$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

3 stars
View map of 232 West 29th Street, New York, NY 10001-5201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
138 out of 138
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Toyabex
Business
Atlanta GA
Dec 18, 2010

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS NYC

Very nice place to stay. I have stayed in the Marriott Marquis in NYC before and compared to the Marriott I would stay at the Holiday Inn again. The room was smaller but had everything we needed. We even got a complimentary breakfast (hot food) while staying at the Holiday inn. No breakfast with Marriott. Coffee, tea, water was also available in the lobby 24 hr. We were in walking distance to Penn station, Madison Square, and the NY subway station. I really enjoyed my stay and look forward to booking with them in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the subway to get around. A trip one way cost only $2.25. The hotels can give you direction to where you want to go. WE took the train to Brooklyn, Chinatown, and New Jersey (the NJ transit ($13)).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Accomplice Travelers
Business
Central NJ
Nov 28, 2010

weekend in nyc

The rooms were very small, but very clean and cozy. The staff was very helpful and nice. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ice Skating lady
Business
Alexandria VA
Oct 27, 2010

Great time in NYC

The hotel room was so huge by New York standards. I was in a room with a king size bed and whirlpool tube. Very roomy, clean, and great location close to Penn Station. Will Definitely stay there again. Breakfast was great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Penn Station and Madison Square Garden

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 19, 2010

Great stay!

Staff was great, friendly and very helpful in directing us to different locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Jul 14, 2010

Good price and location

I have been to NYC many times to visit my son. This hotel was a great price and most of the staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was OK. with a lot of variety. the maid on the 9th floor is wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the Radio City Music Hall tour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TexasViking
Business
Washington, D.C.
Jul 10, 2010

[...]

Location was in central Manhattan, only blocks from the NY Penn Station... not far from anything. We went to Broadway and saw Phantom of the Opera, and well as the King Tutt exhibit and Metroplitan Museum. The NYC 4th of July fireworks could be seen from our 15th floor hotel room. Hotel was a very good bargain, centrally located, with free breakfast in the morning. Only downsize was the extremely small rooms and limited seating for breakfast. No swimming pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Broadway is a long walk or short cab ride north of the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plattsburgh, NY
Jul 5, 2010

It was great

the hotel is in a really good location and well organized. I loved the outdoor seating area in the entrance. It was a great experience for a cheap price, I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

great lounges, bars, etc. plus the hotel is close to 42nd street, which is the street that never sleeps, a lot going on there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jun 13, 2010

Great value

Especially considering the location, this is a great value. Within walking distance to tons of places, but far away enough for it to be quiet. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oroville, CA
May 17, 2010

EXCELLENT

For the price, I found this hotel to really be a Gem. You can get some shady hotels in that area...this one was great, very very clean and for being on 29th street it was amazingly quite!! A very quick walk to Madison Square Gardens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parent of a NYU student
Business
Flint, MI
May 17, 2010

Great deak for the money

The only real complaint is that the room's carpet could use a good cleaning. The room was small, but OK for two people - more would be too tight. The breakfast was good, especially for those on a budget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top