Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

3 stars
View map of 138 Lafayette Street, New York, NY 10013

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
86 reviews
great soho location

New and comfortable.. nice lobby. Very convenient to subway, shoo and canal street shopping, great... See full review

  • phyllis s.
  • Jan 14, 2015
30th B day

Absolutely loved the location right next to all the shopping SOHO has to offer. It was perfect for... See full review

  • David B.
  • Jan 7, 2015
Enjoy Our Manhattan Hotel's Location near SoHo The Holiday Inn® Manhattan - Downtown / SoHo hotel is New York's best kept secret with an enviable location that borders Tribeca and SoHo and just steps from Little Italy and Greenwich Village. Whether you are in town for business or leisure, our Manhattan, NY hotel provides you with easy access to all the Big Apple has to offer. While our hotel's guests stay in New York City, we keep them connected to the office through a 24-hour business center with free high-speed Internet access, copy and print services and a PC. Conveniently located near business destinations in Manhattan, NY, our hotel is moments from Federal Plaza, the Financial District and Wall Street. Leisure travelers love being our hotel's guest in New York City because of our proximity to world-renowned attractions like the Statue of Liberty, Battery Park and Canal Street Shopping. While staying with us, you can spend your days enjoying the artistry of SoHo, the mystique of Chinatown and the charm of the Village. Each turn brings you to a street filled with eclectic shopping, outstanding cuisine and cultural diversity. When you are searching for places to stay in downtown Manhattan, consider our hotel's choice amenities that include an on-site fitness center, a full-service restaurant and free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. Book your reservations today to stay with the name that you can trust.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

General
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Centre Street, Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of The Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Collect Pond Park: 0.2 mi
  • Artists Space: 0.2 mi
  • Caffe Roma: 0.2 mi
  • Little Italy: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Chinese in the Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Criminal Courts Building: 0.2 mi
  • The Drawing Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goethe House: 0.3 mi
  • Thomas Paine Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeSalvio Playground: 0.3 mi
  • New York Academy of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Foley Square: 0.3 mi
  • King of Greene Street: 0.3 mi
  • Centre Street, Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of The Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Collect Pond Park: 0.2 mi
  • Artists Space: 0.2 mi
  • Caffe Roma: 0.2 mi
  • Little Italy: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Chinese in the Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Criminal Courts Building: 0.2 mi
  • The Drawing Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goethe House: 0.3 mi
  • Thomas Paine Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeSalvio Playground: 0.3 mi
  • New York Academy of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Foley Square: 0.3 mi
  • King of Greene Street: 0.3 mi
  • Independence Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Bowery: 0.3 mi
  • New York Law School: 0.3 mi
  • Scharmann's: 0.4 mi
  • Elizabeth Street, Nolita: 0.4 mi
  • Haughwout Building: 0.4 mi
  • Juan Pablo Duarte Square: 0.4 mi
  • Albert Capsouto Park: 0.4 mi
  • Confucius Statue: 0.4 mi
  • African Burial Ground: 0.4 mi
  • Sara Delano Roosevelt Park: 0.4 mi
  • New Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Eldridge Street Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at Eldridge Street: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Building: 0.5 mi
  • Dahesh Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Space Untitled Espresso Bar: 0.5 mi
  • Alfred E. Smith House: 0.5 mi
  • Queen of Greene Street: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Park: 0.5 mi
  • Tribeca Film Center: 0.5 mi
  • New Era Building: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Lower East Side Tenement Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pace University: 0.6 mi
  • New York City Fire Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Drumgoole Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Woolworth Building: 0.6 mi
  • 8 Spruce Street: 0.6 mi

Dining

138 Bistro Lounge & Bar
The recently redesigned 138 Bistro serves up a whole new menu, featuring fresh, delicious American Cuisine and combines it with excellent service. The tantalizing menu features a great selection of daily specialties, signature sandwiches, juicy burgers,
138 Bistro & Lounge
After a long day of business or leisure activities, head to our hotel's Lobby Bar, 138 Bistro & Lounge, for our signature cocktail selections or your favorite libation.Experience Great service and a Relaxed Environment. Have drinks with colleagues, meet

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dublin, Ireland
May 21, 2009

great location and friendly helpful staf

loved the location and helpful staff. Restaurant a dead loss. Vending machines cold comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sidicas
Business
Upstate NY
Apr 29, 2009

Great Hotel!

The wireless was fast, the staff friendly, and the location is very convenient for those visiting Chinatown. The cold winter air on Chinese New Year gave me a bloody nose in my sleep and they replaced all my sheets, bedding, and pillows with no charge and no questions asked. The room heater was a little too extreme for me, it was always on and too hot or off and too cold! I got up several times to turn it on and off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is so close to Chinatown, that I walked everywhere I went for 3 days straight, exploring everything there was to explore about Chinese New Year.It was great, I got off to a bad start but things just kept getting better as the days went by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kings Farm
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 24, 2009

Simply Outstanding

In all of my travels, the Marriott Courtyard hotels have been a wonderful experience. The reason being is what I call "a simple elegance". Their morning breakfast buffet is just enough to get me started, the room are very celan and spacious enough and the treadmill is all that I need. The most importnat aspect is the ease in which I can get in and out of the hotel. There is just enough staff to provide superior service without overwhelming you. Plus, the "points" are really cool and I use them whenever possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel has a calmness about it that makes it feel like home.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 23, 2009

Functional, quiet, and convenient place

It was a great place in Manhattan because it was quiet at night so I was able to go to sleep. I had stayed at other places such as City Club New York -- so noisy at night with garbage trucks coming in and out all night that I could hardly go to sleep. Also it was inexpensive compared to other hotels. The concierge booked an Empire State Building tour for us and that saved us time. The front desk told us about a good restaurant that opened late around the corner after we checked in so that we were able to eat good food after checking in. The room was basic and small. Shower pressure wasn't great. Light fixture in the bathroom was too bright. However, we were just looking for a room to crash after a long day each day and were not looking for anything fancy. The TV wasn't great. When we switched the channel, it took a while before the next channel to appear, a blank screen for several seconds! However, we didn't need to watch TV so that didn't bother us. The location was convenient - Close to green line 6 and yellow line R/W, etc. Also it was close to Chinatown so we went to some nice bakery places for breakfast and it only cost us $3.8 for two! If you don't plan to spend a fortune on a hotel in Manhattan, this is the place for you. Forgot to mention it cost $1 every 4 minutes to use the computer in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Pizza was yummy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jennie Forbes B&B
Business
Stratford, Ontario
Apr 22, 2009

Good location; Little Italy&Chinatown

We spent time for our business in Greenwich Village, it was only a $7.50 cab ride. We were within an easy walk to the good restaurants and shops of Little Italy and Chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out your choices during the day; and get advise and make reservations or go to great places if they are open at lunch time to save money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northeastern Pennsylvania
Mar 4, 2009

"Large clean rooms, great neighborhood"

Friendly staff, quiet clean room, and we loved the neighborhood. Great little reasonably priced places to eat nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat in or Take Out deli called "Jubilee" only a block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Farmington
Jan 4, 2009

Great Location, welcoming staff.

The Soho Holiday Inn is located conveniently in the heart of downtown New York, close to great restaurants, shopping neighborhoods, and small art galleries. The room was clean and comfortable while the staff were friendly and immediately available for any type of assistance. We would enthusiastically recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You are minutes from Spring, Prince, and Bowery Streets with great restaurants and shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 23, 2008

great location very friendly

It was our first stay at the hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The location worked out very well for us as far as subways and walking. We were very pleased and would definately stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great italian food just a block away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse
Oct 9, 2008

Good all round hotel

The Holiday Inn MANHATTAN-DOWNTOWN/SOHO was very comfortable and just sufficient for a short business trip. Most importantly it had wireless Internet access and for those who like Chinese and Italian food, just around the corner. The location was good, close to the subway and to Broadway for some good shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
D.F.
Sep 16, 2008

Comfortable, excellent attention to the guests

The Holiday Inn Manhattan Soho was very comfortable, in the heart of chinatown, very close to little Italy. The breakfast was excelllent, and the people at the restaurant gave us excellent service. The bathroom had a size bigger than the majority of the hotels in NY has. Very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top