$113 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

3 stars
232 WEST 29TH STREET, NEW YORK CITY, NY 10001-5201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
198 reviews
exceptional service

Recently stayed at ths location. Staff was more than accomodating to our needs. They were willing... See full review

  • Cinderella17832
  • May 9, 2014
Weekend in NYC

Fantastic experience all around! We were able to check in early before we had to go to see show,... See full review

  • Donna Lois
  • Mar 9, 2013
Stay Smart at Our Madison Square Garden Hotel The Holiday Inn Express® NYC Madison Square Garden hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms. Looking for great corporate room deals? Our hotel in New York City provides you with everything you need to stay in touch with the office, such as a Business Center that features computer access, copy and print services and a meeting room. In addition, our hotel is located just one mile from the Jacob Javits Convention Center, and we are a short walk from Penn Plaza, which hosts many of the area's businesses. Leisure travelers are also sure to enjoy our prime location and great deals, as our hotel in NYC is close to the greatest attractions the city has to offer. We're just two blocks from Madison Square Garden, a half-mile from the Empire State Building and a mile from Rockefeller Center. In addition, Chinatown, Central Park, Times Square, Penn Station, the Theatre District, the Fashion Institute of Technology and shopping along 5th Ave are nearby. During your stay with us in NYC, our hotel's amenities will impress you, as we feature everything from free high-speed Internet access to a Fitness Center and a delicious, hot breakfast, which features our signature cinnamon rolls. Book now, and enjoy the great deals at our hotel in NYC today!

Hotel Map

40.7483 -73.9946
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy Airport, (JFK), 18.00, MI, SE; LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 9.00, MI, NE; Newark Liberty International Airpoert, (EWR), 16.00, MI, NE;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.5 mi
  • High Line: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.5 mi
  • High Line: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.6 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.6 mi
  • Dia Center for the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.7 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Lower West Side: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square: 0.7 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.8 mi

Dining

Uncle Nicks Greek Cusine
Reasonably priced Greek restaurant steps aways from the hotel. Restaurant is specializes in family sized, sharing portions. Casual atmosphere. Ideal for families and large groups.
Seven
Casual dining offering New American cuisine. Specializes in specialty cocktails.
Seven
New American style bar and restaurant. Known for specialty cocktails and happy hour.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (198)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
198 out of 198
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Irvine, CA
Aug 16, 2009

NYC in august

Helpful staff, our flight was delayed and we had to check in late, after midnight, everything went well. Great location, very close to Penn station. Nice breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kent and Carol
New Rockford, ND
Aug 5, 2009

"Great Find"

We were so happy with this hotel, based on the location and the value provided for the cost. Our room was very clean. Because we always were at breakfast around 6:30-7AM, we never experienced a big crowd of people until our last day when going down at 8:45AM. Even though our room was across from the elevator, we set our A/C fan to constant, and the "white noise" took care of any hallway/adjacent room noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We used the #1 subway train everyday. Located "just around the corner" on the same block. We found the subway very easy to use and very safe. Stayed for 5 days... so we bought a case of bottled water at a nearby store rather than use the $5 per bottle stuff in the room.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kent and Carol
New Rockford, ND
Aug 5, 2009

"Great Find"

We were so happy with this hotel, based on the location and the value provided for the cost. Our room was very clean. Because we always were at breakfast around 6:30-7AM, we never experienced a big crowd of people until our last day when going down at 8:45AM. Even though our room was across from the elevator, we set our A/C fan to constant, and the "white noise" took care of any hallway/adjacent room noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We used the #1 subway train everyday. Located "just around the corner" on the same block. We found the subway very easy to use and very safe. Stayed for 5 days... so we bought a case of bottled water at a nearby store rather than use the $5 per bottle stuff in the room.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Jul 19, 2009

Very Pleasantly Surprised

The hotel is new-ish, the rooms are sizeable by NYC/Midtown standards, and the staff were surprisingly friendly and eager to please. The combination of quality and location (2.5 blocks from Penn Station/MSG) is very hard to beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Jul 19, 2009

Very Pleasantly Surprised

The hotel is new-ish, the rooms are sizeable by NYC/Midtown standards, and the staff were surprisingly friendly and eager to please. The combination of quality and location (2.5 blocks from Penn Station/MSG) is very hard to beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Martha's Vineyard
Jul 11, 2009

good, basic hotel

This is a good, basic place to stay. It was very handy to be right next to Penn station. The breakfast buffet is wonderful. The only issue is I had a few bug bites in the morning when I woke up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Martha's Vineyard
Jul 11, 2009

good, basic hotel

This is a good, basic place to stay. It was very handy to be right next to Penn station. The breakfast buffet is wonderful. The only issue is I had a few bug bites in the morning when I woke up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Jul 9, 2009

Clean and convenient

Great service, comfy beds, free breakfast -- all nice. My only (big) complaint is that I was awaken at 6am to the sounds of the doors to the stairwell slamming repeatedly outside my door. I have no idea what was going on but it certainly left me with a bad taste about the experience. The TV control was also finnicky which caused some frustration. Overall, it was a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pongol indian restaurant between W 27th and 28th was fabulous!

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Jul 9, 2009

Clean and convenient

Great service, comfy beds, free breakfast -- all nice. My only (big) complaint is that I was awaken at 6am to the sounds of the doors to the stairwell slamming repeatedly outside my door. I have no idea what was going on but it certainly left me with a bad taste about the experience. The TV control was also finnicky which caused some frustration. Overall, it was a great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pongol indian restaurant between W 27th and 28th was fabulous!

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shorty0865
Columbia, SC
Jul 6, 2009

Daugther's first trip to New York City

My sister and I along with my daugther came to New York on a shopping trip. I wish there were mini fridge so that you could store water without having to pay for it.It was the perfect location was only 2 blocks from Penn Station and was within walking distance to everything. didn't know I could spend so much money in just a few days. I would stay at this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

I could not have picked a better location. short walk to everything

Back to menu Return to top