$126 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

3 stars
343 West 39th Street, New York, NY 10018
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
152 reviews
Great hotel

Great location . Close to Times Square . Awesome breakfast as well See full review

  • Slim goodie
  • Jun 4, 2014
Great time

Friendly and professional staff, hotel rooms are very clean. See full review

  • AskYvonneC
  • Mar 27, 2014
Free breakfast, Internet near Times Square and convention center

This Midtown hotel in the Fashion District is near Times Square, the Theater District and the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center. The high-rise hotel has a comfortable lobby with large seating area. It also provides key amenities such as free breakfast, free Internet and fitness and business centers.

Highlights
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Located about three blocks from Times Square and the convention center
Location

Famous Broadway shows are nearby. Times Square is a few blocks from the hotel. Travelers will find a huge concentration of bars, restaurants and shops, including some unique experiential stores, such as the Toys "R" Us with a Ferris wheel inside. The hotel is in the Garment District, the center of the fashion industry in New York. Find stores with large amounts of fabrics, buttons and other sewing necessities in the surrounding streets. Major designers like Calvin Klein and Vera Wang have offices or showrooms in the neighborhood.

Rooms

The 210 rooms at the Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square have either one king bed or two double beds. The decor is basic. Expect rooms with light-colored walls, white bedding and light-colored wood furniture. Guest rooms have free high-speed Internet access, 32-inch flat-screen TVs, coffee makers and irons and ironing boards.

Features

The hotel offers concierge services and complimentary continental breakfast. Guests have complimentary access to the hotel fitness center and business center.

Transportation
  • Penn Station
  • La Guardia Airport
  • John F. Kennedy International Airport
  • Newark International Airport
  • MTA Subway A, C, E lines at 42nd Street - Port Authority
Attractions
  • Times Square (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Theater District (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Madame Tussauds Wax Museum (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Ripley's Believe It Or Not (0.3 mi/ 0.5 km)
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center (0.6 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Macy's Herald Square (0.6 mi/ 0.8 km)

Hotel Map

40.7563 -73.9931
Nearby airports
John F Kennedy International Airport, (JFK), 15.00, MI; Newark Liberty International Airport, (EWR), 17.00, MI; LaGuardia Airport, (LGA), 8.65, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Port Authority Bus Terminal: 0.1 mi
  • New York Times Building: 0.2 mi
  • Garment District: 0.2 mi
  • Lion Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Nederlander Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Ford Center For The Performing Arts: 0.3 mi
  • Foxwoods Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • American Airlines Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • New Victory Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Ripley’s Believe It or Not! Times Square: 0.3 mi
  • Helen Hayes Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • St. James Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Broadhurst Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Madame Tussauds: 0.3 mi
  • John Golden Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Majestic Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Imperial Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Al Hirschfeld Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Booth Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Music Box Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Theater District: 0.4 mi
  • Minskoff Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Richard Rodgers Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Condé Nast Building: 0.4 mi
  • Madison Square Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Lower Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • Lunt-Fontanne Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Stephen Sondheim Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Brooks Atkinson Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Penn Station: 0.4 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Samuel J. Friedman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Lyceum Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Ethel Barrymore Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Palace Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Duffy Square: 0.5 mi
  • Bank of America Tower: 0.5 mi
  • Longacre Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Marquis Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Walter Kerr Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Jacob K. Javits Convention Center: 0.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (152)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 152
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Celebrating one year
Raleigh, North Carolina
Jun 24, 2013

Thanks for a wonderful 1 year anniversary stay

The room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very pleasant. Breakfast very tasty. The location was very convenient to all activities. This hotel is an excellent value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joey Dixon
Columbus, Ohio
May 1, 2013

Best hotel in NYC!

We have been to NYC a couple times and stayed in 3 different hotels. We loved this hotel! The free breakfast, the staff, the rooms, and the location! We loved it. The only complaint we have is the elevators. 6 rooms on a floor, 30 some floors. It's a little wait to get the elevator but that is no big deal. Jaime was excellent. He even remember our names the next day, just from our 2 minute check in the day before! He helped us find the nearest Dunkin Donuts, we loved the staff! The location is a little walk from Times Square but nothing bad! For the price walking a few blocks to get there is nothing. I will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This is a great hotel for the price. We try to save money where we can and this was the best deal we found! And the nicest hotel. We have tried other hotels around this price and REGRET staying there. Holiday Inn is the best hotel for your money.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EELIE
Pittsfield
Jan 20, 2014

Good Value

Good Value & Customer service. Convenient location and friendly staff clean room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Two Seniors
Texas and Maine
Dec 26, 2010

Great Price, Great Location, Very Clean!

A very friendly place! The location was great and within walking distance of many, many attractions, shops, and eateries! Rooms are smallish but very clean, comfortable and very affordable! Breakfast was a real PLUS! A very nice variety of hot & cold cereals, healthy fresh fruit, protein (boiled eggs, omelets, sausage) and sweet treats (muffins, sweet rolls, breads)!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

A great convenient breakfast to start the day!!

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jake soda
VA
Jan 7, 2010

NYC

Great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami,Florida.
Jan 18, 2010

EXCELLENT

I'm planning another stay in a few months.We were very happy for the choice that we did.The people at the hotel are very friendly and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mommy of Five
Leander, Texas
Dec 5, 2012

GREAT Hotel Experience!

Our vacation in NY was for a 4 day stay and we could not have picked a better location than Holiday Inn Express! Extremely clean room/lobby, Outstanding Customer Service, Very attentive service by all staff, Prompt Check-In/Check-Out, and last but definitely not least....Great Breakfast! We enjoyed our stay at Holiday Inn Times Square and would recommend it and also stay again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paul N
Frederick, MD, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Excellent Couples Weekend

Wonderful hotel! My wife and I are both flight crews, so we stay in hotels 2 to 3 nights a week. This was the cleanest hotel we have stayed in! (And yes, we stay in the more upscale hotels as well as the lower end chains.) The room was small, but perfect for a couple, and not any smaller than most other NYC hotel rooms. The staff was wonderful. Free hot breakfast, free internet. Convenient to Penn Station and Times Square. Would highly recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Low Rider 63
Worcester, MA
Aug 7, 2014

Holiday Inn Times Square

The hotel was located two blocks from Times Square, and the area was fairly quiet by comparison. The rooms were immaculate, the food served for breakfast in the morning was hot and delicious, and the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The only downside was the elevator availability. It seems there are only two elevators to accommodate 35+ floors of hotel rooms, which created a bottleneck problem every morning and long waits to get an elevator. Other than that, everything was wonderful, and we would definitely stay at this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jan 31, 2010

good stay

The hotel was in a great location being right off of times square so getting around was great. The actual room itself was a lot smaller than i thought it would be but nonetheless it was a fairly clean room with mostly everything we needed. It would have been nice to get a refrigerator in the room and i was not happy that to get the front desk to call a cab to get to the airport they charge an outrageous fee and that would probably be the bad part of my stay. Also the elevator situation was frustrating because there are only 2 small elevators that take forever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

walking over to the main street is a very short distance and you can find everything right there!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search