$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

3 stars
View map of 232 West 29th Street, New York, NY 10001-5201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frank Tx
Couples
San Antonio, TX
Mar 1, 2012

Awesome NY Trip

Location of hotel was great-just two blocks away from Penn Station. Hotel and room were nice and cleaned. Staff was very helpful and polite. Can't beat the value and the free breakfast. Planning our next trip already.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Penn station

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elderwanda
Single
Alameda, CA, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Comfortable Beds

My flight arrived very early in the morning, but the people at the desk were still able to find me a room, even though check-in isn't until 4pm. I really appreciated that. Although the room is quite small, the bed and chair were comfortable. Coffee in the lobby is tasty and appreciated. Great price, considering the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BCinAP
New Jersey, USA
Feb 21, 2012

great place to stay

We always like staying here. The rooms are small but very clean. The mattresses are very comfortable. This hotel is well located for our needs in Chelsea, and its not a bad walk to the theatre district. The free breakfast is a bit crazy - there's tons of food to choose from, but the lines are generally long and people hoard and its a mob scene. Finding a table to eat at is a battle. We endure it, but I could see other people getting stressed over the endeavor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SEWS
Friends
Mobile, AL, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Great value NYC stay

We had a good experience with the exception of one front desk employee 2 nights. All the other staff were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Buy 7 day subway pass if staying 4 days or longer

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Riverside, CA, USA
Jan 10, 2012

My first time in NY

Great service. Good breakfast. Walking distance to time square and other attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Red from Texas
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Jan 8, 2012

Great hotel; Best in Chelsea. Staff goes extra mile!

Great hotel; Best in Chelsea. Staff goes extra mile! Comfortable beds and the best breakfast in the morning that you could ask for! You won't need to eat anything the rest of the day. Very, Very Accommodating Right by Madison Square Gardens. You can walk, shop everywhere. Super close to Times Square. Room was small but the price; you can not beat!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Madison Square Gardens, Times Square. Friendly staff. You can not bet the location, price and the value

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SEWS
Family
Mobile, AL, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Great value!

Great value- hot breakfast and great staff except for one lady.... Room was small (its NYC), was very clean and comfortable. Around the corner from subway. Would recommend and stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SteveNYCVisitor
Single
San Francisco, California
Oct 19, 2011

Good for the value

I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express chain before and this one in NYC near Madison Square Garden offers the same that makes it a good deal and value for the budget-conscious traveler: the rooms are small but clean and well-maintained, the relatively low-cost per night room rate leaves you more money in your pocket to spend on other things on your trip, and the complimentary breakfast is excellent (and also a money saver). This particular Holiday Inn Express also has the advantage of being within walking distance of two major subway lines. However, the location is in a "gritty" area that some people may not feel safe walking at night. In addition, the room I stayed in was facing the street and I was woken up by street noise in the middle of the night. The staff is very helpful and arranged morning wake-up calls for me and a hotel shuttle to take me to the airport. The maid service was adequate, although sometimes my room was not made up when I returned in the mid-afternoon (3pm).Because of the small size of this hotel, there is not much extra here. There isn't even room for a mounted-wall TV, which I have seen in other Holiday Inn Express locations. Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you are looking to save money, want a convenient location, and are just looking for a clean hotel room and do not need a luxury hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shuffles
Friends
York, ME, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Very nice!

Room small but very clean and nice. Very good Breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jannet
Friends
Florida, USA
Sep 17, 2011

Holiday Inn Express

Everything was fine, good value for money. The only problem was that the air con was being stupid and it was really noisy. What this means is that we couldn't get the temperature right and it kept reverting back to the default temperature on its own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top