$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

3 stars
232 West 29th Street, New York, NY 10001-5201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
134 reviews
Friendly Staff

The staffs were friendly and the breakfast was awesome! It is of walking distance to time square. See full review

  • Travel9999
  • Dec 1, 2014
Great Gem near MSG!

Great Stay! Great Locale! Great Staff! Great Hidden hotel Gem in NYC! See full review

  • MonaGirl
  • Nov 20, 2014
Stay Smart at Our Madison Square Garden Hotel The Holiday Inn Express® NYC Madison Square Garden hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms. Looking for great corporate room deals? Our hotel in New York City provides you with everything you need to stay in touch with the office, such as a Business Center that features computer access, copy and print services and a meeting room. In addition, our hotel is located just one mile from the Jacob Javits Convention Center, and we are a short walk from Penn Plaza, which hosts many of the area's businesses. Leisure travelers are also sure to enjoy our prime location and great deals, as our hotel in NYC is close to the greatest attractions the city has to offer. We're just two blocks from Madison Square Garden, a half-mile from the Empire State Building and a mile from Rockefeller Center. In addition, Chinatown, Central Park, Times Square, Penn Station, the Theatre District, the Fashion Institute of Technology and shopping along 5th Ave are nearby. During your stay with us in NYC, our hotel's amenities will impress you, as we feature everything from free high-speed Internet access to a Fitness Center and a delicious, hot breakfast, which features our signature cinnamon rolls. Book now, and enjoy the great deals at our hotel in NYC today!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.5 mi
  • High Line: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.5 mi
  • High Line: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.6 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.6 mi
  • Dia Center for the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.7 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Lower West Side: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square: 0.7 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.8 mi

Dining

Uncle Nicks Greek Cusine
Reasonably priced Greek restaurant steps aways from the hotel. Restaurant is specializes in family sized, sharing portions. Casual atmosphere. Ideal for families and large groups.
Seven
Casual dining offering New American cuisine. Specializes in specialty cocktails.
Seven
New American style bar and restaurant. Known for specialty cocktails and happy hour.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (134)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr storage
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 22, 2011

Good value, but no 5 star hotel

The staff were all quite pleasant, and the room was clean. If you think "Inexpensive European hotel" you'll have the right expectations. My expectations may have been a bit too high. This was a fine place for the price. However, I literally got the _last_ room in the hotel. Which meant it was in the basement, next to the elevator and across from the vending machines. Coupled with the fact there was no shelf of any type in the bathroom, and the toilet lid was broken. This meant I had to set all my toiletries on the floor. Otherwise things were fine, room clean but small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Jul 7, 2011

Overall a very good experience

Very clean hotel with good amenities. Just make sure that you're not at the Lower Level which is kind of a sub basement. We initially got put in there, but upon requesting got moved the next day. The hot breakfast was good and the staff very courteous. The location is perfect for doing all touristy stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reston ,Virginia
Jul 4, 2011

great locations at great price

great service great price the only drawback was the view from my room was at the back of the bldg and at the back of the other bldg next to hotel so no good view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

close to important points

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lynn and Dean
Business
Springfield, MO
May 28, 2011

Good Hotel

The hotel was in a good location, only 5 blocks from Penn Station. The hotel is very welcoming with benches and tables outside and an open entrance. The breakfast each morning is very good, with pancakes, sausage, eggs, cinamon rolls and yogurt. The only problem was the consistency of cleaning the room. It had not been vacuumed since the last guest was there, and the toilet was leaking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Getaway Steve
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 17, 2011

Great location, great service

I came back to NY for long weekend getaway and have enjoyed my previous experiences at The Holiday Inn Express in the Financial District. This one near the Garden was a great choice as it's location puts you within walking distance to Times Square, Madison Square Garden and near Chelsea, which sports a good variety of food and night life. As for the hotel, the staff was friendly and personable. The woman at the desk remembered my name after three days of not seeing her since I checked in! The room was on the 12th floor looking down on W. 29th, it was spacious, clean, and well maintained. I'd definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a nice variety of food experiences, walk down 7th below 29th till about 20th. You'll run into many eat in and carry out spots that are worth visiting and you can stay away from the large crowds of tourists flocking to the Garden and Times Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
No More Holiday
Business
San Diego, CA
Feb 18, 2011

From bad to worse

It was one of the most unpleasant experiences ever from check-in to check out.We're traveling during the big snow storm that hit NYC in December(2010). Our flight was cancelled so we arrived one day later. At the checking we're told no room with two beds were available. They brought in a roll on bed after 2 hours. The TV remote control didn't work. We requested several times a new one and the late night manager was very rude and unapologetic. We were unable to watch TV during the entire stay. Then we requested additional towels - we're told the hotel had run out of towels!!To top it of, at the check-out I requested a refund for the night we didn't stay (due to the snow storm)and I was told I had to get it from [...]since the reservation was booked through them. I've contacted [...]and [...]told me the hotel refused to give a reimbursement. Never staying at a Holiday Inn again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Toyabex
Business
Atlanta GA
Dec 18, 2010

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS NYC

Very nice place to stay. I have stayed in the Marriott Marquis in NYC before and compared to the Marriott I would stay at the Holiday Inn again. The room was smaller but had everything we needed. We even got a complimentary breakfast (hot food) while staying at the Holiday inn. No breakfast with Marriott. Coffee, tea, water was also available in the lobby 24 hr. We were in walking distance to Penn station, Madison Square, and the NY subway station. I really enjoyed my stay and look forward to booking with them in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the subway to get around. A trip one way cost only $2.25. The hotels can give you direction to where you want to go. WE took the train to Brooklyn, Chinatown, and New Jersey (the NJ transit ($13)).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Accomplice Travelers
Business
Central NJ
Nov 28, 2010

weekend in nyc

The rooms were very small, but very clean and cozy. The staff was very helpful and nice. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ice Skating lady
Business
Alexandria VA
Oct 27, 2010

Great time in NYC

The hotel room was so huge by New York standards. I was in a room with a king size bed and whirlpool tube. Very roomy, clean, and great location close to Penn Station. Will Definitely stay there again. Breakfast was great too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Penn Station and Madison Square Garden

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jul 19, 2010

Great stay!

Staff was great, friendly and very helpful in directing us to different locations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top