$93 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

3 stars
232 West 29th Street, New York, NY 10001-5201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
134 reviews
Friendly Staff

The staffs were friendly and the breakfast was awesome! It is of walking distance to time square. See full review

  • Travel9999
  • Dec 1, 2014
Great Gem near MSG!

Great Stay! Great Locale! Great Staff! Great Hidden hotel Gem in NYC! See full review

  • MonaGirl
  • Nov 20, 2014
Stay Smart at Our Madison Square Garden Hotel The Holiday Inn Express® NYC Madison Square Garden hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms. Looking for great corporate room deals? Our hotel in New York City provides you with everything you need to stay in touch with the office, such as a Business Center that features computer access, copy and print services and a meeting room. In addition, our hotel is located just one mile from the Jacob Javits Convention Center, and we are a short walk from Penn Plaza, which hosts many of the area's businesses. Leisure travelers are also sure to enjoy our prime location and great deals, as our hotel in NYC is close to the greatest attractions the city has to offer. We're just two blocks from Madison Square Garden, a half-mile from the Empire State Building and a mile from Rockefeller Center. In addition, Chinatown, Central Park, Times Square, Penn Station, the Theatre District, the Fashion Institute of Technology and shopping along 5th Ave are nearby. During your stay with us in NYC, our hotel's amenities will impress you, as we feature everything from free high-speed Internet access to a Fitness Center and a delicious, hot breakfast, which features our signature cinnamon rolls. Book now, and enjoy the great deals at our hotel in NYC today!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.5 mi
  • High Line: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.5 mi
  • High Line: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.6 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.6 mi
  • Dia Center for the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.7 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Lower West Side: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square: 0.7 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.8 mi

Dining

Uncle Nicks Greek Cusine
Reasonably priced Greek restaurant steps aways from the hotel. Restaurant is specializes in family sized, sharing portions. Casual atmosphere. Ideal for families and large groups.
Seven
Casual dining offering New American cuisine. Specializes in specialty cocktails.
Seven
New American style bar and restaurant. Known for specialty cocktails and happy hour.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (134)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 134
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MonaGirl
Business
New York, NY
Nov 20, 2014

Great Gem near MSG!

Great Stay! Great Locale! Great Staff! Great Hidden hotel Gem in NYC!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gst0rm7
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 4, 2014

Good location

The staff was friendly, rooms were clean and it's a great location. It's a little pricey but it is Manhattan after all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
All good names are gone
Business
San Francisco
Feb 25, 2014

Fine Stay

Good value, great location, fine hotel, free breakfast/wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SteveH
Business
Silver Spring, MD
Dec 27, 2012

Good location and clean

The rooms were, not surprisingly, small (as many other reviews had indicated), but were clean. The heat unit was a bit loud and sometimes didn't actually kick on until i played with the wall control unit several times. Breakfast was a mad house because of the holidays. They did a fairly good job of keeping it stocked in spite of the large ravenous crowd of guests. One of the two elevators stopped working several times while I was there, but the staff said they didn't want to take it out of service to repair it. Huh?? The location is the best feature of this hotel...just 2 blocks from Penn Station! Then, I would say they kept the room/hotel fairly clean. The free breakfast and WiFi was nice too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lot of great cafes nearby on both 7th and 8th Avs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CanadianDiver
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Sep 24, 2012

Staff are so, so nice

This is a great little hotel in an amazing location in the Garment District, close to Chelsea, the High Line, and 3 subway lines. My room was REALLY small, but had everything I needed. But really, all you need in New York is a safe, clean room to stash your stuff and get (some) sleep. My room was really quiet and I almost never heard other guests. Wifi worked well and I always woke up too late for breakfast ;) What really made this hotel amazing was the staff-- every person was friendly, said hello each time I encountered someone. They even let me check in super early (11am) since they had a room available, and then, on the day I checked out, stored my bags until 7pm when I had to leave for my flight. Everyone was genuinely nice and made me feel comfortable and at home. I'll definitely be staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down the High Line to the Chelsea Market to get some great elevated views of the city, and then score some vintage wear and a yummy lunch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elderwanda
Business
Alameda, CA, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Comfortable Beds

My flight arrived very early in the morning, but the people at the desk were still able to find me a room, even though check-in isn't until 4pm. I really appreciated that. Although the room is quite small, the bed and chair were comfortable. Coffee in the lobby is tasty and appreciated. Great price, considering the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SteveNYCVisitor
Business
San Francisco, California
Oct 19, 2011

Good for the value

I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express chain before and this one in NYC near Madison Square Garden offers the same that makes it a good deal and value for the budget-conscious traveler: the rooms are small but clean and well-maintained, the relatively low-cost per night room rate leaves you more money in your pocket to spend on other things on your trip, and the complimentary breakfast is excellent (and also a money saver). This particular Holiday Inn Express also has the advantage of being within walking distance of two major subway lines. However, the location is in a "gritty" area that some people may not feel safe walking at night. In addition, the room I stayed in was facing the street and I was woken up by street noise in the middle of the night. The staff is very helpful and arranged morning wake-up calls for me and a hotel shuttle to take me to the airport. The maid service was adequate, although sometimes my room was not made up when I returned in the mid-afternoon (3pm).Because of the small size of this hotel, there is not much extra here. There isn't even room for a mounted-wall TV, which I have seen in other Holiday Inn Express locations. Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you are looking to save money, want a convenient location, and are just looking for a clean hotel room and do not need a luxury hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Getaway Steve
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 17, 2011

Great location, great service

I came back to NY for long weekend getaway and have enjoyed my previous experiences at The Holiday Inn Express in the Financial District. This one near the Garden was a great choice as it's location puts you within walking distance to Times Square, Madison Square Garden and near Chelsea, which sports a good variety of food and night life. As for the hotel, the staff was friendly and personable. The woman at the desk remembered my name after three days of not seeing her since I checked in! The room was on the 12th floor looking down on W. 29th, it was spacious, clean, and well maintained. I'd definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a nice variety of food experiences, walk down 7th below 29th till about 20th. You'll run into many eat in and carry out spots that are worth visiting and you can stay away from the large crowds of tourists flocking to the Garden and Times Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ice Skating lady
Business
Alexandria VA
Oct 27, 2010

Great time in NYC

The hotel room was so huge by New York standards. I was in a room with a king size bed and whirlpool tube. Very roomy, clean, and great location close to Penn Station. Will Definitely stay there again. Breakfast was great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Penn Station and Madison Square Garden

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Jul 14, 2010

Good price and location

I have been to NYC many times to visit my son. This hotel was a great price and most of the staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was OK. with a lot of variety. the maid on the 9th floor is wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the Radio City Music Hall tour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top