$86 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

3 stars
232 West 29th Street, New York, NY 10001-5201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
132 reviews
Great Gem near MSG!

Great Stay! Great Locale! Great Staff! Great Hidden hotel Gem in NYC! See full review

  • MonaGirl
  • Nov 20, 2014
Holiday Inn close to Penn Station

We wanted to take an early morning Amtrak from Penn Station and hence needed a hotel close to the... See full review

  • Subhajit Sen
  • Oct 6, 2014
Stay Smart at Our Madison Square Garden Hotel The Holiday Inn Express® NYC Madison Square Garden hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms. Looking for great corporate room deals? Our hotel in New York City provides you with everything you need to stay in touch with the office, such as a Business Center that features computer access, copy and print services and a meeting room. In addition, our hotel is located just one mile from the Jacob Javits Convention Center, and we are a short walk from Penn Plaza, which hosts many of the area's businesses. Leisure travelers are also sure to enjoy our prime location and great deals, as our hotel in NYC is close to the greatest attractions the city has to offer. We're just two blocks from Madison Square Garden, a half-mile from the Empire State Building and a mile from Rockefeller Center. In addition, Chinatown, Central Park, Times Square, Penn Station, the Theatre District, the Fashion Institute of Technology and shopping along 5th Ave are nearby. During your stay with us in NYC, our hotel's amenities will impress you, as we feature everything from free high-speed Internet access to a Fitness Center and a delicious, hot breakfast, which features our signature cinnamon rolls. Book now, and enjoy the great deals at our hotel in NYC today!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.5 mi
  • High Line: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.5 mi
  • High Line: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.6 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.6 mi
  • Dia Center for the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.7 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Lower West Side: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square: 0.7 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.8 mi

Dining

Uncle Nicks Greek Cusine
Reasonably priced Greek restaurant steps aways from the hotel. Restaurant is specializes in family sized, sharing portions. Casual atmosphere. Ideal for families and large groups.
Seven
Casual dining offering New American cuisine. Specializes in specialty cocktails.
Seven
New American style bar and restaurant. Known for specialty cocktails and happy hour.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SteveNYCVisitor
Business
San Francisco, California
Oct 19, 2011

Good for the value

I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express chain before and this one in NYC near Madison Square Garden offers the same that makes it a good deal and value for the budget-conscious traveler: the rooms are small but clean and well-maintained, the relatively low-cost per night room rate leaves you more money in your pocket to spend on other things on your trip, and the complimentary breakfast is excellent (and also a money saver). This particular Holiday Inn Express also has the advantage of being within walking distance of two major subway lines. However, the location is in a "gritty" area that some people may not feel safe walking at night. In addition, the room I stayed in was facing the street and I was woken up by street noise in the middle of the night. The staff is very helpful and arranged morning wake-up calls for me and a hotel shuttle to take me to the airport. The maid service was adequate, although sometimes my room was not made up when I returned in the mid-afternoon (3pm).Because of the small size of this hotel, there is not much extra here. There isn't even room for a mounted-wall TV, which I have seen in other Holiday Inn Express locations. Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you are looking to save money, want a convenient location, and are just looking for a clean hotel room and do not need a luxury hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shuffles
Business
York, ME, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Very nice!

Room small but very clean and nice. Very good Breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jamie D.
Business
St. Louis, MO, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Haven in the Hurricane

This hotel, with convenient mid-town Manhattan location, was a great home-base during our first trip to NYC! We had a view of the Empire State Building from the hotel room window. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They let me use their microwave to pop popcorn and they served Pizza to the guests on the eve of Hurricane Irene when all public transportation and many businesses had closed down. The breakfast room is small but if you don't wait until 10 minutes before close, you are probably OK. It would have been helpful to have been able to purchase our Unlimited Metro-Pass at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Take the subway down to the East Village where there are a variety of ethnic restaurants with reasonable prices. We really enjoyed the vibe of that area of the city. Visit Veselka for some great Ukranian Soul Food - they are open late.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jannet
Business
Florida, USA
Sep 17, 2011

Holiday Inn Express

Everything was fine, good value for money. The only problem was that the air con was being stupid and it was really noisy. What this means is that we couldn't get the temperature right and it kept reverting back to the default temperature on its own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Field Filling Words
Business
Portland, OR
Aug 26, 2011

Exactly what you expect from a Holiday Inn Express!

I was worried that this was some sort of converted old hotel that was now a "Holiday Inn Express", but if that was the case they did a spectacular job. I was at the hotel for business, and it provided exactly what I would expect for the price and type of hotel. The room was exceptionally clean, had free wi-fi, and an excellent selection of channels on TV. The free breakfast was the same as at other HIE I have stayed at in the past. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Rooms were relatively quiet. Bathroom was quite clean. I would not hesitate to stay here again, nor would I hesitate to stay here on a vacation rather than business. If your needs are basically a place to say in the city, without too many frills, this is all you need!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kevin1
Business
New Jersey
Aug 19, 2011

OK-Sized, Good Location, Need Improvement

Stayed there for three nights during middle of August, staff were nice and helpful. They have free breakfast, wi-fi, free snacks/drinks at the lobby, which is nice. However, our room has a very unpleasant smell which is apparently someone's sweat, not sure if its the cleaner's or the previous guests, but it lasted a whole day in the room. Very upset about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
echo
Business
pittsburgh,PA
Aug 14, 2011

small but clean

Very small rooms, as expected. Close enough to walk to madison square garden and times square, yet just back enough to be quiet. Beds were clean and comfortable. HD Express does not have their own parking- however, the parking garage that is right beside it has valet parking and only charges 25 per night when you show proof you stayed at the Holiday Inn. It has a full hot breakfast which really helps with the food budget. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 4, 2011

Nice spot

Place was clean, quiet and comfy. Not much space in our room, but knowing what NYC has to offer, that was no biggie. The jet tub was an odd feature to the room though. Very nice staff too, I'd definitely stay here again considering it was very economical. Plus traveling around NYC from here was super easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mr storage
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 22, 2011

Good value, but no 5 star hotel

The staff were all quite pleasant, and the room was clean. If you think "Inexpensive European hotel" you'll have the right expectations. My expectations may have been a bit too high. This was a fine place for the price. However, I literally got the _last_ room in the hotel. Which meant it was in the basement, next to the elevator and across from the vending machines. Coupled with the fact there was no shelf of any type in the bathroom, and the toilet lid was broken. This meant I had to set all my toiletries on the floor. Otherwise things were fine, room clean but small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Jul 7, 2011

Overall a very good experience

Very clean hotel with good amenities. Just make sure that you're not at the Lower Level which is kind of a sub basement. We initially got put in there, but upon requesting got moved the next day. The hot breakfast was good and the staff very courteous. The location is perfect for doing all touristy stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top