$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

3 stars
View map of 232 West 29th Street, New York, NY 10001-5201

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
142 reviews
Review Title

The staffs were friendly and the breakfast was awesome! It is of walking distance to time square. See full review

  • kenneth h.
  • Feb 9, 2015
great trip

Great location , staff, breakfast was served impeccable every morning. Clean See full review

  • kenneth h.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Stay Smart at Our Madison Square Garden Hotel The Holiday Inn Express® NYC Madison Square Garden hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms. Looking for great corporate room deals? Our hotel in New York City provides you with everything you need to stay in touch with the office, such as a Business Center that features computer access, copy and print services and a meeting room. In addition, our hotel is located just one mile from the Jacob Javits Convention Center, and we are a short walk from Penn Plaza, which hosts many of the area's businesses. Leisure travelers are also sure to enjoy our prime location and great deals, as our hotel in NYC is close to the greatest attractions the city has to offer. We're just two blocks from Madison Square Garden, a half-mile from the Empire State Building and a mile from Rockefeller Center. In addition, Chinatown, Central Park, Times Square, Penn Station, the Theatre District, the Fashion Institute of Technology and shopping along 5th Ave are nearby. During your stay with us in NYC, our hotel's amenities will impress you, as we feature everything from free high-speed Internet access to a Fitness Center and a delicious, hot breakfast, which features our signature cinnamon rolls. Book now, and enjoy the great deals at our hotel in NYC today!

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.5 mi
  • High Line: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.5 mi
  • High Line: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.6 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.6 mi
  • Dia Center for the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.7 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Lower West Side: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square: 0.7 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.8 mi

Dining

Uncle Nicks Greek Cusine
Reasonably priced Greek restaurant steps aways from the hotel. Restaurant is specializes in family sized, sharing portions. Casual atmosphere. Ideal for families and large groups.
Seven
Casual dining offering New American cuisine. Specializes in specialty cocktails.
Seven
New American style bar and restaurant. Known for specialty cocktails and happy hour.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 3, 2008

All Around Great Hotel

The Chelsea Holiday Inn Express was such a fabulous find! We were very happy to find that it offered much. The staff was exceedingly nice and helpful, the free breakfast was absolutely amazing, the rooms were clean and large, and the entire place had a great feel. Everyone was friendly and accomodating, and we cannot wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants and bars are everywhere, in the chic and young area of Chelsea

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shuffles
Business
York, ME, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Very nice!

Room small but very clean and nice. Very good Breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The German
Business
New York
May 15, 2012

perfect

Perfect location, staff very helpful, friendly, and knowledgable Rooms were very clean, yet small......since we only go to the hotel for a shower and a good night sleep it was perfect. Price was very reasonable for a nice hotel in the heart of New York. I would definitly recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hurricane Sandy Survivors
Business
Bristol, England
Nov 6, 2012

Excellent Location and Staff

Wanted a base to see New York with family and friends for a few days and this was ideal. Clean rooms (although a little small) and really friendly, helpful staff. 10 minute walk to Times Square and 20 minutes to Central Park. We had to extend our stay due to Hurricane Sandy and we could not have been in a better place! We were kept informed and well looked after by the staff, even putting on extra (free) food, when the city was shut down. There seemed to be problems all around with power outages and flooding, but if there were any issues with the hotel we did not see or were affected by them. A really big thank you to Ana and her staff! Would highly recommend for a visit to New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a New York City Pass before you go! Saves money on sights and attractions and give you some inside information.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donna Lois
Business
Long Island NY
Mar 9, 2013

Weekend in NYC

Fantastic experience all around! We were able to check in early before we had to go to see show, room was clean, nice size room, tub in bathroom. Staff was so polite and helpful. Held our luggage even though we checked out so we could spend another day in the city! Even the elevator mechanic was so polite and helpful. The breakfast was unbelieveable. Pancake, sausage and so much more. Incredible value and service considered the price we paid. Will return again in September when we go see Wicked!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Toyabex
Business
Atlanta GA
Dec 18, 2010

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS NYC

Very nice place to stay. I have stayed in the Marriott Marquis in NYC before and compared to the Marriott I would stay at the Holiday Inn again. The room was smaller but had everything we needed. We even got a complimentary breakfast (hot food) while staying at the Holiday inn. No breakfast with Marriott. Coffee, tea, water was also available in the lobby 24 hr. We were in walking distance to Penn station, Madison Square, and the NY subway station. I really enjoyed my stay and look forward to booking with them in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the subway to get around. A trip one way cost only $2.25. The hotels can give you direction to where you want to go. WE took the train to Brooklyn, Chinatown, and New Jersey (the NJ transit ($13)).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ice Skating lady
Business
Alexandria VA
Oct 27, 2010

Great time in NYC

The hotel room was so huge by New York standards. I was in a room with a king size bed and whirlpool tube. Very roomy, clean, and great location close to Penn Station. Will Definitely stay there again. Breakfast was great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Penn Station and Madison Square Garden

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
working gal
Business
westerville, oh
May 21, 2009

great price & location

staff was very courteous and helpful - great location - good size room for the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to macys

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 4, 2011

Nice spot

Place was clean, quiet and comfy. Not much space in our room, but knowing what NYC has to offer, that was no biggie. The jet tub was an odd feature to the room though. Very nice staff too, I'd definitely stay here again considering it was very economical. Plus traveling around NYC from here was super easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Falls Church Va
Mar 28, 2009

Clean, Cheap, Tasty!

We went for a quick cheap celebratory trip. This hotel gave us everything we wanted and more. The staff was very helpful. The 24 hour coffee was good, it was raining when we got there. They have a small business center with online access for free (3 computers and free printing also). Though the room we had was small it was very clean and looked great. We didn't feel uncomfortable one bit. The free breakfast was great but crowded. Totally happy with our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The free breakfast is a very good thing in NYC. While it's not the most elaborate it includes juice, hot food (egg, meat, biscuits), baked goods, & fruit. The first floor offers 24-hour coffee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top