Stayed here for a day the room was clean and bed was very comfortable. Location is close to subway access to get in and out of Manhattan NYC attractions. Location is more closer to chinatown and not much to do around the area . We didn't think it was walkable to the nicer restaurants and shopping in SoHo but a quick cab ride. The price we paid i thought was high for a weekday but i guess it is NYC! The staff was super nice and accommodating since we were in town early and they let us check in by noon. Overall good for a short stay if the price is reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search