$108 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

3 stars
232 WEST 29TH STREET, NEW YORK CITY, NY 10001-5201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
199 reviews
exceptional service

Recently stayed at ths location. Staff was more than accomodating to our needs. They were willing... See full review

  • Cinderella17832
  • May 9, 2014
Weekend in NYC

Fantastic experience all around! We were able to check in early before we had to go to see show,... See full review

  • Donna Lois
  • Mar 9, 2013
Stay Smart at Our Madison Square Garden Hotel The Holiday Inn Express® NYC Madison Square Garden hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms. Looking for great corporate room deals? Our hotel in New York City provides you with everything you need to stay in touch with the office, such as a Business Center that features computer access, copy and print services and a meeting room. In addition, our hotel is located just one mile from the Jacob Javits Convention Center, and we are a short walk from Penn Plaza, which hosts many of the area's businesses. Leisure travelers are also sure to enjoy our prime location and great deals, as our hotel in NYC is close to the greatest attractions the city has to offer. We're just two blocks from Madison Square Garden, a half-mile from the Empire State Building and a mile from Rockefeller Center. In addition, Chinatown, Central Park, Times Square, Penn Station, the Theatre District, the Fashion Institute of Technology and shopping along 5th Ave are nearby. During your stay with us in NYC, our hotel's amenities will impress you, as we feature everything from free high-speed Internet access to a Fitness Center and a delicious, hot breakfast, which features our signature cinnamon rolls. Book now, and enjoy the great deals at our hotel in NYC today!

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Hotel Map

40.7483 -73.9946
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy Airport, (JFK), 18.00, MI, SE; LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 9.00, MI, NE; Newark Liberty International Airpoert, (EWR), 16.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.5 mi
  • High Line: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.5 mi
  • High Line: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.6 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.6 mi
  • Dia Center for the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.7 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Lower West Side: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square: 0.7 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.8 mi

Dining

Uncle Nicks Greek Cusine
Reasonably priced Greek restaurant steps aways from the hotel. Restaurant is specializes in family sized, sharing portions. Casual atmosphere. Ideal for families and large groups.
Seven
Casual dining offering New American cuisine. Specializes in specialty cocktails.
Seven
New American style bar and restaurant. Known for specialty cocktails and happy hour.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (199)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
199 out of 199
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nick_name_x
Switzerland
Jan 17, 2010

Stay away from this place!h

ROOM The curtain of the window could not be moved (I have never seen something like that before), so the room was lit up all night up by the street lights. For the same reason, everyone taking part in the fencing classes accross the street could easily watch you change your clothes. BREAKFAST The breakfast did not deserve its name: No rolls, no toast, no croissants, no bread, no yoghurt, no fruit. The cereals were ok. STAFF I put the "DO NOT DISTURB" label on my door b/c I wanted to sleep late. That morning, however, housekeeping woke me up three times; twice, they simply kept knocking on my door until I told them that I had put the label on the door so I would not be disturbed. Finally, they called, waking me up for the third time, and I told them for the third time that I did not want to be disturbed. BOTTOM LINE Stay away from this place!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
No More Holiday
San Diego, CA
Feb 18, 2011

From bad to worse

It was one of the most unpleasant experiences ever from check-in to check out.We're traveling during the big snow storm that hit NYC in December(2010). Our flight was cancelled so we arrived one day later. At the checking we're told no room with two beds were available. They brought in a roll on bed after 2 hours. The TV remote control didn't work. We requested several times a new one and the late night manager was very rude and unapologetic. We were unable to watch TV during the entire stay. Then we requested additional towels - we're told the hotel had run out of towels!!To top it of, at the check-out I requested a refund for the night we didn't stay (due to the snow storm)and I was told I had to get it from [...]since the reservation was booked through them. I've contacted [...]and [...]told me the hotel refused to give a reimbursement. Never staying at a Holiday Inn again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
No More Holiday
San Diego, CA
Feb 18, 2011

From bad to worse

It was one of the most unpleasant experiences ever from check-in to check out.We're traveling during the big snow storm that hit NYC in December(2010). Our flight was cancelled so we arrived one day later. At the checking we're told no room with two beds were available. They brought in a roll on bed after 2 hours. The TV remote control didn't work. We requested several times a new one and the late night manager was very rude and unapologetic. We were unable to watch TV during the entire stay. Then we requested additional towels - we're told the hotel had run out of towels!!To top it of, at the check-out I requested a refund for the night we didn't stay (due to the snow storm)and I was told I had to get it from [...]since the reservation was booked through them. I've contacted [...]and [...]told me the hotel refused to give a reimbursement. Never staying at a Holiday Inn again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nick_name_x
Switzerland
Jan 17, 2010

Stay away from this place!h

ROOM The curtain of the window could not be moved (I have never seen something like that before), so the room was lit up all night up by the street lights. For the same reason, everyone taking part in the fencing classes accross the street could easily watch you change your clothes. BREAKFAST The breakfast did not deserve its name: No rolls, no toast, no croissants, no bread, no yoghurt, no fruit. The cereals were ok. STAFF I put the "DO NOT DISTURB" label on my door b/c I wanted to sleep late. That morning, however, housekeeping woke me up three times; twice, they simply kept knocking on my door until I told them that I had put the label on the door so I would not be disturbed. Finally, they called, waking me up for the third time, and I told them for the third time that I did not want to be disturbed. BOTTOM LINE Stay away from this place!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New England
May 6, 2009

Noisey AC system/very dirty carpets

The room was new looking until you looked closer. The carpets needed shampooing (very dirty looking). The AC/Heating unit was very loud (only one fan speed... HIGH). I requested additional towels from housekeeping. An hour latter, and two phone calls, no additional towels. The bed were rock hard, no give at all. I would not recommend this hotel with out explaining my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 21, 2007

My review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

We were very disappointed that the roomwas so small. You could barely walk between the beds and the TV. We had to call three times for 2 days to get washclothes. They never left enough towels. The coffee pot did not work and there was no coffee the first day we were there. We will not stay at this hotel again!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway and shopping not too far from hotel.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
walnut, ca
Aug 27, 2009

not value for money

too expensive and not value for money in the area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New England
May 6, 2009

Noisey AC system/very dirty carpets

The room was new looking until you looked closer. The carpets needed shampooing (very dirty looking). The AC/Heating unit was very loud (only one fan speed... HIGH). I requested additional towels from housekeeping. An hour latter, and two phone calls, no additional towels. The bed were rock hard, no give at all. I would not recommend this hotel with out explaining my experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
walnut, ca
Aug 27, 2009

not value for money

too expensive and not value for money in the area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 21, 2007

My review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

We were very disappointed that the roomwas so small. You could barely walk between the beds and the TV. We had to call three times for 2 days to get washclothes. They never left enough towels. The coffee pot did not work and there was no coffee the first day we were there. We will not stay at this hotel again!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Subway and shopping not too far from hotel.

Back to menu Return to top