$93 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 3, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

3 stars
232 West 29th Street, New York, NY 10001-5201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
134 reviews
Friendly Staff

The staffs were friendly and the breakfast was awesome! It is of walking distance to time square. See full review

  • Travel9999
  • Dec 1, 2014
Great Gem near MSG!

Great Stay! Great Locale! Great Staff! Great Hidden hotel Gem in NYC! See full review

  • MonaGirl
  • Nov 20, 2014
Stay Smart at Our Madison Square Garden Hotel The Holiday Inn Express® NYC Madison Square Garden hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms. Looking for great corporate room deals? Our hotel in New York City provides you with everything you need to stay in touch with the office, such as a Business Center that features computer access, copy and print services and a meeting room. In addition, our hotel is located just one mile from the Jacob Javits Convention Center, and we are a short walk from Penn Plaza, which hosts many of the area's businesses. Leisure travelers are also sure to enjoy our prime location and great deals, as our hotel in NYC is close to the greatest attractions the city has to offer. We're just two blocks from Madison Square Garden, a half-mile from the Empire State Building and a mile from Rockefeller Center. In addition, Chinatown, Central Park, Times Square, Penn Station, the Theatre District, the Fashion Institute of Technology and shopping along 5th Ave are nearby. During your stay with us in NYC, our hotel's amenities will impress you, as we feature everything from free high-speed Internet access to a Fitness Center and a delicious, hot breakfast, which features our signature cinnamon rolls. Book now, and enjoy the great deals at our hotel in NYC today!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.5 mi
  • High Line: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.5 mi
  • High Line: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.6 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.6 mi
  • Dia Center for the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.7 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Lower West Side: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square: 0.7 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.8 mi

Dining

Uncle Nicks Greek Cusine
Reasonably priced Greek restaurant steps aways from the hotel. Restaurant is specializes in family sized, sharing portions. Casual atmosphere. Ideal for families and large groups.
Seven
Casual dining offering New American cuisine. Specializes in specialty cocktails.
Seven
New American style bar and restaurant. Known for specialty cocktails and happy hour.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (134)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 134
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
work21
Business
San Diego ca
Nov 14, 2014

PROFESSIONAL

LOCATION WAS GOOD. STAFF WAS VERY HELPFUL AND PROFESSIONAL AT ALL TIMES

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

ABLE TO SEE ALL ATRAACTION WITHIN A REASONABLE WALK

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashley K511
Business
NYC
Aug 25, 2014

Very convient

This hotel was very convent for me and my needs. Good breakfast and rooms aren't too small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Marimer G
Business
USA
Aug 8, 2014

Just a OK hotel

Terrible staff not helpful at all. Location is a bit sketchy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WorldTraveler2014
Business
New York and Florida
Mar 27, 2014

Quick business visit

The area is safe and close to the train station/garden. The hotel lobby was clean and nice. Windows right on the street. My room was directly off the lobby but no noise at all with the added benefit of a spa tub with sliding doors onto the bedroom. Overall, a solid 3.5 star hotel and Ia got a greatninetynine dollar value, a perfect combination!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sunnyna
Business
boston ma
Jan 12, 2014

cleaning

The bathtub was so dirty but breakfast was not bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KMMa
Business
Savannah GA
Dec 25, 2012

good

Was OK. reservation was not on the correct name, therefore called and corrected.No discount and points. recommended to reserve directly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rfrench22
Business
Chicago
Sep 22, 2012

Fine stay in Chelsea

Great location, average hotel. I would recommend for a decent stay in nyc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bartster
Business
Brooklyn,NY
Jul 29, 2012

Able to relax

The room was very comfortable and clean. It was in close proximity to my appointment. I was able to relax each night after a stressful meeting. The staff was very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Red from Texas
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Jan 8, 2012

Great hotel; Best in Chelsea. Staff goes extra mile!

Great hotel; Best in Chelsea. Staff goes extra mile! Comfortable beds and the best breakfast in the morning that you could ask for! You won't need to eat anything the rest of the day. Very, Very Accommodating Right by Madison Square Gardens. You can walk, shop everywhere. Super close to Times Square. Room was small but the price; you can not beat!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Madison Square Gardens, Times Square. Friendly staff. You can not bet the location, price and the value

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Field Filling Words
Business
Portland, OR
Aug 26, 2011

Exactly what you expect from a Holiday Inn Express!

I was worried that this was some sort of converted old hotel that was now a "Holiday Inn Express", but if that was the case they did a spectacular job. I was at the hotel for business, and it provided exactly what I would expect for the price and type of hotel. The room was exceptionally clean, had free wi-fi, and an excellent selection of channels on TV. The free breakfast was the same as at other HIE I have stayed at in the past. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Rooms were relatively quiet. Bathroom was quite clean. I would not hesitate to stay here again, nor would I hesitate to stay here on a vacation rather than business. If your needs are basically a place to say in the city, without too many frills, this is all you need!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top