$143 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

3 stars
View map of 343 West 39th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
140 reviews
best experience

i would come back to this hotel and this hotel only in times square. very affordable for what you get! See full review

  • sm
  • Apr 12, 2015
Nice location

Great location to walk to times square. Conveniently located near the subway. See full review

  • Akki
  • Jan 15, 2015

This Midtown hotel in the Fashion District is near Times Square, the Theater District and the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. The high-rise hotel has a comfortable lobby with large seating area. It also provides key amenities such as free breakfast, free Internet and fitness and business centers.

Location

Famous Broadway shows are nearby. Times Square is a few blocks from the hotel. Travelers will find a huge concentration of bars, restaurants and shops, including some unique experiential stores, such as the Toys "R" Us with a Ferris wheel inside. The hotel is in the Garment District, the center of the fashion industry in New York. Find stores with large amounts of fabrics, buttons and other sewing necessities in the surrounding streets. Major designers like Calvin Klein and Vera Wang have offices or showrooms in the neighborhood.

Rooms

The 210 rooms at the Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square have either one king bed or two double beds. The decor is basic. Expect rooms with light-colored walls, white bedding and light-colored wood furniture. Guest rooms have free high-speed Internet access, 32-inch flat-screen TVs, coffee makers and irons and ironing boards.

Property features

The hotel offers concierge services and complimentary continental breakfast. Guests have complimentary access to the hotel fitness center and business center.

Highlights
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Located about three blocks from Times Square and the convention center
Nearby attractions
  • Times Square (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Theater District (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (0.6 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.6 mi/ 0.8 km)
Transportation
  • Penn Station
  • La Guardia Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
  • Newark International Airport
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 42nd Street - Port Authority

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE also booked these hotels.

★★★
$152
4.4 / 5 284 reviews
★★★★
$118
4.3 / 5 218 reviews
★★★
$130
3.7 / 5 186 reviews
★★★★
$134
3.7 / 5 187 reviews
★★★
$139
4.1 / 5 139 reviews
★★★
$114
3.6 / 5 1,363 reviews
★★
$139
3.6 / 5 103 reviews
★★★★
$143
4.2 / 5 390 reviews

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Bryant Park: 0.5 mi

Dining

Tir Na Nog
Tir Na Nog is the closest off site restaurant, just a few doors down from the hotel. Serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, with happy hour and bar specials.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Glimpse
Business
Shenzhen, China
Jun 6, 2012

BAD room cleanliness and BAD service

1) smell in bathroom 2) no bottom cover on the quilt core two days, only the upper cover replaced 3) alarm clock ring in the midnight, someone set it at 3:44am

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Ithaca, NY
Feb 27, 2011

Unprofessional staff, BAD maintenance

Staff was unprofessional. Lady at check-in was chewing gum like a cow. The staff were just joking around with each other and carrying on conversations, unaware that they were at a workplace. The elevator floor had cracks. I asked for complimentary toiletries that I had forgotten, which took 45 minutes to arrive to my room. At night, someone rang our room doorbell (which is obnoxiously loud and gives off bright white flashes in the room), and when I went to check, there was no one there. Good price. Good location. Horrible staff and maintenance of the building. Would not recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Time Square is nearby. Lots of fun things to do.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
unimportant
Friends
Richmond, Va
May 16, 2010

Holiday Inn Express 39th street NYC

This was the worst hotel experience of my life. I have stayed in plenty of different Holiday Inn Express locations, in not-so-nice cities, and have enjoyed great service and accommodations. You would expect nothing less going somewhere as popular as New York City. The staff members were inattentive and rude. Upon arrival, we were told our bags would be "safely" held until check-in. The "safe" place was the middle of the hotel lobby where anyone at any time could have taken our belongings. On check-in, which was supposed to be 3pm, our rooms were not ready. We waited until 4:30pm to receive the key. The following morning, following the way overcrowded breakfast, some family members and friends got on the elevator to return to the room on the 21st floor. The elevator began to act up, proceeding to free fall from the 15th to the 3rd floor. The people on the elevator were then stuck for almost an hour by the time the non-english- speaking maintenance man pried the doors open BETWEEN the 3rd and 4th floors, requiring everyone to JUMP below to safety. Mind you, the only other available elevator was already out of order. SO, WE HAD TO WALK UP 21 FLIGHTS OF STAIRS. The hotel not only was not there to apologize for the incident, we had to seek out management to complain. The hotel manager was NOT working on a weekend, nor did he ever show his face. Thank goodness no one was seriously injured. Upon speaking to the manager, he merely vaguely apologized, promising to take care of the situation, while we never got anything in writing. I can only tell anyone who plans to stay here, it is NOT NEW. It is obviously newly renovated. It is several blocks from Times Square. It is VERY SMALL AND CROWDED. You will be disappointed. And I honestly hope no one has to experience the traumatic elevators, considering the hotel staff was not at all worried about fixing the problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Milwaukee, Wi
Nov 28, 2010

NightMare in NY

Rm was very small and not the cleanest. Location was great, near times square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travelers x 3
Business
Oregon
Nov 6, 2009

Business Trip

Location close to Times Square. Rooms very small and noisy heating system. Free breakfast was nice, but not much selection and way to small of an area. Pretty typical of a lot of NYC hotels. Staff was friendly though. Close enough to walk to the Javits Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Kolkata, India
Oct 26, 2009

The Price for the room is excessive

The experience was not bad except the room had to be changed because of the noise created by the Air-Conditioner and they could provide a double bedded room. The location of the hotel is good and convenientand overall it was an enjoyable trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
canada
Jun 2, 2010

holiday inn express

the location was not good at all the staff were nice and its dangerous after dark

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
philadelphia
Mar 22, 2011

Not so OK Stay

Greeted by cardboard floors and caution tape blocking access to the front desk. They were laying tile. I was able to check in right away, and the staff was nice. One elevator was out of order, and the other took a VERY long time. Rooms were clean. We were woken up at 8:20 am by house keeping. They announced themselves and I said no, but they still tried to come in. I went to the door and said no. Another person came to the door at 10am and asked when house keeping could come. I asked,"When is check out?" He said 11. I said that's is when they can come back. My friends in the next room didn't get to say no to house keeping. House keeping walked in on them. I told this to the desk at checkout. They said they would follow up with house keeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Imanek
Family
New York
Feb 25, 2014

Good getaway

If you need a place to stay for a couple of nights or so, this is worth your investment. Walking distance from times square and 42st street subway stop, without the noise level of the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hairgurl123
Friends
Detroit, MI, USA
Nov 4, 2011

Girls vacation

We booked this hotel because it seemed to be a good value for the location. It was a quick walk to Time Square which was convienient. However we were out past dark one of the nights and the neighborhood was a little bit shady on our walk back. The breakfast was a very nice perk saved us time and money which is a good thing. The room was small which was to be expected but it smelled like mildew or something. The staff was ok as well they weren't overly warm and welcoming or helpful but if you asked for something they would help out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a brewery off of 8th avenue by the bus station which was a quick walk and had good food and drinks for a good price!! I believe it was called Heartland Brewery. I also would recommend doing the city link bus tour of the city if you're wanting to do some sightseeing it's worth the $$.

Back to menu Return to top