$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

3 stars
View map of 232 West 29th Street, New York, NY 10001-5201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The German
Friends
New York
May 15, 2012

perfect

Perfect location, staff very helpful, friendly, and knowledgable Rooms were very clean, yet small......since we only go to the hotel for a shower and a good night sleep it was perfect. Price was very reasonable for a nice hotel in the heart of New York. I would definitly recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
makne
Family
Trinidad & Tobago
Jul 8, 2014

Perfect midtown location

We stayed for a family vacation with 2 kids. The hotel has a perfect midtown location with Empire State building and Times Square just an easy walk a few blocks away. The rooms were clean and decent. The complimentary breakfast is standard, nothing special - it was a bit of a challenge getting a table in the small breakfast area though. Overall good value and very convenient location. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yeru
Family
Arlington, VA
Jul 5, 2014

Average hotel

The room was too small, the beds were not comfortable and the window curtain was sheer so the lights from the building across the hotel was too bright so we couldn't sleep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vs75135
Family
New york
May 12, 2014

Loud staff

Close to Madison square garden and clean nice rooms. You have to pay to park but it is across the street. Only complaint was maids made too much noise visiting each other and woke me up both mornings I was there, I felt like walls were paper thin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cinderella17832
Family
Pennsylvania
May 9, 2014

exceptional service

Recently stayed at ths location. Staff was more than accomodating to our needs. They were willing to provide us with direction on local events and restaurant reccommendations, care for our baggage both before and after checkout, and made us feel welcome with every interaction. I would defintely stay at this hotel again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WorldTraveler2014
Business
New York and Florida
Mar 27, 2014

Quick business visit

The area is safe and close to the train station/garden. The hotel lobby was clean and nice. Windows right on the street. My room was directly off the lobby but no noise at all with the added benefit of a spa tub with sliding doors onto the bedroom. Overall, a solid 3.5 star hotel and Ia got a greatninetynine dollar value, a perfect combination!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
All good names are gone
Single
San Francisco
Feb 25, 2014

Fine Stay

Good value, great location, fine hotel, free breakfast/wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaclyn Boston
Couples
Boston MA
Jan 27, 2014

Convenient to Madison Square Garden

We were going to a concert at Madison Square Garden and chose this hotel based on price and distance. It was perfect for what it was. Average hotel but convenient for our purpose. They served a continental breakfast in the morning which was a nice touch however it was extremely crowded and there weren’t any seats available. It could have just been because it was a Sunday morning at 10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sunnyna
Business
boston ma
Jan 12, 2014

cleaning

The bathtub was so dirty but breakfast was not bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uncle Bob Bob
Couples
Bath, Ontario
Oct 24, 2013

Better Than Expected.

We just returned from 3 nights at this hotel. Very enjoyable, better than the 3 star rating it is getting. Staff were excellent at check-in and departure. No pool but then again we only used the hotel to sleep. Enjoyed the free Wi-Fi in our room and our King Bed, although it was a little hard for our liking. Breakfast was the highlight, although busy at times. Nice location with lots of great eateries in the area. We particularly enjoyed Tir Na Nog. Great place to stay if your attending a MSG event or like us, walking to Times Square, Shopping at Macy's or the Manhattan Mall. Best of all was the price. Very reasonable for NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Located on 8th Ave., across from MSG is Tir Na Nog. Food and imported beer was 'excellent'. Supreme Pizza just around the corner was also good but service is poor.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hmod
Family
San Diego
Sep 5, 2013

Family trip

It was helpful trip and we had a beautiful time. The thing that was upsetting me when we checked in. They didn't let us check in early, so we got tired at that time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top