$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

3 stars
232 West 29th Street, New York, NY 10001-5201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
134 reviews
Friendly Staff

The staffs were friendly and the breakfast was awesome! It is of walking distance to time square. See full review

  • Travel9999
  • Dec 1, 2014
Great Gem near MSG!

Great Stay! Great Locale! Great Staff! Great Hidden hotel Gem in NYC! See full review

  • MonaGirl
  • Nov 20, 2014
Stay Smart at Our Madison Square Garden Hotel The Holiday Inn Express® NYC Madison Square Garden hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms. Looking for great corporate room deals? Our hotel in New York City provides you with everything you need to stay in touch with the office, such as a Business Center that features computer access, copy and print services and a meeting room. In addition, our hotel is located just one mile from the Jacob Javits Convention Center, and we are a short walk from Penn Plaza, which hosts many of the area's businesses. Leisure travelers are also sure to enjoy our prime location and great deals, as our hotel in NYC is close to the greatest attractions the city has to offer. We're just two blocks from Madison Square Garden, a half-mile from the Empire State Building and a mile from Rockefeller Center. In addition, Chinatown, Central Park, Times Square, Penn Station, the Theatre District, the Fashion Institute of Technology and shopping along 5th Ave are nearby. During your stay with us in NYC, our hotel's amenities will impress you, as we feature everything from free high-speed Internet access to a Fitness Center and a delicious, hot breakfast, which features our signature cinnamon rolls. Book now, and enjoy the great deals at our hotel in NYC today!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.5 mi
  • High Line: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.5 mi
  • High Line: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.6 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.6 mi
  • Dia Center for the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.7 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Lower West Side: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square: 0.7 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.8 mi

Dining

Uncle Nicks Greek Cusine
Reasonably priced Greek restaurant steps aways from the hotel. Restaurant is specializes in family sized, sharing portions. Casual atmosphere. Ideal for families and large groups.
Seven
Casual dining offering New American cuisine. Specializes in specialty cocktails.
Seven
New American style bar and restaurant. Known for specialty cocktails and happy hour.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (134)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love Shoes
Business
Roxboro NC
Nov 30, 2012

Christmas Windows

Clean, very decent breakfast, excellent location. While in room could hear coming and going in hall and elevator. Very decent bargain for NYC. 24 hour coffee was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not ride in rickshaws. Prices listed are deceptive and you find out when the ride is over.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hurricane Sandy Survivors
Business
Bristol, England
Nov 6, 2012

Excellent Location and Staff

Wanted a base to see New York with family and friends for a few days and this was ideal. Clean rooms (although a little small) and really friendly, helpful staff. 10 minute walk to Times Square and 20 minutes to Central Park. We had to extend our stay due to Hurricane Sandy and we could not have been in a better place! We were kept informed and well looked after by the staff, even putting on extra (free) food, when the city was shut down. There seemed to be problems all around with power outages and flooding, but if there were any issues with the hotel we did not see or were affected by them. A really big thank you to Ana and her staff! Would highly recommend for a visit to New York.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a New York City Pass before you go! Saves money on sights and attractions and give you some inside information.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Renee Whitey
Business
Pennsylvania
Oct 30, 2012

parking

you advertised free parking as an amenitie and the parking wasn't free when I got there. I had to pay $72 at the lot next to the hotel. Explanation?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mrs Humphrey BB
Business
Pittsburgh
Oct 10, 2012

Location Location!

Best thing about this hotel is the location! However unlike what the website proclaims, there is NO free parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Eataly for the best coffee and pizza in NYC

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CanadianDiver
Business
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Sep 24, 2012

Staff are so, so nice

This is a great little hotel in an amazing location in the Garment District, close to Chelsea, the High Line, and 3 subway lines. My room was REALLY small, but had everything I needed. But really, all you need in New York is a safe, clean room to stash your stuff and get (some) sleep. My room was really quiet and I almost never heard other guests. Wifi worked well and I always woke up too late for breakfast ;) What really made this hotel amazing was the staff-- every person was friendly, said hello each time I encountered someone. They even let me check in super early (11am) since they had a room available, and then, on the day I checked out, stored my bags until 7pm when I had to leave for my flight. Everyone was genuinely nice and made me feel comfortable and at home. I'll definitely be staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down the High Line to the Chelsea Market to get some great elevated views of the city, and then score some vintage wear and a yummy lunch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rfrench22
Business
Chicago
Sep 22, 2012

Fine stay in Chelsea

Great location, average hotel. I would recommend for a decent stay in nyc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johngoooner
Business
Isle of Wight - UK
Sep 12, 2012

Very Happy with this Hotel

Enjoyed staying at this hotel, staff very friendly, rooms clean and comfortable although a little small. Good location only 10 mins walk to Times Square. Free breakfast a real bonus, plenty of choice. Overall, a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bartster
Business
Brooklyn,NY
Jul 29, 2012

Able to relax

The room was very comfortable and clean. It was in close proximity to my appointment. I was able to relax each night after a stressful meeting. The staff was very accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dianne R
Business
Massapequa, NY, USA
Jul 21, 2012

Sailing Excursion in NYC

Was looking for a hotel in the Chelsea Pier 62 area and this hotel fit the bill. Overall the hotel was fine (except for the chaos at the free breakfast...), but the hotel was more than adequate and the location was great for being in close proximity to Penn Station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Allan B
Business
Central Wisconsin
May 19, 2012

Convenient location and helpful staff

This was a very convenient location for our sight-seeing trip. We had to do a little walking but it was easy to pick up our bus tour. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was a little small but clean and comfortable. Also, the breakfast was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top