$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 2, 2015 Check-out: Jul 3, 2015

Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

3 stars
View map of 232 West 29th Street, New York, NY 10001-5201

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland
Nov 20, 2008

Convenient and comfortable

This hotel was fine for a place to land while traveling for business. Staff was nice and friendly. No toilet paper or remote control in the room when I arrived. Had to ask twice before getting them delivered to the room. There was a pair of someone else's jeans in the drawer, which I asked them to remove but they didn't. Not very serious offenses, in my opinion. I'd use this hotel again. It's right around the block from Penn Station and it's clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 21, 2008

great location

This hotel is in a good location. Room was small but very clean and comfortable. The extra amenities were excellent and the continental breakfast had a great variety of hot and cold items. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Madison Sq garden and Transportation

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 24, 2008

Great location

The room was nice and comfortable although there was not adequate space for four suitcases and space for hanging clothes of four adults!!! I liked the idea of an express bkfast included which save us lots of time and some money. I would recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The AMTRACK railway station was just two blocks far.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 22, 2008

great location

Great location, very friendly staff. The continental breakfast was very good and a good way to save money. The room and hotel was clean. The only downside as with anywhere in NYC is parking is a few blocks away. This was our second time staying in NYC and we would recommend this hotel to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to Madison Square Garden

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 3, 2008

All Around Great Hotel

The Chelsea Holiday Inn Express was such a fabulous find! We were very happy to find that it offered much. The staff was exceedingly nice and helpful, the free breakfast was absolutely amazing, the rooms were clean and large, and the entire place had a great feel. Everyone was friendly and accomodating, and we cannot wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants and bars are everywhere, in the chic and young area of Chelsea

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 3, 2008

Very clean, great price

This Holiday Inn Express was clean, friendly, and perfect for my trip. A great location right by Penn Station made it easy and convienant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short distance to 7th Avenune, don't even need to take a taxi to Times Square or Broadway theatre district.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Feb 3, 2008

All Around Great Hotel

The Chelsea Holiday Inn Express was such a fabulous find! We were very happy to find that it offered much. The staff was exceedingly nice and helpful, the free breakfast was absolutely amazing, the rooms were clean and large, and the entire place had a great feel. Everyone was friendly and accomodating, and we cannot wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants and bars are everywhere, in the chic and young area of Chelsea

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 4, 2007

Very nice

Enjoyed my visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Would highly recommend the hop on/hop off bus tour. Was my first visit and loved the tour!

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 31, 2007

Great breakfeast!!!

Room was small but very clean. Breakfeast was great but the fitness room was was lmited to only 2 treadmills and 1 bike. Only complaint I have is the time it took to get into my room!!! I didn't expect to wait over 2 hours . Especially being extremely tired after flying and getting a shuttle to the hotel. Other people arrived and were sent directly to thier rooms. I compalined again. Then finally I got my room..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Madison Square Garden is only 2 blocks away. Look before you leap to eat anywhere. Close to hotel food was expensive and not that great but explore about 4 blocks south of the hotel and you will find great diners.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 30, 2007

Manhattan

The room was somewhat small but we understand this is normal for New York City. We were happy to have a room with 2 double beds. Hotel staff was friendly and responded to our requests quickly and courteously. The hotel is less than 2 blocks from the subway so made NYC very accessible. Breakfast was more than the usual cereal, rolls, waffles; some type of eggs and either sausage or bacon were served daily. Only thing not up to expectations was the Mon-Thu social hour. We were only there on Thu but it was only mini egg rolls and burritos without beverages of any kind being served.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Plan to attend Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island and The Empire State Building early in the day to avoid long lines.

Back to menu Return to top