Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

3 stars
138 Lafayette Street, New York, NY 10013
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
86 reviews
great soho location

New and comfortable.. nice lobby. Very convenient to subway, shoo and canal street shopping, great... See full review

  • phyllis s.
  • Jan 14, 2015
30th B day

Absolutely loved the location right next to all the shopping SOHO has to offer. It was perfect for... See full review

  • David B.
  • Jan 7, 2015
Enjoy Our Manhattan Hotel's Location near SoHo The Holiday Inn® Manhattan - Downtown / SoHo hotel is New York's best kept secret with an enviable location that borders Tribeca and SoHo and just steps from Little Italy and Greenwich Village. Whether you are in town for business or leisure, our Manhattan, NY hotel provides you with easy access to all the Big Apple has to offer. While our hotel's guests stay in New York City, we keep them connected to the office through a 24-hour business center with free high-speed Internet access, copy and print services and a PC. Conveniently located near business destinations in Manhattan, NY, our hotel is moments from Federal Plaza, the Financial District and Wall Street. Leisure travelers love being our hotel's guest in New York City because of our proximity to world-renowned attractions like the Statue of Liberty, Battery Park and Canal Street Shopping. While staying with us, you can spend your days enjoying the artistry of SoHo, the mystique of Chinatown and the charm of the Village. Each turn brings you to a street filled with eclectic shopping, outstanding cuisine and cultural diversity. When you are searching for places to stay in downtown Manhattan, consider our hotel's choice amenities that include an on-site fitness center, a full-service restaurant and free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. Book your reservations today to stay with the name that you can trust.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

General
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Centre Street, Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of The Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Collect Pond Park: 0.2 mi
  • Artists Space: 0.2 mi
  • Caffe Roma: 0.2 mi
  • Little Italy: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Chinese in the Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Criminal Courts Building: 0.2 mi
  • The Drawing Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goethe House: 0.3 mi
  • Thomas Paine Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeSalvio Playground: 0.3 mi
  • New York Academy of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Foley Square: 0.3 mi
  • King of Greene Street: 0.3 mi
  • Centre Street, Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of The Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Collect Pond Park: 0.2 mi
  • Artists Space: 0.2 mi
  • Caffe Roma: 0.2 mi
  • Little Italy: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Chinese in the Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Criminal Courts Building: 0.2 mi
  • The Drawing Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goethe House: 0.3 mi
  • Thomas Paine Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeSalvio Playground: 0.3 mi
  • New York Academy of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Foley Square: 0.3 mi
  • King of Greene Street: 0.3 mi
  • Independence Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Bowery: 0.3 mi
  • New York Law School: 0.3 mi
  • Scharmann's: 0.4 mi
  • Elizabeth Street, Nolita: 0.4 mi
  • Haughwout Building: 0.4 mi
  • Juan Pablo Duarte Square: 0.4 mi
  • Albert Capsouto Park: 0.4 mi
  • Confucius Statue: 0.4 mi
  • African Burial Ground: 0.4 mi
  • Sara Delano Roosevelt Park: 0.4 mi
  • New Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Eldridge Street Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at Eldridge Street: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Building: 0.5 mi
  • Dahesh Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Space Untitled Espresso Bar: 0.5 mi
  • Alfred E. Smith House: 0.5 mi
  • Queen of Greene Street: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Park: 0.5 mi
  • Tribeca Film Center: 0.5 mi
  • New Era Building: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Lower East Side Tenement Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pace University: 0.6 mi
  • New York City Fire Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Drumgoole Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Woolworth Building: 0.6 mi
  • 8 Spruce Street: 0.6 mi

Dining

138 Bistro Lounge & Bar
The recently redesigned 138 Bistro serves up a whole new menu, featuring fresh, delicious American Cuisine and combines it with excellent service. The tantalizing menu features a great selection of daily specialties, signature sandwiches, juicy burgers,
138 Bistro & Lounge
After a long day of business or leisure activities, head to our hotel's Lobby Bar, 138 Bistro & Lounge, for our signature cocktail selections or your favorite libation.Experience Great service and a Relaxed Environment. Have drinks with colleagues, meet

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta
Jun 28, 2009

exceeded expectations/fabulous location

This was a business trip, but with my best friend, so it was also a leisure type vacation, too. We both agreed that we stayed in the perfect location. The hotel exceeded our expectations. The staff was friendly and helpful. We found ourselves raving about to to people we met. And we both plan to return to this hotel in the near future with our families. perfect location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Esquina!Try the oxtail flautas at the cafe as well as the grilled corn on the cob.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucila
Business
Mexico City
Jun 23, 2009

"Great Location, great experience"

Very nice experience, super location, nice and very good service...Everybody friendly, thank you and i´m looking froward in staying at the holiday inn in future visits to ny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

llllllllllll

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aunt ilka
Business
washington DC
Jun 22, 2009

great weekend!

great location Good staff Nice room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

balthazar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
homs
Business
Atlanta
Jun 14, 2009

Georgia travelers a fan of Soho Holiday

This is a GREAT spot if you want to check out Chinatown, Little Italy and Greenwich. We did the "hop on hop off" tour (buy the all loops ticket) and did so much sightseeing in 2 days! Holiday Inn employees were very helpful and they have a car for airport transportation for their guests. Having never been to NYC, I can say that EVERYONE in the city was helpful when we asked for directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There are LOTS of shopping opportunities within walking distance from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Osceola, Wisconsin
Jun 13, 2009

Holiday Inn Soho

I found the room small but very cleverly layed out and clean. Shower was new. Great location. Comfy bed. I went to surprise our son at his 40th birthday. I am a foodie (he is a chef) and I ate my way through NY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jun 12, 2009

Holidai Inn SOHO

I had an award dinner to attend, and this hotel was in the right area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure the taxi/limo driver receives payment from hotel personnel if you paid for the car at the front desk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dadeeoo
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 2, 2009

Holiday Inn MANHATTAN-DOWNTOWN/SOHO

Within one block we were able to get on a subway and we had many easy train opitions to choose from. With a 5-10 ride we were at Battery Park heading to see the Statye of Liberty, the World Trade Center site, Wall Street, Times Square, etc. A few blocks from the hotel and you are in the heart of China Town for shopping or Little Italy for great food. Transport booked via orbitz is not the best. our first 4.5 hours and last 2 hours were spent waiting on or riding from stop to stop in the airport shuttle. I recomend you call the hotel and ask them about the best transport. While in Manhattan we found yellow NYC taxis to be useful and the towncars, limos ect to be well...lets just say not as good a value. I reccomend a ped-taxi tour of Central Parks South side. Be sure your driver is the type that will narrate as you ride. It's way more fun that way. Beware of Greenich village late-night. It is for the party type person. However...We felt safe everywhere we went.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

The Statue of Liberty had two types of tickets. One type gets you to the Island but no access to the Monument. The other allows you to go up onto and in to her. But the Monument tickets are sold out weeks in advance. THUS, book your Statue of Liberty Tickets online way in advance verses a flex ticket, and make sure you get the ones for access into the monument. We were disapointed that we could only walk around the outside of the base.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the purse lady
Business
Ankeny, iowa
Jun 1, 2009

have stayed there for 5 years

On Saturday before leaving for NYC the lady at the home said we could have an upgrade to a suite. When we got there they told us no, then told us ok for 2 days ok for 3 days. Tried to say hotel was full but was far from full. Coffee pot would not work in room. never left us coffee grounds, never left us plastic bag for ice bucket. Never left us lotion. Made us pay $15 for a pot of coffee because we did not have any coffee grounds in the room. Either pop machine was out of pop or we would lose our money in the machines and the people at the check in counter did not care. First nite there there was not any liqour at the bar to drink they were out???? The guys downstairs at the bell desk are great and wonderful they are the best of anywhere I have ever stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East Brunswick, NJ
May 23, 2009

"Hey, Its got a bed."

This hotel was a beautiful and clean but I was very unhappy to walk into "updates" and/or construction that was occurring. The smell of the glue from them applying the wallpaper lingered all the way up to my room on the 5th floor. Also, as a gym buff I was very unhappy to see that the fitness room was also under renovation. These are things I wish were told to me before I booked this room. Otherwise, everyone at the hotel was VERY VERY nice and the room (small but cozy) was up to expectations and boasted a nice view. For this trip I decided to go the extra mile and buy the "city pass". In two days, we were able to visit several museums and ellis island. Even though we did not get to go to all the destinations this pass offered, we still made our moneys worth (and "skipped" many long lines). I would suggest this to any traveler!!! Though we took this trip for relaxation (from Jersey, actually travel to the city often for shopping and eateries) I totally enjoyed spending the nights in the city of lights. I would absolutely suggest this hotel to those close or far!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dublin, Ireland
May 21, 2009

great location and friendly helpful staf

loved the location and helpful staff. Restaurant a dead loss. Vending machines cold comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top