$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

3 stars
View map of 232 West 29th Street, New York, NY 10001-5201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Patrickxuzheng73
Business
Dublin California
Jan 3, 2013

Good experience

It was a total satisfaction for me and my wife. We will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take advantage of metro system to get around town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJTan
Business
Setuaket, NY
Dec 27, 2012

Great location, nice room

The room was very comfortable and clean. They also serve an impressive free breakfast buffet but have limited tables. Given the location and quality of the rooms, I thought it was a great value for NYC. It is also close to north end of the High line another plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SteveH
Business
Silver Spring, MD
Dec 27, 2012

Good location and clean

The rooms were, not surprisingly, small (as many other reviews had indicated), but were clean. The heat unit was a bit loud and sometimes didn't actually kick on until i played with the wall control unit several times. Breakfast was a mad house because of the holidays. They did a fairly good job of keeping it stocked in spite of the large ravenous crowd of guests. One of the two elevators stopped working several times while I was there, but the staff said they didn't want to take it out of service to repair it. Huh?? The location is the best feature of this hotel...just 2 blocks from Penn Station! Then, I would say they kept the room/hotel fairly clean. The free breakfast and WiFi was nice too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lot of great cafes nearby on both 7th and 8th Avs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KMMa
Business
Savannah GA
Dec 25, 2012

good

Was OK. reservation was not on the correct name, therefore called and corrected.No discount and points. recommended to reserve directly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love Shoes
Business
Roxboro NC
Nov 30, 2012

Christmas Windows

Clean, very decent breakfast, excellent location. While in room could hear coming and going in hall and elevator. Very decent bargain for NYC. 24 hour coffee was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not ride in rickshaws. Prices listed are deceptive and you find out when the ride is over.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hurricane Sandy Survivors
Business
Bristol, England
Nov 6, 2012

Excellent Location and Staff

Wanted a base to see New York with family and friends for a few days and this was ideal. Clean rooms (although a little small) and really friendly, helpful staff. 10 minute walk to Times Square and 20 minutes to Central Park. We had to extend our stay due to Hurricane Sandy and we could not have been in a better place! We were kept informed and well looked after by the staff, even putting on extra (free) food, when the city was shut down. There seemed to be problems all around with power outages and flooding, but if there were any issues with the hotel we did not see or were affected by them. A really big thank you to Ana and her staff! Would highly recommend for a visit to New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a New York City Pass before you go! Saves money on sights and attractions and give you some inside information.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Renee Whitey
Business
Pennsylvania
Oct 30, 2012

parking

you advertised free parking as an amenitie and the parking wasn't free when I got there. I had to pay $72 at the lot next to the hotel. Explanation?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs Humphrey BB
Business
Pittsburgh
Oct 10, 2012

Location Location!

Best thing about this hotel is the location! However unlike what the website proclaims, there is NO free parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Eataly for the best coffee and pizza in NYC

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CanadianDiver
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Sep 24, 2012

Staff are so, so nice

This is a great little hotel in an amazing location in the Garment District, close to Chelsea, the High Line, and 3 subway lines. My room was REALLY small, but had everything I needed. But really, all you need in New York is a safe, clean room to stash your stuff and get (some) sleep. My room was really quiet and I almost never heard other guests. Wifi worked well and I always woke up too late for breakfast ;) What really made this hotel amazing was the staff-- every person was friendly, said hello each time I encountered someone. They even let me check in super early (11am) since they had a room available, and then, on the day I checked out, stored my bags until 7pm when I had to leave for my flight. Everyone was genuinely nice and made me feel comfortable and at home. I'll definitely be staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down the High Line to the Chelsea Market to get some great elevated views of the city, and then score some vintage wear and a yummy lunch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rfrench22
Business
Chicago
Sep 22, 2012

Fine stay in Chelsea

Great location, average hotel. I would recommend for a decent stay in nyc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top