$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

3 stars
View map of 343 West 39th Street, New York, NY 10018

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
140 out of 140
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raquel S
Friends
Toronto
Dec 1, 2013

Nice Place to stay

If it weren't for only having two elevators i would rates this place higher. For 36 floors the wait was very long had to plan for that delay, even missed elevators as they were too full. Location was easy for downtown, any taxi knew where it was, room was clean and efficient and very quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Kutshers Tribeca, delicious food and nice ambiance. Jewish american comfort food.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KY Gurls
Family
Somerset, KY
Dec 9, 2013

No Complaints

After the trip we had into the city, anything would have been welcomed...but this hotel was right off the heart of all that was happening and inviting. Twenty-seven floors up gave us a respite from the noise. The room was clean with no funky stains or smells. The air/heat really worked. Good water pressure in the shower. The room was small, but really serviceable for three women. The view was non-descript. Breakfast was bustling and food was good. We had never been to a hotel that gave you little recyclable food trays so the food could be brought to your room!!! Good move Holiday Inn!! The hotel was tall and narrow but all the space was efficiently used. The in-room safe was handy. If I could express one less than fantastic aspect...the free WiFi was spotty at best - but there are two computers in the lobby if necessary. A plus is that they checked our bags when we checked out and kept them free of charge the whole day!!! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will stay there again if I have the chance. It is too close to everything to pass up!! If I may offer a suggestion....the garbage carts out front are really ugly and detract from the loveliness of the facility. I understand that space is limited...but right outside the front door??? Holiday Inn Express Times Square is a really good hotel. It isn't the Ritz or the Waldorf Astoria and there are no mints on your pillows or golden elevators - but for three traveling girls from KY - you couldn't ask for much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use public transit and learn how to hail a cab. Bring extra money for transportation and DO NOT dine at The American Museum of Natural History....Unless you don't mind spending $25+ per person. Don't set rigid plans because you cannot control traffic or the weather....be flexible.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Cleveland, OH
Mar 27, 2010

Great Hotel

The Hotel was in a great spot, right in the city close to Time Square, the staff was very nice and the Hotel was clean. It was my first time visiting NYC and it was a great expirience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tatar Fam
Family
Indiana
Dec 22, 2010

Good Location, Good Staffs

Walkable distance to pretty much anywhere in Manhattan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miss Kitten
Couples
Malden, Ma
Dec 24, 2010

What a pleasant surprise!

I really enjoyed this hotel. The front desk staff were polite and helpful. The hotel was clean and orderly. This is in Manhattan, so everything is tiny, the halls, the floors, the rooms. The bed took up the whole room, and the bathroom was really small (the bed is right next to the bathroom door)Still, I have stayed in many NYC hotels and this one is my favorite!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Heartland Brewery is an amazing place for a few beverages and some great eats!

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Holiday Fun!
Family
Indianapolis, In
Dec 15, 2009

Great Time for very little!

The hotel was in a great location and in walking distance of everything. Very clean rooms and comfortable sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel was located on 39th and 9th. Great location because it was in the center of going either to Times square/Rockfellar Center or in the opposite direction which is where Lord Taylors or Macys(shopping is.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Melbourne, Australia
Aug 16, 2011

Free breakfast and free laundry!!!!

I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel. The free breakfast was a real bonus and to have water, tea, coffee and juice available 24/7 was fantastic especially given that we were there during a heat wave! The rooms are compact but who spends time in their room when there's all of NY to see! Despite being so central to Manhatten, there's hardly any street traffic or noise and the free laundry facilities at their sister hotel next door was a suprise plus that we didn't know about! When I'm back in NY I would stay again! Our only low point was the school group also staying at the hotel which made getting a table at breakfast and accessing the internet extremely difficult...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LPH in NC
Friends
NC
Nov 11, 2009

Mom and daughter trip

my daughter and I were there to celebrate her 21st b/day. Close to things but still quiet enough to rest. Concierge service was a surprise and very helpful. Were able to check bags early since checkin is at 3pm. Went to b'way show at 2pm and then came back and checked in. Nice room, very comfy beds, will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jumior,s bakery has great cheesecake, magnolia's bakery has great cupcakes and banana pudding woth waiting for.

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GaleMarie
Couples
Richmond, VA
Dec 9, 2009

Nice place

This was a nice enough hotel. The staff was super nice and very helpful whenever we needed anything. The heater in the room though never cut off and the fan was very loud. The room was very small and the noise did get annoying after a while. But, overall I would give this hotel a 4 because of the helpfulness and kindness of the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Holiday Inn Express NEW YORK CITY TIMES SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Arkansas
Jul 10, 2011

An Excellent Place to Stay

This hotel was excellent. The breakfast was great. The rooms though small were more than adequate. The concierge was very helpful with information and even booked a shuttle to the airport for us. The location was within walking distance of Times Square, the Pier, and best of all Macy's. I would stay there again and again. We took a cruise on the Circle Line and took the Gray Line tour uptown and downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Study the hotel's map carefully and plan your activities so that you don't waste time.

Back to menu Return to top