$135 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

3 stars
138 LAFAYETTE STREET, NEW YORK CITY, NY 10013
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
135 reviews
Great Staff at The Holiday Inn Soho

I had a great room with everything I needed. The breakfast in the restaurant was good, the... See full review

  • Jeff Tman
  • Jul 7, 2014
Good, not amazing.....

It is a good hotel. It is more China town than Soho. See full review

  • Roger forever
  • May 8, 2014
Enjoy Our Manhattan Hotel's Location near SoHo The Holiday Inn® Manhattan - Downtown / SoHo hotel is New York's best kept secret with an enviable location that borders Tribeca and SoHo and just steps from Little Italy and Greenwich Village. Whether you are in town for business or leisure, our Manhattan, NY hotel provides you with easy access to all the Big Apple has to offer. While our hotel's guests stay in New York City, we keep them connected to the office through a 24-hour business center with free high-speed Internet access, copy and print services and a PC. Conveniently located near business destinations in Manhattan, NY, our hotel is moments from Federal Plaza, the Financial District and Wall Street. Leisure travelers love being our hotel's guest in New York City because of our proximity to world-renowned attractions like the Statue of Liberty, Battery Park and Canal Street Shopping. While staying with us, you can spend your days enjoying the artistry of SoHo, the mystique of Chinatown and the charm of the Village. Each turn brings you to a street filled with eclectic shopping, outstanding cuisine and cultural diversity. When you are searching for places to stay in downtown Manhattan, consider our hotel's choice amenities that include an on-site fitness center, a full-service restaurant and free high-speed, wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. Book your reservations today to stay with the name that you can trust.

Amenities

General
Free local telephone calls
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Car rental desk
Porters
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7191 -74.0003
Nearby airports
Newark Liberty Airport, (EWR), 15.00, MI, SE; La Guardia Airport, (LGA), 15.00, MI, SW; John F. Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 20.00, MI, NW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Centre Street, Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of The Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Collect Pond Park: 0.2 mi
  • Artists Space: 0.2 mi
  • Caffe Roma: 0.2 mi
  • Little Italy: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Chinese in the Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Criminal Courts Building: 0.2 mi
  • The Drawing Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goethe House: 0.3 mi
  • Thomas Paine Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeSalvio Playground: 0.3 mi
  • New York Academy of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Foley Square: 0.3 mi
  • King of Greene Street: 0.3 mi
  • Centre Street, Chinatown: 0.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of The Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Collect Pond Park: 0.2 mi
  • Artists Space: 0.2 mi
  • Caffe Roma: 0.2 mi
  • Little Italy: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Chinese in the Americas: 0.2 mi
  • Criminal Courts Building: 0.2 mi
  • The Drawing Center: 0.3 mi
  • Goethe House: 0.3 mi
  • Thomas Paine Park: 0.3 mi
  • DeSalvio Playground: 0.3 mi
  • New York Academy of Art: 0.3 mi
  • Foley Square: 0.3 mi
  • King of Greene Street: 0.3 mi
  • Independence Plaza: 0.3 mi
  • Bowery: 0.3 mi
  • New York Law School: 0.3 mi
  • Scharmann's: 0.4 mi
  • Elizabeth Street, Nolita: 0.4 mi
  • Haughwout Building: 0.4 mi
  • Juan Pablo Duarte Square: 0.4 mi
  • Albert Capsouto Park: 0.4 mi
  • Confucius Statue: 0.4 mi
  • African Burial Ground: 0.4 mi
  • Sara Delano Roosevelt Park: 0.4 mi
  • New Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.4 mi
  • Eldridge Street Synagogue: 0.4 mi
  • Museum at Eldridge Street: 0.5 mi
  • Municipal Building: 0.5 mi
  • Dahesh Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Space Untitled Espresso Bar: 0.5 mi
  • Alfred E. Smith House: 0.5 mi
  • Queen of Greene Street: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall Park: 0.5 mi
  • Tribeca Film Center: 0.5 mi
  • New Era Building: 0.5 mi
  • City Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Lower East Side Tenement Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pace University: 0.6 mi
  • New York City Fire Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Drumgoole Plaza: 0.6 mi
  • Woolworth Building: 0.6 mi
  • 8 Spruce Street: 0.6 mi

Dining

138 Bistro Lounge & Bar
The recently redesigned 138 Bistro serves up a whole new menu, featuring fresh, delicious American Cuisine and combines it with excellent service. The tantalizing menu features a great selection of daily specialties, signature sandwiches, juicy burgers,
138 Bistro & Lounge
After a long day of business or leisure activities, head to our hotel's Lobby Bar, 138 Bistro & Lounge, for our signature cocktail selections or your favorite libation.Experience Great service and a Relaxed Environment. Have drinks with colleagues, meet

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (135)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Momma Mia
NYC
Nov 29, 2011

Great location

It was wonderful.Easy to get to and from.Very clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Soho has everything from upscale shopping to Chinatown.We could shop then bring our bags back to the hotel with ease.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mexico City
Jan 5, 2011

Not best option, but good ubication

Not best option but it is locate near NY Metro, so yo can easily move to/from downtown/uptown. Near China Town and Little Italy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very near to Metro Subway station.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 9, 2010

Holiday Inn Soho = pleasant stay

I was visiting NYC for business but stayed through the weekend with my boyfriend. The location is great! My meetings were in Midtown but I was able to catch the subway right down the street and be there within 15 minutes. The hotel itself was nothing extraordinary, but it was clean, the staff was friendly and there were no hassles. Soho is a great area to stay. Lots of shopping, tons of restaurants, and people watching. We had a blast just walking around the neighborhood. Little Italy is only blocks away, Chinatown is right there, and trendy boutique shopping everywhere. Would stay here and do it all over again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're into pasta try Amici's. It's a small, family owned, home made pasta place. We had a great meal with wine for a reasonable price. Yum!

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 9, 2010

Holiday Inn Soho = pleasant stay

I was visiting NYC for business but stayed through the weekend with my boyfriend. The location is great! My meetings were in Midtown but I was able to catch the subway right down the street and be there within 15 minutes. The hotel itself was nothing extraordinary, but it was clean, the staff was friendly and there were no hassles. Soho is a great area to stay. Lots of shopping, tons of restaurants, and people watching. We had a blast just walking around the neighborhood. Little Italy is only blocks away, Chinatown is right there, and trendy boutique shopping everywhere. Would stay here and do it all over again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're into pasta try Amici's. It's a small, family owned, home made pasta place. We had a great meal with wine for a reasonable price. Yum!

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
guyfromut
Business
Utah
Oct 17, 2010

Cool place

The hotel was great. Clean rooms, friendly staff and close to anything you need. The lounge area was very large and spacious and would have been great for business meetings or entertaining. The only bad thing was, the menu was spartan and the bar wasn't very well stocked. So unfortunately the great lounge area wasn't sufficient for business. If the lounge offerings were improved, I could easily see conducting meetings at the hotel and not needing to leave. And once again, the staff was excellent. Very friendly. Very helpful and very courteous. It was really a delight to have such polite, helpful staff available for my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a short walk to just about any cuisine you desire. Just make sure to bring an umbrella. NYC is infamous for random rainstorms. Also, during rush hour, it will be difficult to find a cabbie that is going to take you to SoHo unless you are way uptown. They just won't do short distances. So be aware of that.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
guyfromut
Business
Utah
Oct 17, 2010

Cool place

The hotel was great. Clean rooms, friendly staff and close to anything you need. The lounge area was very large and spacious and would have been great for business meetings or entertaining. The only bad thing was, the menu was spartan and the bar wasn't very well stocked. So unfortunately the great lounge area wasn't sufficient for business. If the lounge offerings were improved, I could easily see conducting meetings at the hotel and not needing to leave. And once again, the staff was excellent. Very friendly. Very helpful and very courteous. It was really a delight to have such polite, helpful staff available for my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It's a short walk to just about any cuisine you desire. Just make sure to bring an umbrella. NYC is infamous for random rainstorms. Also, during rush hour, it will be difficult to find a cabbie that is going to take you to SoHo unless you are way uptown. They just won't do short distances. So be aware of that.

Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelerfrommd
Baltimore MD
Aug 23, 2010

Horrible experience - had to leave

This hotel booked us for a standard queen room. When we arrived we were told all they had left was a handicap room with a single bed not big enough for the two on the reservation. They didnt have another room and refused to refund our money for the first night. We had to leave and find another hotel. Not to mention the room was filthy and the staff was horribly rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travelerfrommd
Baltimore MD
Aug 23, 2010

Horrible experience - had to leave

This hotel booked us for a standard queen room. When we arrived we were told all they had left was a handicap room with a single bed not big enough for the two on the reservation. They didnt have another room and refused to refund our money for the first night. We had to leave and find another hotel. Not to mention the room was filthy and the staff was horribly rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
LA, CA
Aug 9, 2010

Small and bad

Small room, location is close to chinatown. Not very clean, noisy. I don't recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
LA, CA
Aug 9, 2010

Small and bad

Small room, location is close to chinatown. Not very clean, noisy. I don't recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn NEW YORK-SOHO

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati
May 25, 2010

Nice place to stay

My room was very nice, though small, but perfectly fine for me travelling alone. Modern, up to date. Nice shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Canal street subway less than one block away.

Back to menu Return to top