$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

3 stars
View map of 232 West 29th Street, New York, NY 10001-5201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
All good names are gone
Business
San Francisco
Feb 25, 2014

Fine Stay

Good value, great location, fine hotel, free breakfast/wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaclyn Boston
Business
Boston MA
Jan 27, 2014

Convenient to Madison Square Garden

We were going to a concert at Madison Square Garden and chose this hotel based on price and distance. It was perfect for what it was. Average hotel but convenient for our purpose. They served a continental breakfast in the morning which was a nice touch however it was extremely crowded and there weren’t any seats available. It could have just been because it was a Sunday morning at 10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sunnyna
Business
boston ma
Jan 12, 2014

cleaning

The bathtub was so dirty but breakfast was not bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uncle Bob Bob
Business
Bath, Ontario
Oct 24, 2013

Better Than Expected.

We just returned from 3 nights at this hotel. Very enjoyable, better than the 3 star rating it is getting. Staff were excellent at check-in and departure. No pool but then again we only used the hotel to sleep. Enjoyed the free Wi-Fi in our room and our King Bed, although it was a little hard for our liking. Breakfast was the highlight, although busy at times. Nice location with lots of great eateries in the area. We particularly enjoyed Tir Na Nog. Great place to stay if your attending a MSG event or like us, walking to Times Square, Shopping at Macy's or the Manhattan Mall. Best of all was the price. Very reasonable for NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Located on 8th Ave., across from MSG is Tir Na Nog. Food and imported beer was 'excellent'. Supreme Pizza just around the corner was also good but service is poor.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hmod
Business
San Diego
Sep 5, 2013

Family trip

It was helpful trip and we had a beautiful time. The thing that was upsetting me when we checked in. They didn't let us check in early, so we got tired at that time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
schoolsecsue
Business
Etters PA
Aug 1, 2013

Enjoyable Stay

We had very little issue with our stay at this hotel. It was in a great location for getting on/off the train at Penn Station. Staff was EXCELLENT. Very helpful, friendly. Breakfast spread was great, but don't be a minute late as at 10:01 they were scarfing food off the counter even as people were still waiting to get some. That was the only annoying part of my stay. I was ill and just needed some oatmeal. Nope - too late. :( Otherwise -all was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jimmie's BBQ was good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SteveNYCVisitor
Business
San Francisco, California
May 31, 2013

Great Value and Location

You can pay a lot for hotels in NYC but why should you? You should be out exploring the city and all it has to offer. This hotel is well-located in Midtown West, close to Madison Square Garden, and several MTA subway stops. They offer a complimentary breakfast that offers lots of different and healthy options. While the rooms can be on the small side, they are clean and well-maintained. The front desk service is very conscientious, and when I complained about a problem with my bathroom (there was no counter space next to the sink for some reason) they gave me another room, no questions asked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

NY Pizza Suprema on 8th Ave, just a couple blocks away from the hotel. Excellent NY pizza by the slice! The counter staff are having a ball greeting and serving up slices for customers, a literal real "slice" of NYC!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emily in the city
Business
Seoul
Mar 17, 2013

Good location!

This hotel's location was perfect, close to Subway station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donna Lois
Business
Long Island NY
Mar 9, 2013

Weekend in NYC

Fantastic experience all around! We were able to check in early before we had to go to see show, room was clean, nice size room, tub in bathroom. Staff was so polite and helpful. Held our luggage even though we checked out so we could spend another day in the city! Even the elevator mechanic was so polite and helpful. The breakfast was unbelieveable. Pancake, sausage and so much more. Incredible value and service considered the price we paid. Will return again in September when we go see Wicked!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoLink
Business
Hagerstown, Md.
Jan 22, 2013

Very Friendly and Convenient

The room was easily accessible and the staff was extremely helpful. We walked to Rockefeller Plaza and checked out Times Square,Macy's,Bryant Park,Radio City Music Hall and Madison Square Garden. The next day we caught the subway and went to World Trade Center. For an overnight it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Best ever steak at Uncle Jack's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top