$142 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

3 stars
232 WEST 29TH STREET, NEW YORK CITY, NY 10001-5201
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
200 reviews
exceptional service

Recently stayed at ths location. Staff was more than accomodating to our needs. They were willing... See full review

  • Cinderella17832
  • May 9, 2014
Weekend in NYC

Fantastic experience all around! We were able to check in early before we had to go to see show,... See full review

  • Donna Lois
  • Mar 9, 2013
Stay Smart at Our Madison Square Garden Hotel The Holiday Inn Express® NYC Madison Square Garden hotel's location places you near major businesses and top attractions. With us, you can enjoy unparalleled service and convenience while staying in our top-notch New York hotel rooms. Looking for great corporate room deals? Our hotel in New York City provides you with everything you need to stay in touch with the office, such as a Business Center that features computer access, copy and print services and a meeting room. In addition, our hotel is located just one mile from the Jacob Javits Convention Center, and we are a short walk from Penn Plaza, which hosts many of the area's businesses. Leisure travelers are also sure to enjoy our prime location and great deals, as our hotel in NYC is close to the greatest attractions the city has to offer. We're just two blocks from Madison Square Garden, a half-mile from the Empire State Building and a mile from Rockefeller Center. In addition, Chinatown, Central Park, Times Square, Penn Station, the Theatre District, the Fashion Institute of Technology and shopping along 5th Ave are nearby. During your stay with us in NYC, our hotel's amenities will impress you, as we feature everything from free high-speed Internet access to a Fitness Center and a delicious, hot breakfast, which features our signature cinnamon rolls. Book now, and enjoy the great deals at our hotel in NYC today!

Hotel Map

40.7483 -73.9946
Nearby airports
John F. Kennedy Airport, (JFK), 18.00, MI; LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 9.00, MI; Newark Liberty International Airpoert, (EWR), 16.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Computer in Room
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.5 mi
  • High Line: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • Museum at FIT: 0.1 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.2 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Limelight Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Manhattan Mall: 0.3 mi
  • Macys: 0.3 mi
  • Herald Square: 0.4 mi
  • Koreatown, Manhattan: 0.4 mi
  • Hughoneill Dry Goods Store: 0.4 mi
  • Garment District: 0.5 mi
  • The King's College: 0.5 mi
  • Joyce Theater: 0.5 mi
  • High Line: 0.5 mi
  • Flatiron Building: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square - the Flatiron District: 0.6 mi
  • American Academy of Dramatic Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.6 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.6 mi
  • Metropolitan Life Insurance Company Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Lord & Taylor: 0.6 mi
  • Dia Center for the Arts: 0.6 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.7 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.7 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Pierpont Morgan Library: 0.7 mi
  • Flatiron District: 0.7 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.7 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Birthplace National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Lower West Side: 0.7 mi
  • Theater District: 0.7 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Square: 0.7 mi
  • NY Public Library: 0.7 mi
  • Chester A. Arthur Home: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Murray Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.8 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.8 mi

Dining

Uncle Nicks Greek Cusine
Reasonably priced Greek restaurant steps aways from the hotel. Restaurant is specializes in family sized, sharing portions. Casual atmosphere. Ideal for families and large groups.
Seven
Casual dining offering New American cuisine. Specializes in specialty cocktails.
Seven
New American style bar and restaurant. Known for specialty cocktails and happy hour.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (200)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
200 out of 200
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The German
New York
May 15, 2012

perfect

Perfect location, staff very helpful, friendly, and knowledgable Rooms were very clean, yet small......since we only go to the hotel for a shower and a good night sleep it was perfect. Price was very reasonable for a nice hotel in the heart of New York. I would definitly recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tats1824
Albany, NY
Jul 24, 2014

Perfect location for MSG

We had a great stay at the hotel. There is a parking lot across the street for $30/night, which isn't a bad deal. 2 block walk to MSG, so it is great if you're coming in town for an event there. The hotel was clean and nice. The room as a tad cramped, but I expect everything in Manhattan is. Our plumbing was a bit noisy so we informed the staff and they were looking into it. Not enough of a concern to prevent me from staying here again. Also, excellent breakfast. Great room at a great rate!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
makne
Trinidad & Tobago
Jul 8, 2014

Perfect midtown location

We stayed for a family vacation with 2 kids. The hotel has a perfect midtown location with Empire State building and Times Square just an easy walk a few blocks away. The rooms were clean and decent. The complimentary breakfast is standard, nothing special - it was a bit of a challenge getting a table in the small breakfast area though. Overall good value and very convenient location. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yeru
Arlington, VA
Jul 5, 2014

Average hotel

The room was too small, the beds were not comfortable and the window curtain was sheer so the lights from the building across the hotel was too bright so we couldn't sleep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vs75135
New york
May 12, 2014

Loud staff

Close to Madison square garden and clean nice rooms. You have to pay to park but it is across the street. Only complaint was maids made too much noise visiting each other and woke me up both mornings I was there, I felt like walls were paper thin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cinderella17832
Pennsylvania
May 9, 2014

exceptional service

Recently stayed at ths location. Staff was more than accomodating to our needs. They were willing to provide us with direction on local events and restaurant reccommendations, care for our baggage both before and after checkout, and made us feel welcome with every interaction. I would defintely stay at this hotel again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WorldTraveler2014
Business
New York and Florida
Mar 27, 2014

Quick business visit

The area is safe and close to the train station/garden. The hotel lobby was clean and nice. Windows right on the street. My room was directly off the lobby but no noise at all with the added benefit of a spa tub with sliding doors onto the bedroom. Overall, a solid 3.5 star hotel and Ia got a greatninetynine dollar value, a perfect combination!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
All good names are gone
San Francisco
Feb 25, 2014

Fine Stay

Good value, great location, fine hotel, free breakfast/wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaclyn Boston
Boston MA
Jan 27, 2014

Convenient to Madison Square Garden

We were going to a concert at Madison Square Garden and chose this hotel based on price and distance. It was perfect for what it was. Average hotel but convenient for our purpose. They served a continental breakfast in the morning which was a nice touch however it was extremely crowded and there weren’t any seats available. It could have just been because it was a Sunday morning at 10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sunnyna
Business
boston ma
Jan 12, 2014

cleaning

The bathtub was so dirty but breakfast was not bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NYC MADISON SQUARE GARDEN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uncle Bob Bob
Bath, Ontario
Oct 24, 2013

Better Than Expected.

We just returned from 3 nights at this hotel. Very enjoyable, better than the 3 star rating it is getting. Staff were excellent at check-in and departure. No pool but then again we only used the hotel to sleep. Enjoyed the free Wi-Fi in our room and our King Bed, although it was a little hard for our liking. Breakfast was the highlight, although busy at times. Nice location with lots of great eateries in the area. We particularly enjoyed Tir Na Nog. Great place to stay if your attending a MSG event or like us, walking to Times Square, Shopping at Macy's or the Manhattan Mall. Best of all was the price. Very reasonable for NYC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Located on 8th Ave., across from MSG is Tir Na Nog. Food and imported beer was 'excellent'. Supreme Pizza just around the corner was also good but service is poor.

Back to menu Return to top