$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

3 stars
View map of 232 West 29th Street, New York, NY 10001-5201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Field Filling Words
Business
Portland, OR
Aug 26, 2011

Exactly what you expect from a Holiday Inn Express!

I was worried that this was some sort of converted old hotel that was now a "Holiday Inn Express", but if that was the case they did a spectacular job. I was at the hotel for business, and it provided exactly what I would expect for the price and type of hotel. The room was exceptionally clean, had free wi-fi, and an excellent selection of channels on TV. The free breakfast was the same as at other HIE I have stayed at in the past. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Rooms were relatively quiet. Bathroom was quite clean. I would not hesitate to stay here again, nor would I hesitate to stay here on a vacation rather than business. If your needs are basically a place to say in the city, without too many frills, this is all you need!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kevin1
Business
New Jersey
Aug 19, 2011

OK-Sized, Good Location, Need Improvement

Stayed there for three nights during middle of August, staff were nice and helpful. They have free breakfast, wi-fi, free snacks/drinks at the lobby, which is nice. However, our room has a very unpleasant smell which is apparently someone's sweat, not sure if its the cleaner's or the previous guests, but it lasted a whole day in the room. Very upset about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
echo
Business
pittsburgh,PA
Aug 14, 2011

small but clean

Very small rooms, as expected. Close enough to walk to madison square garden and times square, yet just back enough to be quiet. Beds were clean and comfortable. HD Express does not have their own parking- however, the parking garage that is right beside it has valet parking and only charges 25 per night when you show proof you stayed at the Holiday Inn. It has a full hot breakfast which really helps with the food budget. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 4, 2011

Nice spot

Place was clean, quiet and comfy. Not much space in our room, but knowing what NYC has to offer, that was no biggie. The jet tub was an odd feature to the room though. Very nice staff too, I'd definitely stay here again considering it was very economical. Plus traveling around NYC from here was super easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr storage
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 22, 2011

Good value, but no 5 star hotel

The staff were all quite pleasant, and the room was clean. If you think "Inexpensive European hotel" you'll have the right expectations. My expectations may have been a bit too high. This was a fine place for the price. However, I literally got the _last_ room in the hotel. Which meant it was in the basement, next to the elevator and across from the vending machines. Coupled with the fact there was no shelf of any type in the bathroom, and the toilet lid was broken. This meant I had to set all my toiletries on the floor. Otherwise things were fine, room clean but small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Jul 7, 2011

Overall a very good experience

Very clean hotel with good amenities. Just make sure that you're not at the Lower Level which is kind of a sub basement. We initially got put in there, but upon requesting got moved the next day. The hot breakfast was good and the staff very courteous. The location is perfect for doing all touristy stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reston ,Virginia
Jul 4, 2011

great locations at great price

great service great price the only drawback was the view from my room was at the back of the bldg and at the back of the other bldg next to hotel so no good view

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

close to important points

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lynn and Dean
Business
Springfield, MO
May 28, 2011

Good Hotel

The hotel was in a good location, only 5 blocks from Penn Station. The hotel is very welcoming with benches and tables outside and an open entrance. The breakfast each morning is very good, with pancakes, sausage, eggs, cinamon rolls and yogurt. The only problem was the consistency of cleaning the room. It had not been vacuumed since the last guest was there, and the toilet was leaking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Getaway Steve
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 17, 2011

Great location, great service

I came back to NY for long weekend getaway and have enjoyed my previous experiences at The Holiday Inn Express in the Financial District. This one near the Garden was a great choice as it's location puts you within walking distance to Times Square, Madison Square Garden and near Chelsea, which sports a good variety of food and night life. As for the hotel, the staff was friendly and personable. The woman at the desk remembered my name after three days of not seeing her since I checked in! The room was on the 12th floor looking down on W. 29th, it was spacious, clean, and well maintained. I'd definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a nice variety of food experiences, walk down 7th below 29th till about 20th. You'll run into many eat in and carry out spots that are worth visiting and you can stay away from the large crowds of tourists flocking to the Garden and Times Square.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
No More Holiday
Business
San Diego, CA
Feb 18, 2011

From bad to worse

It was one of the most unpleasant experiences ever from check-in to check out.We're traveling during the big snow storm that hit NYC in December(2010). Our flight was cancelled so we arrived one day later. At the checking we're told no room with two beds were available. They brought in a roll on bed after 2 hours. The TV remote control didn't work. We requested several times a new one and the late night manager was very rude and unapologetic. We were unable to watch TV during the entire stay. Then we requested additional towels - we're told the hotel had run out of towels!!To top it of, at the check-out I requested a refund for the night we didn't stay (due to the snow storm)and I was told I had to get it from [...]since the reservation was booked through them. I've contacted [...]and [...]told me the hotel refused to give a reimbursement. Never staying at a Holiday Inn again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top