$144 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

3 stars
232 West 29th Street, New York, NY 10001-5201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
146 reviews
exceptional service

Recently stayed at ths location. Staff was more than accomodating to our needs. They were willing... See full review

  • Cinderella17832
  • May 9, 2014
Weekend in NYC

Fantastic experience all around! We were able to check in early before we had to go to see show,... See full review

  • Donna Lois
  • Mar 9, 2013
Stay Smart at Our Madison Square Garden Hotel The Holiday Inn Express® NYC Madison Square Garden hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms. Looking for great corporate room deals? Our hotel in New York City provides you with everything you need to stay in touch with the office, such as a Business Center that features computer access, copy and print services and a meeting room. In addition, our hotel is located just one mile from the Jacob Javits Convention Center, and we are a short walk from Penn Plaza, which hosts many of the area's businesses. Leisure travelers are also sure to enjoy our prime location and great deals, as our hotel in NYC is close to the greatest attractions the city has to offer. We're just two blocks from Madison Square Garden, a half-mile from the Empire State Building and a mile from Rockefeller Center. In addition, Chinatown, Central Park, Times Square, Penn Station, the Theatre District, the Fashion Institute of Technology and shopping along 5th Ave are nearby. During your stay with us in NYC, our hotel's amenities will impress you, as we feature everything from free high-speed Internet access to a Fitness Center and a delicious, hot breakfast, which features our signature cinnamon rolls. Book now, and enjoy the great deals at our hotel in NYC today!

Hotel Map

40.7483 -73.9946
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy Airport, (JFK), 18.00, MI; Newark Liberty International Airpoert, (EWR), 16.00, MI; LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 9.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.5 mi
  • High Line: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.5 mi
  • High Line: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.6 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.6 mi
  • Dia Center for the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.7 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Lower West Side: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square: 0.7 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.8 mi

Dining

Uncle Nicks Greek Cusine
Reasonably priced Greek restaurant steps aways from the hotel. Restaurant is specializes in family sized, sharing portions. Casual atmosphere. Ideal for families and large groups.
Seven
Casual dining offering New American cuisine. Specializes in specialty cocktails.
Seven
New American style bar and restaurant. Known for specialty cocktails and happy hour.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (146)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
146 out of 146
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Feb 3, 2008

All Around Great Hotel

The Chelsea Holiday Inn Express was such a fabulous find! We were very happy to find that it offered much. The staff was exceedingly nice and helpful, the free breakfast was absolutely amazing, the rooms were clean and large, and the entire place had a great feel. Everyone was friendly and accomodating, and we cannot wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants and bars are everywhere, in the chic and young area of Chelsea

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Sep 19, 2009

Would definately stay there again.

Would definately stay there again. Good sized and clean rooms. Great location just off 7th Avenue and walking distnce to Times Square and subway. Great breakfasts

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Nov 23, 2009

Very comfortable , it met our

Very comfortable , it met our expectations, and was central to all New York has to offer. Very good value, we were very happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shuffles
York, ME, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Very nice!

Room small but very clean and nice. Very good Breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The German
New York
May 15, 2012

perfect

Perfect location, staff very helpful, friendly, and knowledgable Rooms were very clean, yet small......since we only go to the hotel for a shower and a good night sleep it was perfect. Price was very reasonable for a nice hotel in the heart of New York. I would definitly recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hurricane Sandy Survivors
Bristol, England
Nov 6, 2012

Excellent Location and Staff

Wanted a base to see New York with family and friends for a few days and this was ideal. Clean rooms (although a little small) and really friendly, helpful staff. 10 minute walk to Times Square and 20 minutes to Central Park. We had to extend our stay due to Hurricane Sandy and we could not have been in a better place! We were kept informed and well looked after by the staff, even putting on extra (free) food, when the city was shut down. There seemed to be problems all around with power outages and flooding, but if there were any issues with the hotel we did not see or were affected by them. A really big thank you to Ana and her staff! Would highly recommend for a visit to New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a New York City Pass before you go! Saves money on sights and attractions and give you some inside information.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donna Lois
Long Island NY
Mar 9, 2013

Weekend in NYC

Fantastic experience all around! We were able to check in early before we had to go to see show, room was clean, nice size room, tub in bathroom. Staff was so polite and helpful. Held our luggage even though we checked out so we could spend another day in the city! Even the elevator mechanic was so polite and helpful. The breakfast was unbelieveable. Pancake, sausage and so much more. Incredible value and service considered the price we paid. Will return again in September when we go see Wicked!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Toyabex
Atlanta GA
Dec 18, 2010

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS NYC

Very nice place to stay. I have stayed in the Marriott Marquis in NYC before and compared to the Marriott I would stay at the Holiday Inn again. The room was smaller but had everything we needed. We even got a complimentary breakfast (hot food) while staying at the Holiday inn. No breakfast with Marriott. Coffee, tea, water was also available in the lobby 24 hr. We were in walking distance to Penn station, Madison Square, and the NY subway station. I really enjoyed my stay and look forward to booking with them in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the subway to get around. A trip one way cost only $2.25. The hotels can give you direction to where you want to go. WE took the train to Brooklyn, Chinatown, and New Jersey (the NJ transit ($13)).

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ice Skating lady
Alexandria VA
Oct 27, 2010

Great time in NYC

The hotel room was so huge by New York standards. I was in a room with a king size bed and whirlpool tube. Very roomy, clean, and great location close to Penn Station. Will Definitely stay there again. Breakfast was great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Penn Station and Madison Square Garden

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
working gal
westerville, oh
May 21, 2009

great price & location

staff was very courteous and helpful - great location - good size room for the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to macys

Back to menu Return to top

Change search