$101 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

3 stars
232 West 29th Street, New York, NY 10001-5201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
129 reviews
Very convient

This hotel was very convent for me and my needs. Good breakfast and rooms aren't too small. See full review

  • Ashley K511
  • Aug 25, 2014
exceptional service

Recently stayed at ths location. Staff was more than accomodating to our needs. They were willing... See full review

  • Cinderella17832
  • May 9, 2014
Stay Smart at Our Madison Square Garden Hotel The Holiday Inn Express® NYC Madison Square Garden hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms. Looking for great corporate room deals? Our hotel in New York City provides you with everything you need to stay in touch with the office, such as a Business Center that features computer access, copy and print services and a meeting room. In addition, our hotel is located just one mile from the Jacob Javits Convention Center, and we are a short walk from Penn Plaza, which hosts many of the area's businesses. Leisure travelers are also sure to enjoy our prime location and great deals, as our hotel in NYC is close to the greatest attractions the city has to offer. We're just two blocks from Madison Square Garden, a half-mile from the Empire State Building and a mile from Rockefeller Center. In addition, Chinatown, Central Park, Times Square, Penn Station, the Theatre District, the Fashion Institute of Technology and shopping along 5th Ave are nearby. During your stay with us in NYC, our hotel's amenities will impress you, as we feature everything from free high-speed Internet access to a Fitness Center and a delicious, hot breakfast, which features our signature cinnamon rolls. Book now, and enjoy the great deals at our hotel in NYC today!

Hotel Map

40.7483 -73.9946
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy Airport, (JFK), 18.00, MI; Newark Liberty International Airpoert, (EWR), 16.00, MI; LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 9.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.5 mi
  • High Line: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.5 mi
  • High Line: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.6 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.6 mi
  • Dia Center for the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.7 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Lower West Side: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square: 0.7 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.8 mi

Dining

Uncle Nicks Greek Cusine
Reasonably priced Greek restaurant steps aways from the hotel. Restaurant is specializes in family sized, sharing portions. Casual atmosphere. Ideal for families and large groups.
Seven
Casual dining offering New American cuisine. Specializes in specialty cocktails.
Seven
New American style bar and restaurant. Known for specialty cocktails and happy hour.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BCinAP
New Jersey, USA
Feb 21, 2012

great place to stay

We always like staying here. The rooms are small but very clean. The mattresses are very comfortable. This hotel is well located for our needs in Chelsea, and its not a bad walk to the theatre district. The free breakfast is a bit crazy - there's tons of food to choose from, but the lines are generally long and people hoard and its a mob scene. Finding a table to eat at is a battle. We endure it, but I could see other people getting stressed over the endeavor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elderwanda
Alameda, CA, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Comfortable Beds

My flight arrived very early in the morning, but the people at the desk were still able to find me a room, even though check-in isn't until 4pm. I really appreciated that. Although the room is quite small, the bed and chair were comfortable. Coffee in the lobby is tasty and appreciated. Great price, considering the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SEWS
Mobile, AL, USA
Jan 30, 2012

Great value NYC stay

We had a good experience with the exception of one front desk employee 2 nights. All the other staff were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Buy 7 day subway pass if staying 4 days or longer

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Riverside, CA, USA
Jan 10, 2012

My first time in NY

Great service. Good breakfast. Walking distance to time square and other attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Red from Texas
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Jan 8, 2012

Great hotel; Best in Chelsea. Staff goes extra mile!

Great hotel; Best in Chelsea. Staff goes extra mile! Comfortable beds and the best breakfast in the morning that you could ask for! You won't need to eat anything the rest of the day. Very, Very Accommodating Right by Madison Square Gardens. You can walk, shop everywhere. Super close to Times Square. Room was small but the price; you can not beat!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Madison Square Gardens, Times Square. Friendly staff. You can not bet the location, price and the value

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SEWS
Mobile, AL, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Great value!

Great value- hot breakfast and great staff except for one lady.... Room was small (its NYC), was very clean and comfortable. Around the corner from subway. Would recommend and stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
velita
Bellflower, CA, USA
Nov 10, 2011

A Special Experience

Completely different to what I have expected, the room was too small and our view was the back wall to another building, hair drying wasn't working had to request a new one, the bathroom ceiling vent was not functioning when the room wasn't too cold it was too hot, definately not a great experience as far as the hotel is concerned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the subway is a time saver. short walk everywhere from that hotel

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SteveNYCVisitor
San Francisco, California
Oct 19, 2011

Good for the value

I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express chain before and this one in NYC near Madison Square Garden offers the same that makes it a good deal and value for the budget-conscious traveler: the rooms are small but clean and well-maintained, the relatively low-cost per night room rate leaves you more money in your pocket to spend on other things on your trip, and the complimentary breakfast is excellent (and also a money saver). This particular Holiday Inn Express also has the advantage of being within walking distance of two major subway lines. However, the location is in a "gritty" area that some people may not feel safe walking at night. In addition, the room I stayed in was facing the street and I was woken up by street noise in the middle of the night. The staff is very helpful and arranged morning wake-up calls for me and a hotel shuttle to take me to the airport. The maid service was adequate, although sometimes my room was not made up when I returned in the mid-afternoon (3pm).Because of the small size of this hotel, there is not much extra here. There isn't even room for a mounted-wall TV, which I have seen in other Holiday Inn Express locations. Overall, I would recommend this hotel if you are looking to save money, want a convenient location, and are just looking for a clean hotel room and do not need a luxury hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shuffles
York, ME, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Very nice!

Room small but very clean and nice. Very good Breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jamie D.
St. Louis, MO, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Haven in the Hurricane

This hotel, with convenient mid-town Manhattan location, was a great home-base during our first trip to NYC! We had a view of the Empire State Building from the hotel room window. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They let me use their microwave to pop popcorn and they served Pizza to the guests on the eve of Hurricane Irene when all public transportation and many businesses had closed down. The breakfast room is small but if you don't wait until 10 minutes before close, you are probably OK. It would have been helpful to have been able to purchase our Unlimited Metro-Pass at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Take the subway down to the East Village where there are a variety of ethnic restaurants with reasonable prices. We really enjoyed the vibe of that area of the city. Visit Veselka for some great Ukranian Soul Food - they are open late.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search